Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weird, imaginative nonsense.
The Krites are the critters. They are nasty little hedgehog-type creatures and while they may look cute you wouldn't dare pet one as they'd rip your hand of and share the rest of you with their pals.

The Krites are prisoners on an asteroid jailhouse floating through the far side of the galaxy. Chaos inevitably breaks out and the Krites escape in a stolen ship,...
Published on February 12, 2005 by Inspector Gadget

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another 3 star review from Horrorflicker ...
First of all, let me get this straight - THIS IS NOT A HORROR FILM. However, I like comedys too, and this is quite a good sci-fi comedy.
There are a few extremely funny lines in it, but mainly it's what you see that amuses you.
So if you see this film selling cheap (like I did), go buy it. You'll lagugh ...
Published on March 18, 2000 by horrorflicker@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weird, imaginative nonsense., February 12, 2005
This review is from: Critters (DVD)
The Krites are the critters. They are nasty little hedgehog-type creatures and while they may look cute you wouldn't dare pet one as they'd rip your hand of and share the rest of you with their pals.

The Krites are prisoners on an asteroid jailhouse floating through the far side of the galaxy. Chaos inevitably breaks out and the Krites escape in a stolen ship, heading for the nearest solar system and it's only inhabitable planet...earth! Not to worry though, a couple of intergalactic bounty hunters are soon on their tail and track them all the way to the quiet farming town of Grover's Bend, Kansas. The worst thing ever to happen in Grover's Bend is the local drunk (the ever lovable Charlie) getting chucked out of a bar. But now the Krites are here and they lay siege to the Brown farm, eating their cows, Billy Zane, chickens etc. Anyone or anything getting in their way is promptly poisoned by their anaesthetic spikes and feasted on.

Once the bounty hunters arrive the almost do more harm than good. The bulk of the laughs come from this, including a running joke on how one of them has shape-shifted into the form of an '80s heavy metal rocker. The other can't make up his mind and constantly changes into various townsfolk.

The Critters (8 small ones and a big shaggy one) may be Gremlins clones but there's no denying their cuteness. Though while I would love a pet Mogwai, I think I'll pass on a pet Krite.

Critters is a mad comedy-horror with loads of imagination and the nerve to tell a truly offbeat story. Much like Stephen Herek's next movie (Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure) Critters succeeds on pure energy alone.

The DVD has a murky-looking 1.85:1 anamorphic transfer (which is quite problematic considering how dark much of the film is) with remastered Dolby 5.1 sound. Extras are limited to 4 trailers and a (hidden) alternate ending, which I've yet to find. But for the price, you can't argue, and you gotta buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and entertaining, April 9, 2006
By 
Brian (The Twilight Zone) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Critters (DVD)
I cannot help but laugh every time I see people bashing each other over a movie. Disliking a certain film is one thing. But for somebody to go out of their way and flagrantly insult a total stranger over their enjoyment of a particular film they happened to hate is unnecessary and immature. Amazon should police these reviews a bit more seriously.

"Critters" is a fond and harmless throwback to the sort of monster movie so prevalent in the mid-1950s sci-fi boom. I cannot so easily classify the plot as straight-up horror, because it really isn't. This is more of a hodgepodge. You get a smattering of horror, comedy, and science fiction all rolled up within a singular and satisfying package. I caught this in a theater with my father twenty years ago, and it has always remained a guilty pleasure of mine. None of the special effects are overdone, the writing is suitable, and I found most of the cast agreeable and entertaining.

