Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential tool for all audio students
This book is acutally a compilation of two of Alton Everests ear training books. The first, Critical listening skills, plays different frequencies, amplitudes, bands, filters, amount of total harmonic distorion, and revervbs. Then you are forced to recognize changes within these different areas. These are crucial ear training skills for anyone trying to break into the...
Published on May 4, 2008 by Nicholas Hoffman

versus
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings
It's actually kind of neat that someone wrote a book with exercises for gaining a certain skill in the music industry. This is rare, really rare. But these are WAY WAY basic skills. These are as entry level as it gets. If you are hard of hearing though and still insist on a career in audio tweeking, this might just be the book for you. It is hard to criticize this book...
Published on January 5, 2010 by J. Staker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential tool for all audio students, May 4, 2008
By 
Nicholas Hoffman (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Critical Listening Skills for Audio Professionals (Hardcover)
This book is acutally a compilation of two of Alton Everests ear training books. The first, Critical listening skills, plays different frequencies, amplitudes, bands, filters, amount of total harmonic distorion, and revervbs. Then you are forced to recognize changes within these different areas. These are crucial ear training skills for anyone trying to break into the world of audio. It's not somehting you can go through once and leave. The book should become part of a routine of ear training.

The second book, Auditory perception, discusses issues relating to the differences between how sound occurs and how we actually perceive it. Another valuable tool for understanding how sound works.

Aparantly this book has been around for a long time but was, until this edition, only available in very expensive editions that were catering toward institutions. This is done by puting the 6 cd's onto 1 mp3 cd. This is my one complaint about this book, that people trying to become audio pros shouldn't use compromised quality files when training there ears. That is why I use the cd's as a guide and for the projects that require more acurate listening I use a tone generator in my DAW to recreate the sounds at a higher quality.

All in all an excellent tool that has, in a short time, already proven very helpfull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definetely, the book for improving your audio listening skills!, May 2, 2008
By 
D. Lucio "AudioHolic" (Knoxville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Critical Listening Skills for Audio Professionals (Hardcover)
This book contains some clear and self explanatory audio exercises. I hate to acknowledge that most of the exercises could have already been performed by using a 'free' (computer) tone generator to explore the different frequency ranges. Beware, it will require time to learn to listen properly. I was very wrong to believe that by listening to the contents once, I was set. I would suggest to make copies of use a separate sheet of paper to answers the exercises. This way you can repeat it, over and over. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in improving his/her audio listening skills.

*PROS:
-Good and helpful exercises
-Nice correlation between the audio exercises and the freq. graphs on the book.
-If you have no patience to play with a tone generator, this book is well suited for you.

*CONS
-The CD without the book or the book without the CD become useless.
-You need to read the book while you listen to the CD.
-The CD is in fact an MP3-CD, so you may not play it anywhere you want.
-I have the impression that the book is kind of expensive. Many of the exercises can already be performed by anyone using a (free) tone generator.
- The book is kind of bulky to take it anywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, March 15, 2008
By 
(L)Ove (At. Home, Earth) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Critical Listening Skills for Audio Professionals (Hardcover)
I am currently a student in mediaproduction and not too apt in the field of audio. Often I would come across examples in my textbooks on problems concerning EQ, audio levels, sounds masking eachother comb filter effect etc. My biggest problem is that I do not know what I should listen for. I haven't finished this book yet, but I still feel confident enough about in order to praise it in a review. This book is very good. Nice examples on the CD and very helpful. I do not know how useful it is for audio professionals, but for a student I think it is awesome.

In my first review I wrote that I thought the CD was sloppily made. In fact there was no trouble with the tracks, but since I did not realize that the CD contained mp3's rather than ordinary CD tracks my player read track 10 as track 2. Well, I dont know if I would trust mp3's as a listening reference (even if they have a very hight quality). I wish they could have used CD quality Wave files on a DVD instead. Still a helpful book, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Book Updated and Inexpensive, August 15, 2006
This review is from: Critical Listening Skills for Audio Professionals (Hardcover)
This book starts out by saying that the maestro on the podium, the recording engineer, and the experienced music critic have suffieiently trained ears to judge if the sound quality of music is acceptable. The beginning student may well have ears that are just as good, perhaps even better, than these professionals. The student can hear, but doesn't know how to listen.

This book is on listening. It is based on the courses the author developed to teach listening. The first half of the book is on the training the ears to detecting the changes in sound frequency, level, band limitations, irregularities, distortion, noise, etc. The second part is more on the psychoacoustics, the human auditory system. Of particular interest in this section is the understanding of the part that perception plays in the hearing of sounds.

The CD included with the book contains some eighteen lectures that essentially make up a course in listening.

