Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart play written with plenty of drama and black comedy.
Upon first look, this play may seem silly and unreal. But, you can't help becoming absorbed into the life of a seemingly dysfunctional family of 3 sisters, their obnoxious cousin, a young lawyer caught in the middle, and a crippled old boyfriend. The story is wild and entertaining, yet dramatic and relatable. The only thing better than reading this piece is seeing it...
Published on August 10, 1999

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I know it won a Pulitzer Prize, but this play (written, on stage, and as a movie) comes across as shallow in concept and theme. While the characters are interesting, their motives and psychology seem one-dimensional.
Published 9 months ago by Bonnie Armstrong


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I am one of three sisters, so this really grabs me., July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of the Heart. (Paperback)
Loved the movie and my book club is talking about reading aloud a play so I got this in case we decide to follow through on this idea. It's a great movie for women in general and sisters in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, April 5, 2014
By 
Bonnie Armstrong (Tallahassee, FL, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of the Heart. (Paperback)
I know it won a Pulitzer Prize, but this play (written, on stage, and as a movie) comes across as shallow in concept and theme. While the characters are interesting, their motives and psychology seem one-dimensional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Southern charm, October 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of the Heart. (Paperback)
I loved the characters in the play and the dark comedy is what I expect from Beth Henley. She captures the dynamics of the dysfunctional family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this story, September 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of the Heart. (Paperback)
The quirky characters are so loveable. The southern flare is so authentic and the relationship between these sisters is so sweet and real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Play!, January 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of the Heart. (Paperback)
One of the best plays I have ever read. A good comedy and the characters are very easy to relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Women., November 2, 2002
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (St. Louis Metro East Area) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
CRIMES OF THE HEART tells the story of three sisters reuniting together after the youngest of the trio (Babe) shoots her husband and is on the verge of being sent to prison. The story takes place deep in the south in Hazlehurst, Mississippi.

The writing in this play is superb. It captures the spirit of each of the young women splendidly. However, moving as the story is, it isn't quite poetical and thereby misses perfection.

Nevertheless, CRIMES OF THE HEART is an enjoyable piece of theatre displaying the daffy complexity of women seen through the lives of three sisters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, November 10, 2010
By 
This review is from: Crimes of the Heart. (Paperback)
This is a wonderful play... funny, witty, engaging, provocative....it reads well. It is even good the second and third time through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crimes of the Heart, September 13, 2009
This review is from: Crimes of the Heart. (Paperback)
I was thoroughly pleased. The product was in very good condition and I received it immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of the Heart. (Paperback)
I got a B minus on a test for this book. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of the Heart. (Paperback)
I bought this for my English class last minute it came within two days
Great book no damages or tares
Good price
I recommend to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crimes of the Heart.
Crimes of the Heart. by Beth Henley (Paperback - Jan. 1998)
$9.00 $8.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.