I have found over the years that many of us tend to take our movies way too seriously. In the end, I could really care less that "Critters" doesn't follow the rules of reality. Because, when I pay to see movies like this, reality is something I want to escape from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inventive and sprightly horror /sci fi hybrid, January 14, 2005
This review is from: Critters [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Critters -or "crites" -are intergalactic criminals who escape from their gaolers and land in Kansas.They are pursued by the forces of the law , leather clad bounty hunters with shape shifting abilities .The crites are not notably pleasant creatures -while they resemble tumbleweeds(albeit omnivotous tumblweeds ) they have the nasty habit of discharging poison darts from their skin and have murderous dispositions .They lay siege to a farm house in Grover's Bend ,Kansas and are intent on the destruction of any humans with whom they come into contact

The movie has a nice line in wry ,acerbic humour and the performance from a capable cast ,which includes Dee Wallace Stone , M Emmett Walsh and Scott Grimes are excellent .

Add some good production values and the result is a sharp little movie that is funny without deetracting from its merits as a neat little monster movie

Entertaining and witty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power Of The Night........Streets Are Calling!, August 11, 2004
This review is from: Critters (DVD)
Critters is probably the best post-Gremlins movie about little monsters on the rampage. In fact, the movie is actually very good. It's a B-movie and never meant to be taken seriously, but that's pretty obvious just by looking at the cover(and title) of the film. This is another one you couldn't escape if you had HBO in the late eighties. What we got is some pretty vicious hedgehog-like creatures(they're escaped convicts) that make it to Earth to basically just eat everybody. The film focuses mainly on the family of Kansas farmers who get locked in a deadly game of survival with the Critters. One of them is the always reliable Dee Wallace Stone, who I've always though was as cute as a button. In the words of Bozo The Clown-Wait! There's more! The warden from the prison the Criiters escaped from has hired two bounty hunters to hunt the Critters down and blast them to kingdom come(they will be paid in full as usual). The bounty hunters can change their identity at will, and one of them chooses to be a popular 80s hair rock singer called Johnny Steel. I don't know why I find that so amusing, but I do. Does anyone know where I can can that "Power Of The Night" song he sings in the film? The movie must have been trying to promote this guy's singing career or something coz that song seems to be the only one any of the characters listen to. The other bounty hunter can't make up his mind who he wants to be, so he keeps changing. He spends most of his time looking like the hero's dimwitted friend, Charlie(who would become the only character to appear in all 4 Criiters films). This movie was made in the days when the PG-13 rating was still fairly new and was alot less wimpy than it is today. The violence just about pushes the PG-13 rating about as far as it can. Basically, I would wholeheartedly suggest to you all to relive some fond(or bad) childhood memories by experiencing Critters again now that it's on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gremlins?, March 25, 2006
This review is from: Critters (DVD)
The film is based in a tiny town in the middle of nowhere.

Nothing ever much happens and you could just drop dead of boredom.

Then the 'Crites' land and start to eat everything that's not nailed down.

Low to the ground, built for speed, darts that immobilise their prey laced over their heads, the tiny predators feast and get BIG.

Someones on their tail, a couple of face changing bounty hunter aliens who are sent to kill them off, worlds have been consumed when they have go out of hand before.

It comes down to a young boy who enlists their help and leads them to the critters - no one wants to believe him - silly them.

This is the film Gremlins would have been if they hadn't made Gizmo look so cute - they bite!

Classy film with snazzy monsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun fun fun, December 19, 2004
This review is from: Critters (DVD)
The one word to sum up this movie is FUN. This is an instant classic, no doubt about it.

I'm sure by now everyone knows the plot. Almost like "Deadly Spawn" but these creatures have hair. Space Alien Creature fur ball things come to earth and begin to fest on humans. Alien hunters come to stop them and the town drunk gets to be the hero. Nuf said!

The idea for the "Critter" is quite ingenious. You have an animal about the size of a basketball, covered in long fur, rows upon rows of razor sharp teeth, feet and hands when they want to extend them, poison tipped needles on their back that can be shot at victims, and they are also quite humorous.

This is probably the best one in the series but part 2 gives it a run for its money. Part 3 & 4, to me, just fell a little short but they are all extremly fun to watch. But the best scene of course is in part 2 when all the critters combine into 1 huge ball and roll over people. Classic!!!

