Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $7.01 (41%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

The Crimson Campaign (Powder Mage series Book 2) Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 240 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$9.99

Length: 628 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready


Complete Series

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

Packed with action ... An amazing work Fantasy Faction

About the Author

Brian McClellan is an avid reader of fantasy and graduate of Orson Scott Card's Literary Bookcamp. When he is not writing, he loves baking, making jam from fruit grown in northeast Ohio and playing video games. He currently lives in Cleveland, Ohio with his wife.

Product Details

  • File Size: 5453 KB
  • Print Length: 628 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 031621907X
  • Publisher: Orbit (May 6, 2014)
  • Publication Date: May 6, 2014
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00CO7FI36
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #23,026 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I am a long reader of Fantasy (especially epic fantasy) and I have enjoyed the new trend of "Flintlock" fantasy, but I have to say that McClellan's novels are the best. Crimson Campaign was addictive and awesome from start to finish. The characters are cool (and have plenty of moments of awesome), the development is good, and there is just enough building of intrigue to keep you desperate for more of the story. I try to include at least one complaint in every review, and for this book it is that it seems many of the characters beat incredible odds too reliably (Tamas specifically); their plans almost always seem to work perfectly and then a seemingly impossible task is accomplished quickly and easily. It isn't really a knock on the book, and the book is written to indicate that Tamas is just so brilliant as a commander that it works that way, so the ease of his success is at least addressed.

Fans of Sanderson, Weeks, Joe Abercrombie/Glen Cook (it isn't quite as dark as their work, but it has that "boots on the ground" feeling), and Rothfuss will love this novel. If you are more interested in a tougher read (Erikson/Malazan fans come immediately to mind), you might find this book a little too "easy" (there are only about 4 POVs/settings, the timeline is easy to understand, character relationships/positions/archetypes are pretty easy to follow).

Overall, I strongly suggest this novel to any epic fantasy fan.
2 Comments 27 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Promise of Blood, the first book in the Powder Mage trilogy was one of my favorite books of last year so I was anxious to read the sequel. And once I started reading, I was hooked and couldn't stop till I finished it. Crimson Campaign was a non-stop adrenaline rush of action. Tamas, Taniel and Adamat also face dire challenges, from the Kez attacking to more diabolical plots within the city. The god Kesimir is back, and apparently on the side of Kez. But you can't count out the Chef. Secres of the past are revealed, as well as revelations of the present. This is a well-written fantasy, with an intriguing setting and cool magic systems. I highly recommend this book, as well as the first one. And once you read this book, you will be eager for the next book.
Comment 24 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Thoroughly enjoyed The Crimson Campaigns. Good story development, Characters continue to grow, and the world progresses. Promise of Blood was quite good, and the second novel in the series is a definite improvement. Adamat, Taniel, and Tamas each have their own story playing out over the course of the novel. Fun read, and a rather nice ending to lead into book #3. I'd highly recommend it for fans of epic fantasy, Sanderson, Anthony Ryan, Steven Erikson, Will Wight, and Django Wexler.

- PROS
-- We see a lot more of Taniel
-- Good action, larger campaign scenes as well as individual
-- The plots lines progress

-Cons
--The various magic systems are still relatively poorly described. I suspect he has rules that everything follows, but we don't get to see them up front as we do with Sanderson. (McClellan is a student of Sanderson after all)
-- Felt a little short. It's a funny thing to say about a 600 pg. novel, but it read quickly. Of course, I'm just coming off a reread of the Malazan Book of the Fallen, so my perspective may be a bit skewed.
1 Comment 16 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The second installment in the Powder Mage Trilogy is even better than the first, Promise of Blood.
Brian does an excellent job of pacing in this book, and his characters feel even more fully developed than they did before.
The one criticism that I have is that I don't feel the passage of time in the novels. I know that some of the events take a week or so to develop, but I don't feel that time when I read.

Even with that one criticism I'm giving this a 5 star review. I love this novel and the series, can't wait for the future works.

P.s. do yourself a favor and get his novellas as well, they're absolutely worth it.
Comment 9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I was looking forward to this book after reading Promise of Blood, and I think I enjoyed this one even more than the first. Great story, great characters, great twists, just like the first. Highly recommended to fans of Promise of Blood.

But be prepared for a cliffhanger ending.
Comment 9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Short review as it is 2:54 in the morning.

Once again, Brian McClellan has written a book that has cost me my sleep. I have fallen in love with the all the characters. It's a rarity for me to love each character and every chapter keeps me turning the pages wanting to find out what has become of them. I am excited for each new installment and applaud his writing skills. It's a breadth of fresh air in what seems a stale time for innovative writing.

Goodnight.
Comment 8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I can honestly say that I am by no means a huge fan of "Flintlock Fantasy" (is that an actual term...well, I like it and will claim it as my own..."Flintlock Fantasy™"...I digress) but I am certain that I have grown to love this series. The reason I bought the first book was that it was endorsed by Brandon Sanderson who is one of my favorites. Should the next book be as engaging as the previous books, then you can consider me a fan for life.
Comment 8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

Topic From this Discussion
Price
Yeah I remembered that this was recently released and got here and saw the price tag... I will just wait till I find it cheap in one of the large used book stores around town or somewhere online. I bought the first one for 1.99$ and I would not pay the 9.99$ they are asking for it now, though I... Read More
May 10, 2014 by Amazon Customer |  See all 2 posts
Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions