Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unexpected Classic
You know,in 1986 I thought diss records went out with UTFO and SHANTE. Then I heard "South Bronx" an anthem to where hip-hop really started also an unexpected answer to MC SHAN's classic hit "The Bridge". I felt "The Bridge","South Bronx" didn't move me at first,it sounded like a demo,didn't seem real to me. Then SHAN answered back with "Kill That Noise",it didn't hit me...
Published on October 23, 2004 by capaBILLity

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh my what a treat
Scott La Rock was the truth back in the day. RIP brotha gone too soon. He put alot of us on.
Published 11 months ago by PamieG


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unexpected Classic, October 23, 2004
By 
capaBILLity (Morristown, New Jersey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Criminal Minded (Audio CD)
You know,in 1986 I thought diss records went out with UTFO and SHANTE. Then I heard "South Bronx" an anthem to where hip-hop really started also an unexpected answer to MC SHAN's classic hit "The Bridge". I felt "The Bridge","South Bronx" didn't move me at first,it sounded like a demo,didn't seem real to me. Then SHAN answered back with "Kill That Noise",it didn't hit me at first whom he was feuding with. Next,"The Bridge Is Over" hits the airwaves like crazy. I had no choice but to give it a listen and damn,KRS-ONE's dissing the whole JUICE CREW (SHAN,MARLEY MARL,MR. MAGIC and SHANTE)except BIZ MARKIE & BIG DADDY KANE,kinda put SHAN in his place on the dissing part. Still it didn't get me into them. But it gave me a buzz. I had to hear what's next by BDP.

Then "Poetry" hit the airwaves. I'm like 'oh my God,that's dope'. Then "The 'P' Is Free" and then "Dope Beat" and then "Criminal Minded" and I'm like,what a record. I scooped up two copies to mix right away. I became a fan so quickly,I bought tickets to the Dope Jam concert in the summer of 1987 to see both KRS-ONE and SCOTT LA ROCK live in New York at Madison Square Garden. It never happened.

SCOTT LA ROCK was killed like a week before that concert.

KRS-ONE attended that concert,opening for WHODINI and L.L. COOL J and he did his thang. No lip syncing (like the headliner UNCLE L) and turntables spinning alone as a tribue to the late SCOTT LA ROCK. Performing them hits I just named that made BDP a major comeback force in underground rap music since SCHOOLLY D's THE ADVENTURES OF SCHOOLLY D in 1985. This album went commercial on an independent label,almost impossible.

The other songs "9mm Goes Bang","A Word From Our Sponser","Elementary" and "Scott La Rock Had 'Em All (Super Hoe)" makes noise but not like those I've named in the beginning. Then they released the instrumental album of all 10 songs from the original. I'm like 'that's great man',scooped up another pair. Any release was a must have at this point,even if I had it from this album already.

Some beats were done by CED-GEE of the ULTRAMAGNETIC MC'S but he gets no credit for it (he got jerked by BDP's label at that time). Nonetheless,this is the classic of the late 80's. No album before or after by any rap duo can touch this album.

I must add though,the first 10 original songs total about 50 minutes of the CD,so how can another 10 songs (instrumentals) fit on an 80 minute disc? Each of the 10 instrumental songs are shorten to 2:15. Too cheap to double the album I guess. Oh well,enjoy!

RIP SCOTT LA ROCK,we miss you,bra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of the KRS-ONE legacy--, June 4, 2007
By 
Hype Currie "scholar of pop culture" (Detroit, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
Criminal Minded: The beginning of the KRS-One saga

Put together by an ex-social worker and his formerly homeless client, Boogie Down Productions' DJ Scott La Rock and KRS-One introduced Criminal Minded to the hip-hop public in early 1987, after a year or so of dropping 12-inch singles on the indie B-Boy Records, and making a name for themselves in New York's underground hip-hop circles. The 10-track, groundbreaking album by BDP is definitely up there with the greatest rap albums of all time. The production by the artists (and according to many interviews, an un-credited Ced Gee of the Ultramagnetic MC's) brought a new sampling aesthetic to hip-hop, focusing heavily on then-dusty James Brown sides from the 60's & 70's. In KRS-One's rhymes listeners can hear a rapper whose intention is not just to entertain but to educate. The album opens with "Poetry", with a trademark James Brown scream; KRS declares "I'm not an MC, so listen--call me poet or musician". "9mm Goes Bang" is a reggae-driven tale of street revenge, focusing on the fictional "crack dealer named Peter". The Bronx-based act made instant rivals in the Queens-based Juice Crew, as evidenced in songs "South Bronx" and the perennial "diss record" favorite "The Bridge is Over" (with an oblique nod to Billy Joel at the end). "Dope Beat" samples AC/DC's "Back in Black", making for an influential rap/metal combo. The title track reinterprets the opening lines of the Beatles' "Hey Jude" with subversive results. In the ensuing years since the LP's first release, the album has fallen in and out of print several times. Fortunately, Traffic Entertainment (formerly Landspeed) has secured the catalog rights, and made the album available again. Subsequent re-releases have tacked on a few bonus tracks or an entire instrumentals disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, but not as groundbreaking as some claim:, November 28, 2002
By 
This review is from: Criminal Minded (Audio CD)
Contrary to some reviews, Criminal Minded was NOT the first to introduce "gangsta" themes (check out Schoolly D, "P.S.K.") or reggae styles (see Original Concept, "Bitin' My Stylee" --Dr. Dre from MTV's record on Def Jam). Nor were the beats produced by Scott La Rock, but primarily Ced Gee from Ultramag, who got stiffed on the album credits. Sorry to bust bubbles. But it doesn't need to be The First to still be an historic and classic hip-hop album. It's one of the greatest, and will always be close to my heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hip Hop Classic, February 15, 2001
By 
Mecca Egypt (Gardena, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Criminal Minded (Audio CD)
I know people have been throwing the term "classic" around as of late and it seems rather cliche. But, this is a hip hop classic. Many hip hop purists consider this album to be classic. It is an amazing piece of musical creativity, inventiveness, ingenuity, and overall magic. The chemistry between the electrifying KRS-One and turntablesmith DJ Scott La Rock is undeniable, and makes this the premiere hip hop album to listen to for anyone who calls themself a "hip hop head." Almost every song from this album has been featured in the works of some of today's pop, rap, and R&B stars. DJs still spin cuts from this album in clubs across the world and fans rush the dancefloors in the process. I've been in clubs, and when songs from this album would come on, everyone would recite the lyrics loudly in unison -- it's quite a sight to behold. KRS-One still performs songs from this album today and it has been nearly over a decade since its initial release and sold-out crowds still chant and jump to this album like never before. This album is one that is not to be missed. Extremely recommended, if not required, for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS is how to revisit classic hip hop!, October 23, 2010
I just picked this 3 disc set up last night for like $15. Aside from being one of the greatest hip hop albums ever made; the packaging of the set and the bonus material make it a must own for anybody that would give the original 3 or 4 stars in the first place. Along with the record style disc sleeves and book, it came with a poster of the front cover and in a case that resembles old 45 rpm vinyl cases. It's also packed fairly condensed so it won't take half a shelf in your library.

