Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's About Time! One Of The Best Remastering Jobs I've Heard!
This disc sounds absolutely stunning -- the result of the excellent remastering job by Mark Chalecki @ Capitol Mastering Studios, Hollywood. Nice work!

I was torn on purchasing this release, seeing that Capitol hadn't bothered to upgrade the artwork and package. I figured that the label probably wouldn't bother much with the audio either. I was wrong! We...
Published on June 27, 2006 by Jason W. Bellenger

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MP3 Album Incomplete
The two stars apply to Amazons MP3 album, not Pat Benatar's music. Of the ten tracks, nine were in mp3 format and one in m4a format. That meant I could not consistently tag all the tracks. That means the one track is effectively invisible to some of my players. Amazon, what's up with that?
Published 15 months ago by Andrew Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's About Time! One Of The Best Remastering Jobs I've Heard!, June 27, 2006
By 
Jason W. Bellenger (Byron Center, Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crimes of Passion (Audio CD)
This disc sounds absolutely stunning -- the result of the excellent remastering job by Mark Chalecki @ Capitol Mastering Studios, Hollywood. Nice work!

I was torn on purchasing this release, seeing that Capitol hadn't bothered to upgrade the artwork and package. I figured that the label probably wouldn't bother much with the audio either. I was wrong! We get the same old CD packaging from the original release with one exception -- that is, the brilliant audio upgrade! Considering that the music sources from 1980 it sounds nearly as crisp and clear as any recording today. I didn't think so much depth and range could be tweaked out of a 26 year old recording, but here it is! Pat Benatar finally gets a long overdue remastering of her classic 1980 album.

I wanted to knock this release down a star or two due to the lack of major packaging upgrades or inclusion of bonus tracks. However, after hearing the stunning remastering work done on my favorite track, "Wuthering Heights", I could not rate this release any lower than 5 stars. "Wuthering Heights" originally appeared in a "remastered" form on Pat's 1999 anthology, "Synchronistic Wanderings", but I was disappointed in the sound, thinking more could be tweaked from the recording. That version sounded rather flat and buried in the speakers, but this one is loud and clean with it's soaring, crashing guitars. Album highlights such as "Hell Is For Children" and "Hit Me With Your Best Shot" have never rocked harder!

As much as I was looking forward to Pat Benatar remasters in a possible 5.1 audio release these CDs have never sounded better. Now bring on the remaining catalogue remasters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest rock albums ever., April 13, 2000
This review is from: Crimes of Passion (Audio CD)
For those who write Ms. Benatar off, pick up this classic from 1980 and see what you'll say NOW.
Every song on here is magical.
Treat Me Right kicks off the mood for this album and you know from the first line "You want me to leave, you want me to stay", that you're in for a killer album.
You Better Run remakes an old 60's song and gives it headbanging treatment.
Never Wanna Leave You is more in the vein of her Get Nervous sound, and it's great too. You see a more playful Pat on this track that usually lurks behind on the rest.
Hit Me With Your Best Shot -- who hasn't heard this song? It's 2:51 of pure perfection. The song launched Pat into the superstar stratospeare and has a very nice double entendre.
Hell Is For Children is one of the most haunting songs ever recorded. And it is possibly the greatest record Pat recorded.
Little Paradise is filler, but it's got a very intresting beat.
Prisoner Of Love is one of the most melodic tracks on this album. Try to get this song out of your head.
Wuthering Heights is a remake of a classic Kate Bush record. Pat's lounge roots show through on this, she sings like you've never heard her before.
I'm Gonna Follow You is the most underrated song of her career. She even did a video for this song. Another one of her highlights.
Out-A-Touch ends the album with a bang. She proves she's still a "tough cookie"
DO NOT MISS THIS ALBUM! It's 20 years old and it still rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MELODIC ROCK MASTERPIECE, November 16, 2000
This review is from: Crimes of Passion (Audio CD)
A superb album of tuneful uptempo poprock. My faves include Hit Me ..., the disturbing Hell Is For Children (..."hell is for children/and you should not pay for your love/with your bones and your flesh"...), the vibrant Little Paradise which should have been a huge hit, her version of Wuthering Heights and the rollicking Prisoner Of Love. People who like Blondie, Joan Jett, The Cars, and even Bon Jovi will enjoy "Crimes Of Passion."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can't believe it's 28 years old, May 26, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crimes of Passion (Audio CD)
In recent years, I've been digging deeper into some artists that I enjoyed but never owned any albums from at the time.I was familiar with "Treat Me Right", "Hell Is For Children" and of course "Hit Me With Your Best Shot"--which gets relentless airplay even to this day, that and "Heart Breaker" from her debut.
I decided to get this based on the overall 5-star rating here on Am, and what an amazing album! Every single track is as good as any of the three I knew. I've been playing it over and over again, and the whole thing, every single track, just keeps jumping out with catchy tunes and freshness like it was put together and released yesterday, not in 1980--1980! If you said that's the greatness of classic rock and why they call it that, I'd certainly agree. But this has a really stunning timelessness, and the music is just so good. If you're like me, you may well find a new Patty favorite. I love EVERY track on this wonderful disk, but I find that "Wuthering Heights" really showcases not only the power--which the usual radio-selected tunes do--but also the beauty of Patty's voice. Overall, you will get a real sense of the richness and versatility of Patty's voice from this. And then you will start thinking what next to get out of her catalogue.
It rocks at moderate hard throughout, lightening up just a bit in places with some great results. Anyway, buy this. It certainly canNOT be passed up at the $7.97 Am. is asking for it. Throw in another disk or two you've been wanting and you even get free shipping.
Anyway, if you've heard and enjoyed any Patty at all, you will love this and be very happy to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word: AMAZING, May 16, 2002
This review is from: Crimes of Passion (Audio CD)
Pat Benatar is, without a doubt, one of the best female voices in rock history. On this, her sophomore effort, she comes out with a true hard rock album for the ages.
If you were listening to the radio in the early '80s, then you likely know four of the first five tracks on the album. "Treat Me Right" gets the album off on the right foot with a catchy rocker that demands your attention. "You Better Run" is a hard rock remake of an old song, and it just kicks. Everyone, pop and rock fans alike, knows "Hit Me With Your Best Shot", the classic single that truly brought Pat into the limelight. "Hell Is For Children" is one of the best rock anthems of all time. Pat's handling of such a sensitive issue as child abuse is stunning in the context of this rocking song.
Rest assured, the radio tracks are not the only good ones. Listen to the searing chorus on a song like "I'm Gonna Follow You"--quite a surprise after the comparatively mellow verse. "Little Paradise" and "Out-A-Touch" also rock. In fact, this whole album does. While Pat's voice has over time proven to be beautifully suited for both hard rockers and gorgeous ballads, the rock is what dominates early in her career on such efforts as this. Truly a masterpiece from an all-time great artist. Neil Geraldo also deserves a great amount of praise for his song writing and guitar contributions this album (not to mention plenty of others).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sentence Me To Life..., December 18, 2010
This review is from: Crimes of Passion (Audio CD)
I purchased this immediately on vinyl when it first came out. I replaced that worn out copy a year or two later. Now I have the CD and it is still one of my most cherished.

