Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Criminal, Vol. 6: Last of the Innocent Paperback – December 21, 2011

12 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback, December 21, 2011
$23.94 $3.94

"Blood and Honor: The Foreworld Saga Graphic Novels"
Available July 29th. See more by Erik Bear.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 112 pages
  • Publisher: Marvel (December 21, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0785158294
  • ISBN-13: 978-0785158295
  • Product Dimensions: 6.6 x 0.2 x 10.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (12 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #761,384 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

5 star
92%
4 star
8%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See all 12 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful By Sean Curley on January 7, 2012
Format: Paperback
The sixth collected edition of Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips' Icon series "Criminal" includes the entire "Last of the Innocent" miniseries (which looks to be the last "Criminal" we'll get for a while, since the team are now hard at work on their Image series "Fatale", and presumably there's a third "Incognito" volume in the works at some point, given where the second one left off). "Last of the Innocent" is the best thing Brubaker has done in a few years, since at least the "Lady Bullseye"/"Return of the King" arc in "Daredevil" and possibly since "The Death of Captain America" ended back in 2008. Spoilers follow.

Upon opening the first issue, I quickly realized that the story was going to be an elaborate deconstruction of the Archie mythos into a crime comic, which put a big smile on my face. Much as Alan Moore did, Brubaker has taken a collection of well-known popcultural archetypes and fitted them into a much more adult story, that plays to many of the undercurrents of the old stories. Our story follows one Riley Richards (Archie), now in his 30s and unhappily married to Felicity/'Felix' (Veronica/'Ronnie'), who he discovers is cheating with Terry (Reggie), Riley's old childhood rival. A return visit to his old town of Brookview reacquaints him with Lizzie (Betty) and Freakout (Jughead), and Riley soon comes to believe that his only chance at recapturing his lost childhood happiness is to be with Lizzie. But that means getting Felix out of the way (and before she divorces him and leaves him with nothing)...

This could easily have been a very simple pastiche of Archie as a noir story, but Brubaker has much more to say than simply parodying the simplistic world of Archie and his friends.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By James Donnelly VINE VOICE on December 26, 2011
Format: Paperback
I'm a huge fan of Jim Thompson and the twisted worlds that are created by the greats of crime fiction. Ed Brubaker is an obvious fan as well as his oft-times collaborator, artist Sean Phillips. When they did BATMAN: GOTHAM NOIR, I was very excited to see more. I finally got the entire SLEEPER series, and it was one of the best series I'd ever read, with a brilliant mix of crime fiction and superhero comics. Then they did it again with CRIMINAL, which is straight-up, no-holds-barred crime fiction. This particular arc, LAST OF THE INNOCENT, is their best work yet. Combining a slick, imaginative artistic style with one of the best crime tales I've read since earlier arcs of CRIMINAL as well as Darwyn Cooke's wonderful adaptations of the PARKER books, LAST OF THE INNOCENT holds up as one of the best tales told of 2011. For fans of Brubaker and Phillips, it's a must own. To fans of crime fiction, it's a must own. To fans of great comics in general, it's a must own.

Just put it in the cart and buy it. Now.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Had To Do It on November 2, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I used to read comics when I was a kid, but my interest waned as I grew tired of the same old hero's and villains' antics... I now have a son that is interested in comics, and recently I discovered Brubaker and Phillips' Criminal series while looking for books for him. While these are definitely NOT for children, I DO HIGHLY RECCOMEND them for adults. These books are a full throttle rollercoaster ride!! The story line and narrative is gripping and Phillips makes the story come to life with his fresh take on the Noir genre... I highly recommend this book and the others in the series
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Who hasn't looked back on their youth through rose-tinted lenses and wished they could go back? What if you were faced with that choice, that of the two girls who were after you in high school, you chose one and ended up with a depressing and horrible life - wouldn't you wonder if you would've had a better life with the other girl?

That's the decision Riley Richards makes when he returns to Brookview (an idealistic American small town) for his father's funeral and sees the girl that got away, Lizzie. Returning to the city he sees his wife who, despite being beautiful, worldly and rich, hates him and is cheating on him, and he decides to kill her and start over in Brookview with Lizzie.

Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips create another masterful story of crime and suspense in their brilliant "Criminal" series. The way Phillips draws is always extraordinary and he makes some interesting choices in differentiating between the present and the past, drawing the past as cartoonish and unreal. Brubaker is a helluva writer and his plotting and characterisation here is no less incredible than in the other "Criminal" books. I actually found myself rooting for the villain the entire time even though I knew what a terrible person he was. That's how good Brubaker is.

Anybody new coming to this series shouldn't worry about having to go back and start at Book 1, all of the books are standalone and can be read individually, and "The Last of the Innocents" continues that setup. That said, I heartily recommend the previous 5 if you liked this one. For fans of the other books, I don't need to suggest reading this as you'll no doubt either have done so or are planning to in the near future.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?