This book is based on and expanded from previous books from the author. These earlier books have long been out of print and difficult to find. This new edition has been updated and priced at a price anyone can afford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top pick for both students and aspiring audio engineers., October 15, 2006
This review is from: Critical Listening Skills for Audio Professionals (Hardcover)
The ability of the audio engineer to identify frequencies, hear hidden distortions and reconcile conflicts can make or break a career; but how can such skills be taught? Critical Listening Skills For Audio Professionals is one sure method for gaining expertise: it pairs an audio cd of high-resolution MP3 files containing nearly five hours of narration of the entire course with a text identifying critical listening skills. Students of the author's courses have tested and developed their own skills on the area based on the contents here, but the price tag is affordable enough for non-college aspiring pros to benefit from. A top pick for both students and aspiring audio engineers.

Diane C. Donovan

California Bookwatch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings, January 5, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Critical Listening Skills for Audio Professionals (Hardcover)
It's actually kind of neat that someone wrote a book with exercises for gaining a certain skill in the music industry. This is rare, really rare. But these are WAY WAY basic skills. These are as entry level as it gets. If you are hard of hearing though and still insist on a career in audio tweeking, this might just be the book for you. It is hard to criticize this book because it is so thorough and actually does target some listening skills. But I'm thinking the word "Critical" (in the title) should instead say "very very very BASIC (but critical)listening skills". It is a somewhat short book. But I'm tempted to recommend it if you're sure you want to go full time into the mixing or audio tweeking profession, not just learn home recording skills. If you're just looking to improve your home based hobby of mixing audio, I really think this book will sit on the shelf and grow old and lonely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SONIC WISDOM passed on to us, October 3, 2007
By 
This review is from: Critical Listening Skills for Audio Professionals (Hardcover)
Listen carefully !
If you are a Sound Engineer and you dont have a copy of this book, your
missing out on a lot.

This book is all about you and your EAR and how you perceive sound,
your expensive mixers and gadgets are of no use if you dont know
how to listen to the sound criticaly and deftly turn those nobs and slide those sliders on your mixers !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Affordable Technical Training in Audio, January 12, 2009
By 
This review is from: Critical Listening Skills for Audio Professionals (Hardcover)
This book/cd is amazing. With specific exercises to help you identify frequency ranges, shelving and hi/lo pass filters, thd and lots more. College level work book and exercises to get you thinking about your audio from a solid foundation.
I wish I'd found this book 15 years ago! Excellent. Highly recommended to anyone looking to get into recording/audio as a hobby or career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Impressions, January 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Critical Listening Skills for Audio Professionals (Hardcover)
As a person who tends to be a visual learner rather than an aural learner this course is a very good exercise for getting me to focus and train my ear and mind in new ways. These listening skills are not "automatic" for me so the fact that this book starts at ground level is fine even if I already understand it on paper (and by the lights on my eq- lol).

As far as the Critical Listening cd goes I have had no trouble getting it to play, but...

why is the first half the book the back half the cd and the second half of the book start at track 1?

to confuse me more, when I get to the middle of the cd (where the lessons at the front of the book begin) it starts with lesson two??? Wondering where chapter one disappeared to I skipped through the tracks only to find it as the last track on the cd, track 18. Silly me I expected the cd to follow the book and for lesson one to correspond to track one. What the heck ever happened to quality control? C'mon guys! So minus one star for the quality issues, not content.

The ideas are laid out logically and the course walks you along one little step at time. The latter could be a plus or a minus depending upon where you are coming from. For me this was better than if it had just rushed me along without being clear and concise, even if at the expense of being a bit tedious.

Others like me might also appreciate the cd that comes with Ira White's "audio made easy" book. It touches on this topic in a practical way with examples involving actual instruments. White's book covers the basics (in breadth, not depth) and is a good resource for those just getting their feet wet in pro audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Starting Point, October 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Critical Listening Skills for Audio Professionals (Hardcover)
I picked up this book along with Master Handbook of Acoustics and found this book a good accompaniment. A lot of the topics discussed in the Master Handbook sort of coincided with this book in a similar order. I found the audio examples to be a fair reference point.. some of the demonstrations were pretty hokey but the point was totally there. The one thing I didn't like about the Master Handbook of Acoustics was the fact that it was a lot of theory without any sort of audio reference to tie the chapters together and this book worked as a good compliment and an overview of what you're listening for.

It's true that if you have a copy of this book without a CD, it's useless since it does have audio identification exercises. If you receive this book without a CD or the CD is broken and you purchased from this site, Amazon does have a return policy so you'll want to replace it with a different copy right away. Also, if you've got a crazy audiophile setup but can't figure out a way to convert an .mp3 to a CD audio friendly format, try out Audacity for this purpose "[...]"

I gave this book 4 stars since it has a dependency on the CD which, according to other reviews, does not work on all systems. This is more of a workbook of exercises than a full on how-to for critical listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Critical Listening Skills for Audio Professionals
Critical Listening Skills for Audio Professionals by F. Alton Everest (Hardcover - June 20, 2006)
$49.99 $32.47
In stock on December 28, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.