It is interesting as one having such fond memories of Pat to read about what was going on behind the scenes. Although she was not always happy with the direction of her career, she set so many milestones for female rockers, and should be remembered much more than she is.

I liked the first single "You Better Run" but I was smitten with "Hit Me With Your Best Shot". I probably don't need to explain that one as most people are familiar with Pat's first top 10 hit.

After purchasing the record, my new favorite was the Kate Bush cover "Wuthering Heights". Pat has stated that she never felt they quite "got it." As a huge fan of Kate, I think that Pat's version is actually superior. "Heights" is based on the novel. Take a moment and consider how many rock songs are based on classic literature. Not many, but Pat was not the type to simply follow a trend or do what was expected. "Heights" is one of the most haunting, beautiful songs I have ever heard. Credit Kate Bush for writing the masterpiece, but Pat put her stamp all over it. It has a Gothic feel about it, and has aged well over the last 30 years.

"Hell Is For Children" is another notable cut, co-written by Pat after reading an article on child abuse that deeply affected her. Throughout her career, Pat has remained an advocate for children. In "Hit Me With Your Best Shot" Pat sang (tongue in cheek) about putting another notch in her lipstick case. With this track, she again showed the world she was a smart, multi-dimensional woman. She could be tough, but her heart was much more impressive than her heels. This was probably my least favorite song on "Crimes". Let's face it, for most of us it isn't fun to hear about child abuse. However, it was wonderful that someone cared and addressed the issue.

My second favorite song changed frequently.

"Treat Me Right" was also a big hit, but I probably prefer "Never Wanna Leave You" or "I'm Gonna Follow You". The first was written by Pat and Neil and reminds me so slightly of the wonderful "We Live For Love" which charted a year or so earlier. The latter was written by Billy Steinberg who went on to write or co-write some of the biggest hits of the 80's and 90's. However, "I'm Gonna Follow You" is a bit more moody than True Colors or Eternal Flame.

Although Pat is generally considered a "rocker", Pat seemed more New Wave to me, and that was probably part of the appeal. Her first few albums fit much better with Duran Duran, than Ozzie. However, in my opinion her music had more substance than either.

I can honestly say that I love every track on this album.

The producers, arrangers and musicians all deserve credit for knowing how to make the most of Pat's amazing voice. She was sort of "New Wave Vamp Goes To The Opera" and the combination of her remarkable vocals with a talented supporting band were different from anything else at the time. It didn't hurt that Neil, the band director, ended up marrying Pat. The two have had what seems like a remarkable marriage and partnership, especially compared to other musicians, and Neil has always been helping Pat sound her best.

