Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars perfect size and price.
We bought 6 qt programmable one , it looked awsome, but was huge on the counter, and for us, so I bought this from walmart for 14$ with carrier , I enjoyed using it, make enough food for 2 people for 2 days or more. cooked everything on high for 4h and it was done. my intake on it is that when it reach a boiling points it spells, so don't fill it to the edge. also I wish...
Published on March 17, 2008 by love to cook

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks hot, cooks hotter!
I loved the look of this crock pot. When I opened it, though, I saw that the stoneware insert is a different color red than the pot. The pot is blazing red and the stoneware is sort of mauve-ish. That's not as important as the function, however.

OK, I turned it on high to get started, and it absolutely BOILED. I turned it down to low and it STILL BOILED!! I...
Published on December 3, 2007 by Karen D.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks hot, cooks hotter!, December 3, 2007
By 
Karen D. (Reno, NV USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crock-Pot 4-qt. Oval Crock-Pot
I loved the look of this crock pot. When I opened it, though, I saw that the stoneware insert is a different color red than the pot. The pot is blazing red and the stoneware is sort of mauve-ish. That's not as important as the function, however.

OK, I turned it on high to get started, and it absolutely BOILED. I turned it down to low and it STILL BOILED!! I will never be able to go away for the day and leave it cooking, and that was the purpose of having a crock pot.

I am disappointed, I must say. I have never had a crock pot and I thought Rival, being the original, would be the best. Perhaps the others are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wish I could give a zero rating, December 3, 2007
This review is from: Crock-Pot 4-qt. Oval Crock-Pot
I love cooking with my crockpot. I bought this one last Christmas to replace my old one. BIG MISTAKE. The first problem is, like a previous review stated, it cooks too hot too fast. You can't put a meal in it in the morning and leave it there until the evening or it will be burned to a crisp. I never use the high setting either because it's too hot. Second, the ceramic insert had a flaw that caused it to leak. Every time I cooked with it, I ended up having to scrape incinerated food out of the metal base afterward. Third, the plastic handles (on the top and side) all broke. This thing isn't even a year old yet and it's completely useless. My advice is spend a little extra money and get something nicer. If you don't you're just going to have to replace it soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Low" setting is too hot, November 19, 2007
By 
This review is from: Crock-Pot 4-qt. Oval Crock-Pot
I've had this crock pot for a year and attempted to make about 40 dishes with it. The problem I consistently have is that it cooks too hot and too fast on the "low" setting. I've never used the "high" setting. In the beginning I thought it was me and that I wasn't using it properly, so I kept trying. But still, every meat item was terribly overdone and dry. Vegetables turn into complete mush. Whenever I made stuffed peppers or cabbage rolls they looked beautiful, but I was unable to take them out of the crock pot because when I used the tongs they totally fell apart. I found out that 6-8 hours was way too long and that 3-4 was about perfect. So I started going home during my lunch break and turning it on at that time (instead of in the morning) and that usually works pretty well.

I don't know if I have a defective unit or not. No one else I know has this particular model so I can't talk to them. I want to get a new one but I'm hesitant to get a Rival. I don't know if this is a widespread problem but it is what happened with mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars perfect size and price., March 17, 2008
This review is from: Crock-Pot 4-qt. Oval Crock-Pot
We bought 6 qt programmable one , it looked awsome, but was huge on the counter, and for us, so I bought this from walmart for 14$ with carrier , I enjoyed using it, make enough food for 2 people for 2 days or more. cooked everything on high for 4h and it was done. my intake on it is that when it reach a boiling points it spells, so don't fill it to the edge. also I wish this size comes programmable. cleaning was easy, easy to carry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, January 25, 2008
This review is from: Crock-Pot 4-qt. Oval Crock-Pot
I haven't had any problems with mine cooking too hot like the other reviewers. It works normally and I have cooked some very tender meat in it. I just wish it came with a carrying case. I also wish they made this size in the programmable version, the SmartPot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Too Hot to Handle, February 22, 2008
By 
Angel Face (Benicia, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crock-Pot 4-qt. Oval Crock-Pot
I thought I was doing something wrong. Everything I cooked came out dry and overdone. What a relief to read so many others had the same experience. Thank goodness I never used it for a "company" meal. My 25 year old little crock pot works perfectly, it was just a bit small for our family, but I'll be using it again and try deep frying in my Rival...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Too Hot - get a different small slow cooker, January 16, 2012
This review is from: Crock-Pot 4-qt. Oval Crock-Pot
Recently ordered this 4 qt crock pot since our larger one was too big for us now. I have loved crock pots for 30+years so I was sticking with the brand I knew and trusted. MISTAKE! When I noticed that the first small one I bought did not have a 'warm' button I returned it and ordered this one. It is always TOO HOT on the OUTSIDE of the cooker if it is on at all. I am so surprised that Crock Pot sells this. Where is their quality control? Even on 'medium' you can burn yourself if you touch the outside of this cooker. My advice is "find a different brand" for this size. I will for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.