Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious and so easy!
Let me put it to you this way: not unlike Carrie Bradshaw, my oven is used to store clothes. However, a friend recommended Cristina's cookbook to me so I thought I would take a look. Besides Cristina's warm and genuine tone, the book is filled with DELICIOUS, hearty and healthy recipes that are so easy to make. I even used my oven for the first time last night to make one...
Published on April 5, 2011 by Zack

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy Editing Job / Errors in Recipes!!!
I borrowed this from our library and found at least seven recipes I wanted to try. In my reading, I noticed an Italian recipe (was it a salad? I'm not recalling) where the ingredient list had about 6 items listed twice and in the same amount - mistakenly so, when you read the recipe. I made the Mac & Cheese with Truffle Oil (DELICIOUS) and discovered that the pasta...
Published on September 14, 2011 by E. Dickson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious and so easy!, April 5, 2011
This review is from: Cristina Ferrare's Big Bowl of Love: Delight Family and Friends with More than 150 Simple, Fabulous Recipes (Hardcover)
Let me put it to you this way: not unlike Carrie Bradshaw, my oven is used to store clothes. However, a friend recommended Cristina's cookbook to me so I thought I would take a look. Besides Cristina's warm and genuine tone, the book is filled with DELICIOUS, hearty and healthy recipes that are so easy to make. I even used my oven for the first time last night to make one of Cristina's vegetable dishes, her roasted asparagus with balsamic. Yum!! There are so many recipes I can't wait to try, this book is genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My New Favorite Cookbook, April 5, 2011
This review is from: Cristina Ferrare's Big Bowl of Love: Delight Family and Friends with More than 150 Simple, Fabulous Recipes (Hardcover)
I just got a copy of Cristina's cookbook. It's now my FAVORITE. And, I'm a girl who loves me a cookbook. The recipes are fantastic, and everything is created so it can be done fast and easy. The food photography looks beautiful. My husband is going to be a happy man come meal time. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up!, April 14, 2011
This review is from: Cristina Ferrare's Big Bowl of Love: Delight Family and Friends with More than 150 Simple, Fabulous Recipes (Hardcover)
I love the selection of recipes in "Big Bowl of Love." I feel like I have access to Cristina's personal recipe file with all her notes and improvements on recipes that range from fast & easy to more impressive undertakings. The book does include a few 'filler' recipes that simply list specific ingredients with a building plan. The dessert section is short, but tempting.

In most cookbooks the 'basics' are not noteworthy; however, Cristina has included marinades and sauces that I really need options for ~ such as: Asian Slaw Vinaigrette, Greek Salsa, Ponzu Dipping Sauce, Spicy Soy Dipping Sauce and Ginger Dipping Sauce.

There are great number of pictures to inspire; but, I was distracted by those pictures that use bokeh (the blurring of the background). Done well, pictures that blur the background will bring importance to the item that is in focus. Here, I don't feel the blurry pictures were done well, instead, I just felt like I needed a new eyeglass prescription.

Overall, where content is concerned, this book is a winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow your family with these recipes!, June 14, 2011
This review is from: Cristina Ferrare's Big Bowl of Love: Delight Family and Friends with More than 150 Simple, Fabulous Recipes (Hardcover)
Cristina Ferrare's Big Bowl of Love has a ton of recipes that your family will think you spent hours on. Only you'll know that you didn't spend much time at all. Her recipes are relatively easy and fun to prepare as well as nutritious. She includes helpful tips on shortening preparation time, cutting calories and extending meals to feed a few extra. I definitely appreciated these!

Each recipe includes a brief introduction with a history of the recipe, a detailed ingredients list, and well written instructions that are easy to follow. Most recipes also include a gorgeous color photograph to inspire you. Recipes included are for appetizers, salads, soups, pasta and risotto, chicken, beef and lamb, fish, vegetables, desserts; dressings, sauces, and salads; and pantry and staple items.

There's really a great variety of cuisines in this cookbook including Mexican, Middle Eastern, Italian, and of course, plenty of good old American favorites. I really cannot wait to try the Linguine with Clam Sauce! Wow her picture makes this look so amazing. This is definitely a great resource for the mom looking to wow her family without spending hours in the kitchen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hit!, June 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cristina Ferrare's Big Bowl of Love: Delight Family and Friends with More than 150 Simple, Fabulous Recipes (Hardcover)
I have Cristina's earlier cookbook and use it all the time. This new cookbook that is a companion to the series Big Bowl of Love is another favorite of mine. The dishes are simple to make with easy to find ingredients. I am loving it! With healthy eating in mind, Cristina has updated her recipes to fit today's busy lifestyles and healthier way of eating. I have a huge cookbook collection and this is one of my new favorites. A real hit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book by a beautiful lady., June 8, 2011
By 
Margaret B. Matthias (Norfolk, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cristina Ferrare's Big Bowl of Love: Delight Family and Friends with More than 150 Simple, Fabulous Recipes (Hardcover)
Purchased a copy for each of my daughters and one for myself. I like the way Cristina prepares food and will enjoy using the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow and delicious for the family!, April 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cristina Ferrare's Big Bowl of Love: Delight Family and Friends with More than 150 Simple, Fabulous Recipes (Hardcover)
This cookbook is easy to follow, and has delicious recipes. If your'e not a cook, you can be with this book! If you've ever wanted to try making fabulous dinners to impress, try these recipes! I did, and you'll amaze yourself!! If you need a little inspiration... follow Cristina on OWN network and with her cute humor, down to earth style, you'll want to start cooking tonight! Thanks Cristina for the inspiration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy Editing Job / Errors in Recipes!!!, September 14, 2011
This review is from: Cristina Ferrare's Big Bowl of Love: Delight Family and Friends with More than 150 Simple, Fabulous Recipes (Hardcover)
I borrowed this from our library and found at least seven recipes I wanted to try. In my reading, I noticed an Italian recipe (was it a salad? I'm not recalling) where the ingredient list had about 6 items listed twice and in the same amount - mistakenly so, when you read the recipe. I made the Mac & Cheese with Truffle Oil (DELICIOUS) and discovered that the pasta amount called for was incorrect. Not too much fun scrambling to boil a second batch of pasta when you thought you were on schedule for dinner! I should have trusted my instincts... the recipe said 8 ounces macaroni... it should be 16 oz.

While Ferrare's recipes seem delicious and do-able, I rate this a one star, for a cookbook with unreliable recipes and errors in it is a liability in the kitchen, not an asset. Sloppy work by the publishing house, and sloppy proofreading by Ferrare!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cristina Ferrare's Big Bowl of Love: Delight Family and Friends with More than 150 Simple, Fabulous Recipes (Hardcover)
I remembered Christian Ferrare as being a good cook many years ago on TV, that's why I bought her cookbook. Everything I have made has been simple and delicious. Her recipes have been well received by adults and picky teenages. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy & Delectable Recipes!, April 5, 2011
This review is from: Cristina Ferrare's Big Bowl of Love: Delight Family and Friends with More than 150 Simple, Fabulous Recipes (Hardcover)
By no means do I call myself a cook ... But with Cristina's cookbook I can whip up delicious and healthy meals in a jiffy! The book includes easy to follow recipes with beautiful mouth-watering photos. Can't wait to try some new dishes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cristina Ferrare's Big Bowl of Love: Delight Family and Friends with More than 150 Simple, Fabulous Recipes
$30.00 $22.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.