I love this CD, and have so for 30 years. It is the only vinyl album that I literally wore out. It may not be to everyone's taste, but I suggest giving it a try - just in case you end up loving it as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without A Doubt, Pat Benatar's Finest Album, August 12, 2005
By 
Anthony Nasti "Tony" (Staten Island, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crimes of Passion (Audio CD)
After "In The Heat Of The Night" became a hit album in 1979 and "Heartbreaker" and "We Live For Love" became Top 40 singles, nobody was surprised when her second album, "Crimes Of Passion", became an even bigger hit, yielding three massive hit singles, a phenomenally popular album track and platinum certification. Pat was in top form here, and it still shows.

"Crimes Of Passion" kicks off with the # 18 hit "Treat Me Right". A sort of new wave meets punk rock type number, it sounds a lot like Blondie's "Call Me" except with a lot more punch to it. Neil's guitar playing on this is among his best, and Pat sounds great onhere. With all the airplay this song got, I'm surprised it was left off the 1989 hits collection "Best Shots". The next song is her update of The Rascals hit "You Better Run" (# 42 on Billboard). This update is fiercer and harder rocking, the guitar crunch adds to the song tremedously. A great song, and historians may want to take note that this song's video was the second to ever air on MTV. Next is "Never Wanna Leave You". A great unknown gem in the Benatar cannon, highlighted by her sweet, sincere vocal performance. Next comes her first Top Ten single and her signature song. "Hit Me With Your Best Shot", with its unforgettable riff, powerful Pat vocal and awesome solo, this is the definitive Benatar song, even though she isn't particularly fond of it. Next comes the chilling "Hell Is For Children". A powerful child abuse anthem, this song is quite possibly Pat's best song ever, the way the words fit the music is...wow.

"Little Paradise" is highlighted by awesome guitar playing from Neil. He is absolutely awesome on this one. He sort of carries the song the way an actor carries a moive, as the song is otherwise underwhelming. "I'm Gonna Follow You" is mysterious song with a smoky Pat vocal and a cool, creepy arrangement. The video for this song was cool, too. Next is a cover of Kate Bush's "Wuthering Heights". This has one of Pat's best vocals ever. This is an amazing song unlike anything she's ever done. A small masterpiece. "Priosner Of Love" is a solid rocker while "Out Of Touch" makes for a nice, if unspectacular, closer.

This is one of the best albums of the 1980s', and one I would recomend to almost anyone. Pick it up as soon as you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaker's sophomore effort "treats you right", July 28, 2000
By 
yokoboy@hotmail.com (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crimes of Passion (Audio CD)
Following the success of her hit single "Heartbreaker", Pat Benatar released her second album 'Crimes Of Passion' to a much broader audience than the young punkers who bought up her first release. Although the first single "You Better Run" wasn't a big success, the release of the album right along with the single "Hit Me With Your Best Shot" catapulted Pat to the position of being probably the most famous female rocker of the 80's.
Although the album yielded three singles ("You Better Run", "Hit Me With Your Best Shot", "Treat Me Right") the most infamous track would have to be "Hell Is For Children", a haunting rocker depicting the harsh, yet unignorable subject of child abuse. The song, though never released as a single, has become a staple in rock music and remains one of the highlights in Pat's concerts. Another key moment appears in the eerie cover of Kate Bush's "Wuthering Heights" based on the novel of the same name.
This album is one of Pat's best and remains her best known, but honestly, I'd have to say I enjoyed her debut "In The Heat Of The Night" much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a classic., January 11, 2011
By 
This review is from: Crimes of Passion (Audio CD)
Pat's 2nd album "Crimes Of Passion" #2, broke her into the big time. This album is just a very solid early 80's rock release. 3 hits came off this album, "Treat Me Right" #18, the mega smash "Hit Me With Your Best Shot" #9, and the Rascals re-make "You Better Run", #42 which should of been a top 20. Other big songs on "Crimes", would be, "Hell Is For Children", a song about child abuse, the melodic "I'm Gonna Follow You" and her take of the Kate Bush tune "Wuthering Heights", which is just tremendous. Next would come "Precious Time" in 1981. **** 1/2 overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Have The Height Of Her Danskins Plus Too, June 17, 2003
By 
Terry S. Jackson "Jack Off" (West Hollywood, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crimes of Passion (Audio CD)
I just reconnected with this beauty after a long period of separation (we get led away from our truths seriously in tone with the promise of more or better - then back to this). The riff of "Hit Me With Your Best Shot" and the dim locale of "Hell Is For Children" do not daunt this process of collecting again for glory once had. This album is truly great and was not topped by them either or ever. A solid gold here. Seminal. You need this album - not just a greatest hits revieu. Do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crimes of Passion
Crimes of Passion by Pat Benatar (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.