Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for parties
What a wonderful idea, for a food warmer. When I stumbled across this, I wondered why no one had thought of it before. Great for cocktail parties or family get togethers where you want to have multiple hot dishes or dips in an easy to use single appliance. Since each crock holds only one quart, it is rather limiting for dinner side dishes such as green beans, or soups,...
Published on September 26, 2011 by Born in Kansas

versus
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Big Crock
Pros:
Quick to heat (1 hour from cold)
Convenient station for party
Nice sized crocks (1 bag of lil'smokies, etc)
Rotates in place

Cons:
Very large, won't fit in any standard cupboards
Too hot, in 2 hours water was up to 180F.

Bottom Line:
If you entertain small groups with hot dips and foods frequently, this might...
Published on September 20, 2011 by Eric T


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for parties, September 26, 2011
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCRTD305-BS 1-Quart Triple Dipper Food Warmer with Portable Lid, Stainless Steel (Kitchen)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
What a wonderful idea, for a food warmer. When I stumbled across this, I wondered why no one had thought of it before. Great for cocktail parties or family get togethers where you want to have multiple hot dishes or dips in an easy to use single appliance. Since each crock holds only one quart, it is rather limiting for dinner side dishes such as green beans, or soups, etc. But it is perfect for dips and hors d'ouerves such as nacho cheese dip, bbq meatballs, spinach dip, etc.

Features include a separate on/off "warming" heat control for each crock, which makes it handy for choosing to either heat a crock or to use it for something cold. When I used it, I pre-heated my dips in a microwave and used the triple dipper as a "holding tank" warmer. And there is no problem with cold crocks next to "warmed" crocks since the heating elements are isolated to the crock's insert surfaces.

Another very handy feature is that this has a built in lazy susan, allowing users to rotate it to the crock they want to dip out of. You can't even tell that there is a rotating base, by looking at the unit, since it is such a well integrated feature. Besides the handy see through glass lids with small handles on top, there is also a traveling plastic snap-on shield that allows you to transport it with contents pre-heated, without fear of spills, since the one piece shield snaps down over the glass lids to keep them in place. And when it is not being used to restrain the lids on each crock, it can be used as a three compartment serving bowl for chips and crackers to set next to the unit. And it is large enough to hold a respectable amount of chips/crackers. It would also be very functional for separating veggies for dipping (carrot sticks, celery, and brocolli).

The only questionable feature is the triangular cubby holes which fill in the spaces between each crock, around the perimeter. These cubby holes have removable inserts, making for easy to clean. However, I have not figured out what to use those for, other than possibly plastic forks or spoons. They are not all that functional for edibles due to the depth and shape of the inserts.

Another thing you need to realize is that this is a pretty large appliance and will have to be stored in a place where space is not at a premium and most likely not in a standard cupboard since it is about 19" wide. This can't be considered a negative necessarily, because, by it's very nature of being utilitarian for its intended use, this has to be the size that it is.

The first time I used this for a party, I had many comments and questions about where I found it. Ladies, especially, were saying "wow, how cool is that....I want one."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Big Crock, September 20, 2011
By 
Eric T "ejt" (Marion, IA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCRTD305-BS 1-Quart Triple Dipper Food Warmer with Portable Lid, Stainless Steel (Kitchen)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Pros:
Quick to heat (1 hour from cold)
Convenient station for party
Nice sized crocks (1 bag of lil'smokies, etc)
Rotates in place

Cons:
Very large, won't fit in any standard cupboards
Too hot, in 2 hours water was up to 180F.

Bottom Line:
If you entertain small groups with hot dips and foods frequently, this might be worth while. However, I find it awkward to store, and despite warnings that you shouldn't cook your food in the crocks, it heats water near to boiling (too hot for most dips). It is definitely hot enough to cook your food, and it only has one setting "warm".

I would rather use a couple small crocks that will fit in cupboards, and if I leave the house with it, I would try to limit it to one crock anyway, so 3 is a little overkill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish the warming pots were bigger, February 15, 2012
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCRTD305-BS 1-Quart Triple Dipper Food Warmer with Portable Lid, Stainless Steel (Kitchen)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Length:: 1:16 Mins

It's a good little warmer. It would be nice if the warming pots were bigger.

The warmer also took a little longer than expected to actually warm the contents. We were melting chocolate for a fondue dip, and it took a while for it to melt the chocolate.

So just remember that it's a warmer not a cooker.

The cable storage is nice so you're not tripping over the cable and can use the warmer to serve with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great party server!, November 22, 2011
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCRTD305-BS 1-Quart Triple Dipper Food Warmer with Portable Lid, Stainless Steel (Kitchen)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
I very recently had an office party at my house and used the dipper. I had chocolate in one crock, cheese in another crock, and no bean chili in the last one. I filled the non heated sections with strawberries, bread sticks, and gourmet crackers. What a hit! My guests were truly impressed and marveled at this wonderful appliance! Clean up was a breeze and i can't wait to use it for Thanksgiving!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crock Pots with Flair!, September 21, 2011
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCRTD305-BS 1-Quart Triple Dipper Food Warmer with Portable Lid, Stainless Steel (Kitchen)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Somehow the name Crock Pot is too rustic for this elegant ensemble that will do justice to your special dips, keeping your luscious concoctions warm and toasty. The unit is beautifully designed with three black crock pots each holding a quart, each pot with a clear lid. Another lid snaps over the unit which prevents the pots from bouncing around in the car, let alone projecting if you are taking your goodies elsewhere. (One time I was taking a platter of stuffed eggs to a party, had to slam on my brakes to avoid some jerk and the eggs ended up on the windshield). The top can double as a serving plate for crackers or raw veggies and the unit has three pockets which can each be filled with bread sticks, celery, whatever. A quick twist of the unit spins it around like a Lazy Susan. The Triple Dipper will satisfy a lot of hungry party goers while looking scrumptious and elegant.