Anywho, buy this DvD if your looking for a fun movie to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another 3 star review from Horrorflicker ..., March 18, 2000
By 
horrorflicker@hotmail.com (In front of my computer) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Critters [VHS] (VHS Tape)
First of all, let me get this straight - THIS IS NOT A HORROR FILM. However, I like comedys too, and this is quite a good sci-fi comedy.
There are a few extremely funny lines in it, but mainly it's what you see that amuses you.
So if you see this film selling cheap (like I did), go buy it. You'll lagugh ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Critter 1 in the Buss., April 6, 2004
By 
J. P. Suhr "Slagar" (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Critters (DVD)
The best horror movie I have ever seen. If you like action there is plenty of it. Critter is horror but it also has some fun parts in it. Like when crit says they have weapons. The other says so what the wife blast him to bits with her rifle. The other Krite says the f word and rolls away. Don Opper is wonderfull as Charley. Bradly brown is adorable as a little boy. The funnet horror movie since Gremlins. If you like this there other three. Note 3 and 4 are not as good as 1 and 2. Only 2 people get killed during all of three.
If you want to she lots of gore you second one you want. Critters was and alway will be best exitent horror series ever written. There should not of stop making them. If you are really sensitive you should not watch these film. There was this one guy who review Critters 4. There was one guy that saw Critters 4 that cried for 3 hours after he finished watching them.
The krites are evil like the gremlins but not a smart they do some dumb things. Eatting and drink inatimate objects one thing that is done in Critters 1 2 and 3. A good series funny and hillarious. I recetly purchsed these 4 in DVD format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get ready for an early dinner special!, August 16, 2005
By 
This review is from: Critters (DVD)
Without a doubt this is one of those fluke hits in the 80's. I mean you have hair ball monsters that can eat just about anything, rolling around, and man-handling a farm. Its stupid beyond anything yes, but it also maintained a horror element. Something that diffenly would get lost on the rest of the movies in the series. Few people will tell you the sequel was better than the first, but personally i liked the 2nd one better. This though is still dang good, but nothing like the epic fight that would be in the next movie. So get the dvd and enjoy a movie that was made when movies were good. They could tell a story, entertain....without the overblown and sometimes embarassing effects of CGI now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "They have weapons???? F##&!!!!", April 8, 2008
By 
This review is from: Critters (DVD)
B-movies seem to have a special place in my heart. This was no excpetion. Another one of those 80's campy sci-fi movies that makes you wonder why you like this movie and how come you haven't changed the channel, lol.

Basically, this is about interstellar furballs known as the Crites. They are pure eating machines. They also have porcupine like spines on their backs that they can shoot out and paralyze anything or anyone. Bounty Hunters from another world chase the Crites throughout the galaxy and locate them on Earth. These bounty hunters are like shape-shifters. They come to earth with no face and they can copy whoever they look at. One in particular copies the face of a rockstar it sees on the T.V. Another copies the town drunk; Charlie. The Crites eventually terrorize the quiet farm town and the Brown family on their farm. The Bounty Hunters in the meantime blow up anything that moves (not including people) in there search for the Crites. How times do you hear them say," We want the Crites!"

All in all this is a good movie. You gotta love those cute little critters! One time (not at bandcamp) they join together like transformers and create this huge critter. It's also funny to watch them communicate with each other. Apparently their language can be translated to english :)

The DVD comes with an alternate ending as well as widescreen and full screen formats. Another great addition to the DVD library.

My favorite part is when the Critters terrorize the Brown family on their farm. When the Critters have them trapped in a bedroom and Jay Brown (Billy Green Bush from Jason Goes to Hell) fires a shotgun, they Critters seem shocked and one says," They have guns?" Another say no, and another shot is fired by the father and kills one of the Critters. That same Critter that wondered, then said a expeditive that I can't repeat. Lets just say it's the curse on the top of the list, lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Critters (1986)
Critters (1986) by Stephen Herek
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.