Professional restaurant supplies BDD_MSW16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Blue October Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars24
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 20, 2014
I first saw this around 1981 on The Movie Channel, then gradually sought out the rest of their movies over the next 20+ years. I'm not sure how well this holds up for those who didn't first discover this Italian comedy duo during childhood, but...

Highlights include:
Addictive musical themes! (0:00)
New cars smashed to bits with sledgehammers! (5:00)
How (not) to attempt a hold-up using only pointed fingers! (27:45)
Zany police training sequences! (34:35)
Formaldehyde-flavored chewing gum! (40:00)
Sign language not learned anywhere else! (45:45)
A step by step demonstration of how to treat V.I.P.s! (1:06:40)
A full football team versus two men (or is it just one?)!! (1:13:37)
"High class" dinner with a Russian countess and her friend (and a "penguin")! (1:25:15)
Multiple fight scenes with inimitable hand-to-hand combat techniques! (1:39:00)

Check it out! :-)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2007
Somerville House has aquired a near perfect print of Crime Busters. Lets hope Somerville House will follow this with more quality Hill/Spencer films. For those of you who dont know Hill and Spencer - Crime Busters is typical - A modest budget, with the general mood of a Tom amd Jerry cartoon, (Hill = Jerry, Spencer = Tom, the bad guys = a multitude of Elmer Fudds). Lots of funny gags, "good natured" fist fights, bean eating, property destruction, and automobile damage. Grunts, glares and hammer fist hits (by Bud), goofy acrobats (by Hill) - and no sex or bad language. Great for kids,fun for adults.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2014
"Grew" up with these two guys --- loved this movie --- the first show i saw with these 2 guys was Watch out! we're Mad" --- excellent show to watch --- Crime Busters did not disappoint me at all --- grab some popcorn and settle in for a pure entertaining show :) --- good for the older children as well ................... Ann
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2007
This Bud Spencer/Terrence Hill movie is another classic spaghetti movie. The quality could be better but it is entertaining in that slapstick kind of way. It actually has a story and plot which makes it easier to follow than some of their other movies. Bottom line - you will like it if you like these two humorous cowboys in action.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2007
I saw this movie years ago. I laughed then and I laughed now. I thought the experience of shopping online with amazon was great. Pricing was good and they got it to me when the said they would. I was very satisfied.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2010
From the moment you realize the flickering during the opening sequence is actually the shadow of the helicopter blades they filmed the shot from...to the end when you realize the soundtrack contains exactly ONE SONG played over and over again, you know very little money went into this. Doesn't matter...it's a hysterical cult classic made known to most by extensive runs on HBO in their early days.

I kind of worried when ordering the DVD that watching the movie today wouldn't be as positive an experience as it was back then, having not seen it in about 20 years. But it is. You'll laugh so hard, you'll get kicked out of Canada.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2008
This is a classic Hill/Spencer film, featuring the great chemistry that the pair had in all of their films. Very rarely will you find a combination of actors with such chemistry...
If you like the classic action/comedy films of yesteryear (yes, it's a 70's film), then you'll really enjoy this one. I recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon February 12, 2009
- Police Captain, gazing at Hill's messed-up police car: "Isn't there, ah, supposed to be a door on both sides?"
- Terence Hill: "You don't miss a trick, eh, Chief?"

Before MIAMI VICE came along, Terence Hill and Bud Spencer patrolled the streets of Miami, which probably sucked for the good citizens of Miami. CRIME BUSTERS, a.k.a. I DUE SUPERPIEDI QUASI PIATTI (its Italian title), is the first Terence Hill/Bud Spencer movie for me, and from what I hear, this is one of their very best pairings. It's certainly good enough that I now plan to check out other pictures teaming up these two.

CRIME BUSTERS came out in 1977, so there's a dated look and feel to it, as well as a whole bunch of dubbing going on. Doesn't stop it, though, from being dang entertaining and a very funny odd couple film. Two strangers, Matt Kirby (Terence Hill) and Wilbur Walsh (bearish Bud Spencer), cross paths and, both fed up with not getting work, plot to rob a supermarket. Deciding to break in thru the supermarket's service door, they instead land in a police recruiting office - and end up signing on reluctantly. Unwilling recruits that they are, they don't go out of their way to conform, hoping to get bounced off the force. Except that every bumble seems to result in a crook being nabbed and the police captain heaping praises on Kirby (as for Walsh, the captain just keeps ordering dude to shave).

I got a good vibe from the very start. The opening sequence features thugs in suits at the dock getting beat down silly and their auto demolished by Bud Spencer. A bit later, Terence Hill comes around and administers the same treatment. Having seen Terence Hill before in the classic western My Name Is Nobody and now here, I'm betting that this is his patented film persona - innocent, piercing blue eyes masking a quick-thinking, playful demeanor, until the boyish grin gives it away. My guess is that gruff, surly and laconic is how the bearish Bud Spencer usually plays his roles. These cats remind me in some ways of Bob Hope and Bing Crosby in their Road pictures. There's that goofy synergy between Hill and Spencer, the crackpot premise and the wacky tone of the flick, not to mention the cheerful incidental backstabbings they inflict on each other. Even closer to home, I wouldn't be at all surprised to learn that CRIME BUSTERS partly inspired the zany POLICE ACADEMY series.

It's a rugged brand of slapstick, as our likeable rogues often get themselves in fighty fight situations. Thankfully, the brawls are staged interestingly and rife with amusing touches. Case in point, the diner skirmish in which Hill pretends to be a cripple and Spencer, a deaf-mute, or the rumbles at the football stadium and at the bowling alley. There's a hint of Jackie Chan in these fights, not so much in the way of wushu or nimble gymnastics, but more in that there's kind of a Three Stooges flavor in the way that Hill and Spencer (and Jackie Chan) conduct themselves. And, like Jackie, the guys make use of whatever props are handy to deliver their smackdowns. And, as a wink at Terence Hill's spaghetti westerns, included in the training segment is a scene at the police firing range, in which Hill fires off his weapon in the Old West's quick draw fashion and then states: "I've got bullets in my blood."

This DVD does offer up some bonus stuff: text biographies on Terence Hill (who was christened Mario Girotti), Bud Spencer (christened Carlo Pedersoli), and Director Enzo Barboni; an interview with Bud Spencer (almost six minutes long and kinda dribbles out); "Funny In Any Language" offers up four brief clips from various Hill/Spencer flicks; and trailers for CRIME BUSTERS, ODDS & EVENS, KEEP YOUR HANDS OFF THE ISLAND, and DOUBLE TROUBLE.

CRIME BUSTERS isn't as strong a film as MY NAME IS NOBODY, but it's no weak sissy, either. CRIME BUSTERS pretty much dispenses with believability and leans on Hill and Spencer's brawny schticks as its primary storytelling vehicle. And you may just find yourself whistling along with that distinct easy-breezy score. If I got it right, Terence Hill and Bud Spencer co-starred in 19 films. So, for me, CRIME BUSTERS is one down, eighteen more to go.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2013
Movie is enjoyable with a lot of humor in it. I found it hard to find at one time but easy to find on Amazon at a low price :). Terence Hill and Bud Spenser offer a lot of humor in an action format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2015
Bought these as a gift. The reciepent used to watch Crime Busters a long time ago. Don't think this is the same one but think he will like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.