Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
25
5 star
88%
4 star
12%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$19.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon September 14, 2009
First section covers materials and equipment. Techniques and tips and a stitch glossary. This is well illustrated and especially good on long and short stitch. The next section explains how to embroider some of the background motifs. Then come a few pages explaining how to work some motifs step by step before getting into the patterns. The largest part of the book is on the 17 projects which are grouped into level of difficulty. There are 7 beginner level, 5 intermediate and 5 advanced level. Each project has a color picture in the full size, followed by the design which can be traced, list of threads, another diagram with stitch directions, another color illustraion with numbers which lead to the colors and stitches and finally a long section called method with very detailed working instructions. That is really more than enough to succeed. My only problem is that I need to enlarge each project but again, she also explains that too. So t his is a very complete thorough guide to crewel flower embroidery and I have never seen such completeness in a crewel book before. If you do flower embroidery and/or crewel embroidery, don't miss this book.
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2009
This is the best book so far by Trish Burr. It is all there except the fabric and threads. Really good illustrations and directions. Felt like I was in a workshop with her.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2009
Great book love the work Trish Burr does and so glad I got it. the only trouble I have is to follow the project you need some threads that are very hard to get hold of. but thats not her doing it's the supplies in the US.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2009
The book presents clear and detail embroidery guideline - step by step. The illustration makes it easier for beginner. The designs are beautiful. Some of the designes are similar to each other though. Overall, it is the best book about teaching crewel embroidery that I have ever seen.
Pattarawadee
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2012
Trish Burr does a beautiful job on all her books. You can not go wrong having them for inspiration. I teach needle painting and always looking for her books. This one is on Crewel but you can use the same needle work with 1 thread for needle painting. Each student buys her book and love them.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2013
Lovely close up pictures, explicit directions, extensive materials lists AND it's Trisha Burr! What more could a stitcher want? One of my favorite books in my embroidery library.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2013
this is a must have for every embroidery library,she gives you step by step directions,wih brand names and color numbers given,
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2013
Although I have yet to use this book, and have not really spent much time with it yet, at a quick glance, I can see that Trish Burr has produced a book with quality standards
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2012
This is a great book. It is easy to read and easy to understand. It has lots of ideas. Great for beginners as well as very experienced embroiders
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
Very good book with lots of information on thread painting. I am incorporating this in my Brazilian Dimensional Embroidery. Trish Burr is an excellent artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse