Automotive Holiday Deals Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Gifts for Her Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Entertainment Collectibles Outdoor Deals on DOTD
Criminal Vol. 6: The Last Of The Innocent and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Criminal, Vol. 6: Last of the Innocent Paperback – December 21, 2011

16 customer reviews
Book 6 of 6 in the Criminal Series

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"
Paperback, December 21, 2011
$17.09 $7.32

Best Books of the Year So Far
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2015's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Take an Extra 30% Off Any Book: Use promo code HOLIDAY30 at checkout to get an extra 30% off any book for a limited time. Excludes Kindle eBooks and Audible Audiobooks. Restrictions apply. Learn more | Shop now


Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at

Product Details

  • Paperback: 112 pages
  • Publisher: Marvel (December 21, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0785158294
  • ISBN-13: 978-0785158295
  • Product Dimensions: 6.6 x 0.2 x 10.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #854,068 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 16 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful By Sean Curley on January 7, 2012
Format: Paperback
The sixth collected edition of Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips' Icon series "Criminal" includes the entire "Last of the Innocent" miniseries (which looks to be the last "Criminal" we'll get for a while, since the team are now hard at work on their Image series "Fatale", and presumably there's a third "Incognito" volume in the works at some point, given where the second one left off). "Last of the Innocent" is the best thing Brubaker has done in a few years, since at least the "Lady Bullseye"/"Return of the King" arc in "Daredevil" and possibly since "The Death of Captain America" ended back in 2008. Spoilers follow.

Upon opening the first issue, I quickly realized that the story was going to be an elaborate deconstruction of the Archie mythos into a crime comic, which put a big smile on my face. Much as Alan Moore did, Brubaker has taken a collection of well-known popcultural archetypes and fitted them into a much more adult story, that plays to many of the undercurrents of the old stories. Our story follows one Riley Richards (Archie), now in his 30s and unhappily married to Felicity/'Felix' (Veronica/'Ronnie'), who he discovers is cheating with Terry (Reggie), Riley's old childhood rival. A return visit to his old town of Brookview reacquaints him with Lizzie (Betty) and Freakout (Jughead), and Riley soon comes to believe that his only chance at recapturing his lost childhood happiness is to be with Lizzie. But that means getting Felix out of the way (and before she divorces him and leaves him with nothing)...

This could easily have been a very simple pastiche of Archie as a noir story, but Brubaker has much more to say than simply parodying the simplistic world of Archie and his friends.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By James Donnelly VINE VOICE on December 26, 2011
Format: Paperback
I'm a huge fan of Jim Thompson and the twisted worlds that are created by the greats of crime fiction. Ed Brubaker is an obvious fan as well as his oft-times collaborator, artist Sean Phillips. When they did BATMAN: GOTHAM NOIR, I was very excited to see more. I finally got the entire SLEEPER series, and it was one of the best series I'd ever read, with a brilliant mix of crime fiction and superhero comics. Then they did it again with CRIMINAL, which is straight-up, no-holds-barred crime fiction. This particular arc, LAST OF THE INNOCENT, is their best work yet. Combining a slick, imaginative artistic style with one of the best crime tales I've read since earlier arcs of CRIMINAL as well as Darwyn Cooke's wonderful adaptations of the PARKER books, LAST OF THE INNOCENT holds up as one of the best tales told of 2011. For fans of Brubaker and Phillips, it's a must own. To fans of crime fiction, it's a must own. To fans of great comics in general, it's a must own.

Just put it in the cart and buy it. Now.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Had To Do It on November 2, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I used to read comics when I was a kid, but my interest waned as I grew tired of the same old hero's and villains' antics... I now have a son that is interested in comics, and recently I discovered Brubaker and Phillips' Criminal series while looking for books for him. While these are definitely NOT for children, I DO HIGHLY RECCOMEND them for adults. These books are a full throttle rollercoaster ride!! The story line and narrative is gripping and Phillips makes the story come to life with his fresh take on the Noir genre... I highly recommend this book and the others in the series
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
The Last of the Innocent by Ed Brubaker (with the artwork of Sean Phillips) may be my favorite story yet of their highly praised and remarkable Criminal series. This is the dark and seedy noire style graphic novel of a man from the poor side of the streets who gets everything he ever wanted only to find out he never really wanted it at all. Brubaker and Phillips interludes, in flashbacks, or homage, to the early Archie comics is warped and fun.

The question is this. What if Archie chose Veronica over Betty and marries her, only to find out what the rest of us always knew? Veronica is a scheming two faced bitch and he would have been happier with Betty all along. So what is a small town boy to do?

Riley Richards is the popular young man in school. With his best friend (and always high and able to eat anything buddy) Freakout and tomboy pretty girl neighbor Liz, life for Riley is good in Brookview. Then very rich and very beautiful Felicity comes to town and everything changes. Riley falls hard for Felicity and it isn't long before he is doing everything she wants. But what Felicity wants is to piss off her overbearing and over controlling father so she convinces Riley to marry her. One pre-nup later, they move away from Brookview and Riley takes a post in the family business. It isn't long before he realizes what a mistake his life has become. When Riley's father falls ill he returns to Brookview and finds that things have not really changed all that much. Freakout is still addicted to whatever he can get his hands on and Liz is still the very pretty girl next door. When he also realizes that Felicity is cheating on him and trying to get rid of him, Riley realizes there is only one thing he can do. But can he get away with it. Can he get rid of his wife. Get the money.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: superhero novels