Customer Reviews


848 Reviews
5 star:
 (518)
4 star:
 (156)
3 star:
 (49)
2 star:
 (42)
1 star:
 (83)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,135 of 1,147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the $120 ones
I really shopped around when looking at crock pots because they are expensive. I had heard mixed reviews all around about the cooking temps on some of these being too high or too low or some models automatically shutting off before they are done cooking or even in some cases the electronics lock up to the point of having to unplug and leave unplugged for an hour...this...
Published on February 23, 2012 by Aaron J. Robbins

versus
250 of 293 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cooks at a rolling boil
I wanted a slow cooker with a timer & keep-warm feature. I liked the look of this one because it has a convenient touchscreen & long cook time, similar to the more expensive Cook's Illustrated recommended crock-pot. And the latched travel lid seemed like a cute feature.

I assumed that cooking would be similar to the more expensive model. Apparently not. This...
Published on February 10, 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,135 of 1,147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the $120 ones, February 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCCPVL610-S Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker (Kitchen)
I really shopped around when looking at crock pots because they are expensive. I had heard mixed reviews all around about the cooking temps on some of these being too high or too low or some models automatically shutting off before they are done cooking or even in some cases the electronics lock up to the point of having to unplug and leave unplugged for an hour...this doesn't do any of that. We've used it about 15 times since we bought it (often several times a week) and love throwing a whole meal in there in the morning and coming home after work to a prepared meal. This is truly a fix it and forget it crock pot! I will leave 2 comments that reference some other bad reviews on here:

1. This thing stinks - Yes, the first time you use it, it does have a weird plastic type smell that even smells in the air as you cook. This smell will go away literally after the first use. Washing it first won't help. It didn't affect the taste of the food in the least.
2. The warm feature is too hot - It is a slow cooker, so when it switches to warm, it doesn't immediately turn off like your oven. The automatic feature of it switching to warm once the timer is done is really cool. It will keep the food HOT, but not boiling. I've left it on warm for about 1-2 hours before because I wasn't ready to eat and it kept it at serving temperature, not cooking temperature. Our old crockpot would let it get too tepid to be considered a "warm" setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


367 of 389 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Crock Pot!, February 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCCPVL610-S Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker (Kitchen)
I use a crock pot a minimum of once per week. I have had one for several years that worked, but would get so hot (even on the "keep warm setting") that the liquid would scorch along the sides of the dish. Because it was the only crock pot I had ever owned, I thought that was how they all worked.... I decided to get a new one and was looking for one with the automatic timer that would cook, then switch to "keep warm." I purchased this one, expecting it to cook the same way. After cooking one meal, it was obvious how terrible my previous crock pot was. This one cooks evenly, never scorches, and the casing is surprisingly lightweight! The oval shape also makes it easier for me to store. This might be one of my favorite purchases ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


300 of 339 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Slow Cooker, January 4, 2012
By 
Brian's Reviews (Vernon, CT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCCPVL610-S Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker (Kitchen)
I chose this model partly because it won the editors choice from Wired magazine. It also fit my needs of a nice slow cooker with programmable time and keep warm mode. The price is great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


164 of 188 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted!, January 27, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCCPVL610-S Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker (Kitchen)
I was looking for a crock pot with two features - controlled by an electronic touch pad instead of a knob (those knobs fall off!) and a locking feature, for easy transport. This was the only one I found with both those features!

I've used it once a week for a couple of months, and it's worked perfectly. It's nice that it keeps track of how long the food has been cooking - my old crock pot couldn't do that.

Please note - don't lock the cover while the food is cooking!

I have absolutely no complaints about this crock pot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


144 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product!, January 26, 2012
By 
G. Harrell (El Dorado, AR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCCPVL610-S Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker (Kitchen)
What can I say. As with most Crock-Pot products, it does a great job. The exterior is attractive and easy to clean. It cooks evenly and at the correct temperature. If you need to transport your food somewhere after cooking, the clamp down cover, with gasket, eliminates the chance of spills. Cooking time is easily programmed, and after cooking is completed it automatically switches to "warm" in order to keep your food at proper serving temperature. The removable "crock" is easy to clean. All in all, this is an excellent value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


250 of 293 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cooks at a rolling boil, February 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCCPVL610-S Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker (Kitchen)
I wanted a slow cooker with a timer & keep-warm feature. I liked the look of this one because it has a convenient touchscreen & long cook time, similar to the more expensive Cook's Illustrated recommended crock-pot. And the latched travel lid seemed like a cute feature.

I assumed that cooking would be similar to the more expensive model. Apparently not. This heats quickly, but the temperature is MUCH too high. A full 212-degrees F! Sadly, I will be returning this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


206 of 241 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome item, December 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCCPVL610-S Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker (Kitchen)
This item came after my rival burnt up. I read all the ratings and did some really hard research. I picked this one after I got done I have to say I am not disappointed I use crockpots all the time. I needed one for a family of seven and was a work horse.This one does the job very very very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 104 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crock Pot purchase from Amazon, December 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCCPVL610-S Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker (Kitchen)
It's much like advertised. Not real fancy but a good basic cooker. Watch out for the cooking times listed in the recipe booklet, way too long. We found the food tastes better if you cut down the cooking times by 40%. Chicken is kind of "mushy", but beef and pork are good. Like the removable lid and porceline liner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing SLOW about this COOKER, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCCPVL610-S Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker (Kitchen)
I am presently making Sunday dinner in this slow cooker. Three pounds of grass-fed corned beef, carrots, new potatoes, onions and celery with lots of garlic. I started the beef last night because it was frozen and let it cook, with water, overnight. When I got up this morning the pot was bubbling away on the "low heat" setting. I added the vegetables thinking that the boiling would slow down with the addition of the extra food, and it did for a while. But a half hour later the whole pot was boiling away again. Now this is a full pot of food, maybe an inch or two down from the rim, and I say that because I know it can make a difference in how a slow cooker heats the food if it is only half full. Being concerned that the food was boiling and not slow cooking and thinking that maybe there was something wrong with the controls, I switched the setting to "high heat". Ten minutes later it continued to boil. No discernible difference. So then I switched to the "keep warm" setting, came back to check a half hour later and it was STILL boiling. I had to turn the unit off or end up serving overcooked food.

Did I get a defective unit? Possibly. But I cannot recommend. Mine is going back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but runs hot, March 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCCPVL610-S Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker (Kitchen)
As others noted, this does run "hot," even with large batches. I made a huge batch of sauerbraten and put it on low -- it was done in less than 6 hours (falling-apart done). To be "set and forget," the low setting needs to be, well, LOW. It will still be very useful for a lot of my cooking, such as large batches of bolognese or chicken stock, but for anything to cook overnight or while I'm at work, I'll need another cooker. I've owned several slow cookers over the years, and this one isn't slow enough.

The "carry" clips are useful, the stoneware is easy to clean, and it looks nice. So for the price not a bad price for a not-so-slow-cooker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 285 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.