Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Investigating: what is it?
Criminal investigation is a very poplular subject these days with all of the CSI's and Law an Orders, but what about the facts, what is real? This book is the textbook for my Principles of Criminal Investigations class, part of my Investigatvie Services major in Criminal Justice. It very acuratly illistrates what criminal investigation is about, it is very much about the...
Published on March 8, 2006 by Bradley Reed

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ehh
Not exactly what I was expecting but it was cheap and not totally out of date. Take up space words.
Published on September 30, 2012 by Pen Name


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Investigating: what is it?, March 8, 2006
By 
Bradley Reed (Univ. New Haven) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Criminal investigation is a very poplular subject these days with all of the CSI's and Law an Orders, but what about the facts, what is real? This book is the textbook for my Principles of Criminal Investigations class, part of my Investigatvie Services major in Criminal Justice. It very acuratly illistrates what criminal investigation is about, it is very much about the factual part of invetigations. Also it is not just about investigating the scene of a crime but its very vividly describes crimes and criminals as well as other aspects of the investigation like the psychology and methods invovled in ivertviewing.

This is a must have for any futre investigator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A ood framework for law enforcement officers to build upon., July 11, 2000
This general textbook is written in a well-organized manner. It presents the common topics associated with criminal investigations: documentation, report writing, suspect identification and methods used for crime scene surveys. The author makes use of recent court decisions during the presentation of his topics. The chapters are logically placed so that it is easy to see how an investigation would take place. There are several illustrations and drawings, which help the reader identify the topic being discussed. This edition is written in easy to read and comprehend sections. Technical words are explained in detail.
The basics of criminal investigation are covered within the textbook - advanced topics such as criminal interrogation and procedures are briefly discussed but they are not the main focus of this book. This textbook provides an excellent foundation for the criminal justice student who is planning a career in law enforcement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book came clean and in great shape, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought used, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i bought this book used. Amazon described book to be in "good condition". It was a very accurate. The outside book had some basic wear and tear but nothing you would not expect from a used book and the inside of book was in very good condition. There were only a couple of chapters that were highlighted or underlined but nothing that makes it difficult to read. I bought at a huge discount and it was money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars review, February 8, 2014
By 
J. Kirby (CARROLLTON, GEORGIA, US) - See all my reviews
I rented the book for a criminal justice class, the material is fine. I did not need the book ,the teacher decided to do his own teachings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great book. It was exactly what I needed. It is easy to follow. The assignments helped me learn the material quickly. I would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So, you want to be a Crime Scene Investigator., March 7, 2012
By 
James Boos (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Although this book is written for the law enforcement community as a text book, it's not the dry content that you normally expect to find. I think this book will cross over to the general public that enjoys crime solving interests. I don't know if because we watch CSI, NCIS, and the host of other great crime scene investigator TV programs or not. But this book will hold your interest and can be used as a great resource of an aspiring writer punching out that great crime novel on the keyboard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
excellent product and service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ehh, September 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not exactly what I was expecting but it was cheap and not totally out of date. Take up space words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Criminal Investigation: The Art and the Science (5th Edition)
Criminal Investigation: The Art and the Science (5th Edition) by Michael D. Lyman (Hardcover - July 1, 2007)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.