On to the music. As far as most old school hip hop fans would think, this is the only real Boogie Down Productions lp ever released because of the tragic death of DJ Scott LaRock the next year. His sound was stripped down with an emphasis on drum machine and scratching. BDP was one of the first rap groups besides Run-DMC and MC Ice-T to use hard rock and roll in some of their songs.

The rhymes on Criminal Minded for the most part are adult without being vulgar if that makes any sense. Street life is, as one could imagine by the title, addressed in a major manner on this cd. Criminal activities are described, but neither encouraged or discouraged on the original disc. It's just there. Sort of a reflection of life in the South Bronx.

The 2nd disc consists of alternative mixes, b-sides, single releases and studio interviews. The only other classic hip hop album to go this deep with these is Eric B and Rakim's "Paid In Full" 2 disc set.

The 3rd disc is the entire album instrumental along with 3 other instrumentals. This is the most complete version of any old school hip hop album ever pressed on cd to date. Brings back memories of my early high school days for certain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reigns Supreme, December 1, 2004
By 
This review is from: Criminal Minded (Audio CD)
This is the album that ended careers.

KRS-One is a genius...a scholar. This was and is a classic. Forget the bling-bling and the fake wanna be gangsters.

KRS was the innovator. Yes, you can argue for Rakim and his lyrical prowess. But KRS was the first to incorporate a message, teach history, use reggae flavored beats and chants and still not be a punk. He is one of the greatest MC's of all time.

Younguns....press play, sit back and learn from the creators. This is what hip-hop is truly about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic among classics., July 30, 2007
In my opinion this is not the best album by BDP or KRS-ONE, but what it is definitely is the foundation or blueprint for everything that has come after it ...and not only for the members involved in creating it...but rap music on a whole. It has very simple stripped down production with sharp poigniant lyrics that doesn't try to make you dance..it goes for the gut. It's brilliance is in it's simplicity and boldness and honesty.

nuff said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is The Blueprint To Gangsta Rap Till This Day!!, June 29, 2005
By 
Nate Levels "Fortune3" (Hollywood, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Criminal Minded (Audio CD)
If you are a young listener in Hip Hop today and you are listening to Fifty, Jada, Game or whateva and you have'nt heard Criminal Minded pick this up now!!You will hear so many comparisons to todays Gangsta Rap you would think KRS got ripped off.Scott La Rock founder of BDP along side KRS this is the original tough guy rap.Were talking 86' where you had RUN-DMC and Whodini.There was no Eric B & Rakim or Public Enemy yet.Every cut on here is Hip Hop pure and simple.I didn't get to hear this album til much later myself but I remember South Bronx / Bridge Is Over but I was like who is that?Meanwhile I was checkin Edutainment and Self destruction.

Believe me this is the joint kid and you need to cop this. R.I.P Scott La Rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best rap albums of all time, November 29, 2002
By 
This review is from: Criminal Minded (Audio CD)
KRS-One's first album (along with Scott LaRock) was no doubt his finest. He was SO tight on the mic and he made other rappers look stupid. The track "The Bridge is Over" was one of the first hip hop diss tracks and it's cool to hear how diss tracks were back in the 80s.Anyways, this is an essential hip hop album, it's up to you whether you want the instumentals also which are included on this version, but at least buy some type of copy of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The foundation of Hardcore Hip-Hop, February 20, 2005
This review is from: Criminal Minded (Audio CD)
Criminal Minded was one of the first rap albums to utilize rock & roll and pop samples and elements; "Dope Beat" uses an AC/DC guitar riff, the a cappella opening of the title cut paraphrases the Beatles' "Hey Jude," and the bridge portion of "The Bridge Is Over" embodies Billy Joel's "It's Still Rock n' Roll to Me." Criminal Minded is a classic hip-hop album, a manifesto that outlines the essence of the art form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Criminal Minded
Criminal Minded by Boogie Down Productions (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.