Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone interested in crime and justice should have this book!
This is an amazing book and I highly recommend it--particularly for criminology and crime policy courses. There is no book out there that contains a more balanced, comprehensive summary of what we know about crime and justice, and what we should do about it. The price is reasonable too--you would have to buy many books to cover the range of topics covered here. Chapters...
Published on March 27, 2011 by Crystal Garcia

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Disappointing, none of the 20 essays are particularly good, the conclusions are not very interesting or surprising. Joan Petersilia has another book, When Prisoners Come Home: Parole and Prisoner Reentry, which has been well reviewed and James Q. Wilson is, of course, well known in the field. Collections of essays like this are often underwhelming and this is no...
Published 4 months ago by doug k


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone interested in crime and justice should have this book!, March 27, 2011
This review is from: Crime and Public Policy (Paperback)
This is an amazing book and I highly recommend it--particularly for criminology and crime policy courses. There is no book out there that contains a more balanced, comprehensive summary of what we know about crime and justice, and what we should do about it. The price is reasonable too--you would have to buy many books to cover the range of topics covered here. Chapters review all of the principle institutions of the justice system (juvenile justice, police, prisons, prosecution, probation and parole, sentencing), as well as many topics generating a lot of current debate (gangs, race, sex offenders, prisoner reentry). There is simply nothing like it on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource!, March 25, 2011
This review is from: Crime and Public Policy (Paperback)
"I love this book. As someone not well steeped in the science of criminology or academia, I found the chapters--written by a Who's Who of crime policy--easy to read. More importantly, as a community activist and wife of a long-term prisoner, I now feel armed with evidence I can use to fight for evidence-based programs, reentry services, and better strategies of crime control and prisoner reintegration. A great resource for us all."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, informative volume, March 25, 2011
This review is from: Crime and Public Policy (Paperback)
This one volume constitutes a comprehensive review of what we know about crime, criminal justice, and public policy efforts to control it. Wilson and Petersilia have enlisted the major scholars in this field--Sampson, Cullen, Sherman, Moffitt, Greenwood, Maxson, Turner, Rosenfeld, Reitz, Farrington, Kleiman, Bushway, Nagin, and others--and each author has written an original essay summarizing the evidence on their topic of expertise. Nearly all major topics are covered (e.g., gangs, families, sex offenders, crime rates, communities, prisons). Any student or policymaker who wants to better understand this complex social policy area is well-advised to read this book and have it as a resource book on their shelves. I cannot recommend this book more highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding source for the latest in criminal justice policy, April 4, 2011
This review is from: Crime and Public Policy (Paperback)
This 650-page volume is, by far, the best book of its type on the market. For those who know the previous volumes in the series, they will find that Wilson and Petersilia (full disclosure: a collaborator of mine) have improved a previously-excellent book. New chapters have been added (on race and crime, gangs, sex offenders, crime trends, sentencing), and all other chapters have been significantly updated with the latest evidence and data. I highly recommend this book as an addition to any policymakers or student's library. The book is also ideally suited for criminology and public policy courses at the graduate or undergraduate level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Ever, March 24, 2011
This review is from: Crime and Public Policy (Paperback)
Thoroughly revised and updated, this new edition of Crime and Public Policy is the best ever. Wilson and Petersilia have engaged the most trusted scholars and asked them to summarize what they know about the most important crime topics of the day: prisons, sex offenders, gangs, sentencing, prosecution, juvenile justice, biology, and so forth. Each chapter is comprehensive and balanced--often sorely missing in academic criminology. I highly recommend this book for courses in criminology, public policy, and criminal law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific book!, March 24, 2011
By 
Jodi Lane (Gainesville, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crime and Public Policy (Paperback)
Community leaders, students, and politicians would be well advised to pay attention to this book. There are chapters on the criminal justice system, but also chapters on how broader aspects of social life inhibit or encourage crime. I particularly liked the Terrie Moffitt et al. chapter on crime an biology, Robert Sampson's on the role of the community, David Farrington's on families, and Shawn Bushway's on labor markets and crime. As our nation seeks to reduce justice system costs, paying attention to these chapters may well help states reduce expenses while keeping crime rates down. A must read volume for anyone seeking more effective crime strategies. Jodi Lane, University of Florida
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another home run..., March 24, 2011
This review is from: Crime and Public Policy (Paperback)
Wilson and Petersilia have hit a home run again. The updated book includes new chapters on sentencing, gangs, prisons, and sex offenders--all topics of high importance in the nation's quest to keep crime rates now. Other chapters review what we know on sentencing, labor markets, biology and crime, gun control, drugs, deterrence, parole, prosecution, among others. There is something worth reading in every chapter. Highly recommended for policymakers and students."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT timing and a sure winner, March 24, 2011
This review is from: Crime and Public Policy (Paperback)
This book couldn't have come at a better time: budget problems forcing policymakers to look for areas to cut. This book, containing 20 original essays by the nation's leading criminologists, shows us what areas are ripe for reductions and which are not. As with previous editions, each author reviews the existing literature, discusses the methodological rigor of the studies, and then identifies policies that should (and should not) be implemented. Anyone who cares about public safety would be well advised to read and pay attention to these scholars and their recommendations. Clear writing and sound policy recommendations. A sure winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Crime and Public Policy, March 24, 2011
By 
Valerie Jenness (Irvine, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crime and Public Policy (Paperback)
This is an impressive collection of original essays written by the leading criminological scholars. The volume includes chapters crime and criminal offending (changing crime rates in international and historical perspectives), the causes of crime (families, labor markets, communities, biology), and crime control strategies (rehabilitation policing, prosecution, sentencing, prisons and community corrections). The 33 authors constitute a "Who's Who" in the field of public policy. I particularly like the comprehensive review by Francis Cullen and Cheryl Jonson on Rehabilitation and Treatment Programs. Anyone who wants a straightforward answer to the critical question, "Does Treatment Work?" will find their answer here (and the answer is "yes," but requires adherence to specific principles). This book is an excellent resource book for citizens, policymakers and students interested in crime policy. I also highly recommend it as a textbook for courses in sociology, deviance, criminology, and public policy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important new contribution to our understanding of crime, March 24, 2011
This review is from: Crime and Public Policy (Paperback)
An amazing collection of balanced and comprehensive reviews of every major topic in crime and public policy. Not only do the authors review the scientific evidence on an impressive range of topics (including prisons, gangs, sex offenders, prisoner reentry), but each author includes a nice summary of findings and policy recommendations. I couldn't recommend this book more highly for community leaders, politicians, and students of crime and justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crime and Public Policy
Crime and Public Policy by James Q. Wilson (Paperback - January 25, 2011)
$41.95 $32.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.