Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute Movie for Fashion lovers
Cute blonde fashion major discovers she inherits a position as a mob boss when a relative "dies". This is a movie for those who love a fashion comedy. The real comedy happens when the two worlds of fashion and crime collide. I love the mob-inspired fashion line on the runway. And of course, everything works out in the end for a sweet surprise ending.
Published on May 15, 2012 by Cahdne

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Family Fare
Although this movie was copyrighted 2004 it was just released on DVD this year. It apparently started out as a made-for-TV movie. Kaley Cuoco has the lead role as a studious but unglamorous student at "Fashion University", Brooke Taylor (how good is that for a name in clothing fashion?) who soon learns that her grandfather, recently deceased, was a mob boss who left the...
Published on May 5, 2010 by Karl E. Weaver


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Family Fare, May 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Fashion (DVD)
Although this movie was copyrighted 2004 it was just released on DVD this year. It apparently started out as a made-for-TV movie. Kaley Cuoco has the lead role as a studious but unglamorous student at "Fashion University", Brooke Taylor (how good is that for a name in clothing fashion?) who soon learns that her grandfather, recently deceased, was a mob boss who left the family business to her. A variety of plots ensue and intersect: whether or not her two closest friends at school (like her, they are not in the in-crowd) will still accept her once they learn the truth; what happens to the super-bitchy and glamorous Candace (Megan Fox) who wants to expose Brooke's secret mob-connected identity and get her expelled; the FBI agent assigned to take down the new, female mob boss and all her family who falls for her; the rival mob boss who wants to take over her turf; and what really happened to her grandfather. The acting is frequently a bit over-the-top. The "mob" is totally sanitized and seems pretty harmless. There is no swearing, no sex scenes, no violence--this is really family fare, and if it were rated, could probably get a "G". It's a comedy with a bit of love story thrown in. The overall quality is compatible with a made-for-TV movie. My wife & I both gave it a "C". However it's harmless entertainment and there are some laughs here and there. If you didn't see this on TV and you enjoy this sort of thing, then you may enjoy this on DVD. There are subtitles; however there are no special features except one trailer on the DVD version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Silly. ABC television movie for teenage girls. However, there is some fun in it., January 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Fashion (DVD)
Blonde orphan (Kaley) goes to fashion school hoping to become a famous designer. She hangs with her two roomates and good buddies.

Megan Fox seems to have a fashion future guaranteed, wearing a pretty outfit that she designed everyday, and letting Kaley and her roomates know that they won't succeed beyond designing boys underwear for a catalog. Is her fashion future certain, and how far would she scheme to succeed?

Kaley discovers that she had a grandfather who headed a mob family and has left the business to her. His second in command guides Kaley into her responsibilities as a mafia boss, which include several businesses, one a clothing factory with a very talented designer as an employee. Now Kaley has to face off with another mob boss while Megan tries to get her thrown out of school for being mafia and finds ways to interfere with Kaley's success.

What Kaley doesn't know is that the FBI is watching her very closely, and a young, goofy agent enrolls in the fashion school to get close to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute Movie for Fashion lovers, May 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Fashion (DVD)
Cute blonde fashion major discovers she inherits a position as a mob boss when a relative "dies". This is a movie for those who love a fashion comedy. The real comedy happens when the two worlds of fashion and crime collide. I love the mob-inspired fashion line on the runway. And of course, everything works out in the end for a sweet surprise ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not actually that bad, March 17, 2011
This review is from: Crimes of Fashion (DVD)
I'll be honest, I did not want to see this film, but due to the two on the cover I watched it against my own will and right off the bat it grabbed my attention. The film was aired on ABC Family so you wont see any sex, nudity, foul language etc. Nice little film, not many "lol" moments but several "laugh on inside" moments. Id give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feel good family fun, July 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Fashion (DVD)
If you are a fan of Kaley Cuoco and wholesome goodness then this is for you! No sex scenes, swearing or violence ( which is saying something considering it is a film supposedly about the mob!) It is well acted and cheesy but pretty harmless. No thinking required!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Be Warned: Good Movie for a Narrow Target Audience..., January 11, 2011
By 
Eric Hutchins (Bakersfield, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Fashion (DVD)
I bought this movie because I was impressed with Megan Fox's acting and good looks in Transformers 2 (a surprisingly engaging and amusing SciFi). This movie had the best rating of any of her other movies, so I decided to buy it.

I give "Crimes of Fashion" three stars as a good (meaning wholesome,entertaining) movie for its intended audience. In my opinion, that audience is the Hanna Montana set (young girls, 12 - 15 year of age). I believe all others will regret paying the money.

That said, I was impressed with Kaley Cuoco's stage presence, fitality, and acting ability. She reminds me of the young actresses in "Chasing Liberty" and "What a Girl Wants" (both of which appeal to braoder, and older, audiences).

Luckily, I have someone who will appreciate receiving it as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best family movie you never knew existed !, December 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Fashion (DVD)
I really liked this movie. It's funny and smart. It does not have any bad language or sex scenes, just a good old fashioned story.
I can't really add to the other posts. Funny movie great acting, except for the undercover agent storyline, they were so inept as to be caricatures of really stupid agents, Also the "movie" was taken from a T.V. movie and has cuts for commercials that are obvious and the end has no credits like a normal movie. Not so much Megan Fox in the movie as Kaley Couco. Bottom line is my wife and I loved this movie. Funnier than I thought it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars girlie movie, April 10, 2014
By 
sexy dancer "mandy" (spring hill, florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Fashion (DVD)
A movie for teens and kids not to be taken seriously as the storyline is unrealistic. Megan Fox has very little role in this I wonder why they put her in the leading stars in their posters and ads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny teen mystery, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Fashion (DVD)
we saw it and loved it. what an idea with lots of silly that is fun. Old as we are, we loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars threat for movie night, January 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Fashion (DVD)
Great gift idea for Christmas. Really good buy during this season. Great for movie night with the family with a bowl of popcorn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crimes of Fashion
Crimes of Fashion by Stuart Gillard (DVD - 2010)
$14.98 $8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.