Bear in mind that the Triple Dipper is for keeping dips warm, not for cooking as there is only one setting- warm- for each pot. Any uncooked meat must be cooked before putting it into a crock and any dip can be warmed in the microwave, right in the crock pot before putting in place on the Triple Dipper. We tested out the Dipper for this review by creating a very simple but delicious re-fried bean dip, warmed it in the microwave to melt the cheese then placed it back in the Dipper where it stayed warm until we gobbled it up.

1 can re-fried beans
3 tbs chili paste
1/2 cup cubed sharp cheddar cheese.

As a future experiment, we will try making a cheese fondue in a fondue pot, then transfer it to a crock in the Dipper to see if it will keep warm enough to prevent the wine and cheese from separating. We will append that experience here.

The beauty of the Triple Dipper is that everything is organized and together so you can tote it to a party, plug it back in and let `er rip. The Dipper is BIG- three quart crock pots will hold an awful lot of dip and you will give the guests a super grazing area with all the necessities close at hand. You could, of course, put an entree in one pot, vegetables in the second one, and say a chocolate fondue in the third for a complete dinner. Remember, though, the Dipper is a warmer, not a cooker and is not a substitute for a conventional Crock Pot.

The Dipper won't fit in ordinary cabinets and is rather heavy to carry. So the bigness and heaviness of the Dipper need to be considered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, but won't be the right fit for everyone, September 23, 2011
By 
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCRTD305-BS 1-Quart Triple Dipper Food Warmer with Portable Lid, Stainless Steel (Kitchen)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
First things first. Despite the Crock-Pot name, this is not a cooker - this is for warming foods and keeping them warm. That said, it really is a good concept and a handy thing for those who entertain a lot. I didn't have any immediate soirees planned, so just tested the warming function with a few items at home. The right out of the fridge soy milk was still rather tepid even after 1/2 hour, but the hot tap water heated up quicker and stayed hot as long as it was turned on. I was able to remove the ceramic units with my bare hands without being overly hot and in fear of burns. I would definitely recommend pre-heating whatever you're going to serve in this and then just use the units to keep it warm - it did do that quite nicely.

The black base is solid (and heavy!) and has three separate wells to hold the ceramic dishes (they come with clear lids). I was able to get just shy of four cups of liquid in the ceramic container. Each heating unit has its own on/off switch, so you can heat one, two or three things. Between the heating units/wells there are smaller wells that hold a removable serving container that is perfect for holding condiments, i.e. if you're serving chili/soup items you could fill them with cheese, onions, tortilla chips, etc. The base is a Lazy Susan, so guests can easily spin it around. The cord has a nifty storage spot where it can be tucked into when not needed. When you are ready to take your items on the road, the plastic cover slips on easily with dips to fit the cover handles and keep them from being jostled - the cover itself can be turned upside down and be used as a serving tray for veggies or chips.

This is a great product IF you do a lot of entertaining and IF you have the storage space for it - this puppy is huge. One other thing to consider is if you are planning on taking this *on the road* to other functions is the proximity of your kitchen to where you park your car. I.e., if the kitchen is right next to the garage as compared to hauling this heavy item down a flight of stairs or two - this really needs two hands to carry it even when it is empty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crock-Pot-Pot-Pot!!, September 21, 2011
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCRTD305-BS 1-Quart Triple Dipper Food Warmer with Portable Lid, Stainless Steel (Kitchen)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Let me start off by saying that this is not a traditional Crock-Pot. There are only two settings, off and warm. Instructions suggest that you shouldn't run it for more than four hours, and it's not the kind of thing you can actually cook with. So, this won't replace your conventional Crock-Pot, but that isn't what it's meant to do. Also, be aware that this thing is LARGE. It is too big to fit through the door of a standard size kitchen cabinet. At the widest point, the Crock-Pot is about 19 inches wide. The openings in my cabinet doors, for example, are just under 16 inches wide. While the Lazy Susan spinner is really cool, a linear layout would have been easier for most people to store.

If you don't have space issues and are okay with the size, this can be a great addition to your entertainment collection. The one quart pots are the perfect size for dips or fondue, and the separate controllers for each unit enable you to hold hot and cold dips. The side bins are a little small for chips or food items, but it's perfect to hold serving spoons or fondue sticks. The travel cover has three compartments, so you can put chips and fruit and vegetables in the serving tray, or whatever best complements your party selections. The cover locks on well so this is great for travel, although it can be a little heavy. I love the Lazy Susan spinning feature, but if you don't want to spin, there is a lock that holds the Crock-Pot in place. Also, the cord can be pushed into the base for easy storage.

Ultimately, only people who entertain regularly would really have a use for a set like that. But, if cabinet space is not a premium and you entertain often, or you want to have the most impressive covered dish at the office social, this will be a great addition to your kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, September 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCRTD305-BS 1-Quart Triple Dipper Food Warmer with Portable Lid, Stainless Steel (Kitchen)
I generally make two dips at minimum when I am bringing dips to a party & I am always faced with carrying two different crockpots. I recently threw a friend a shower and knew I wouldn't have my husbands assistance for carrying items so I wanted a more convienant way to carry my food. I purchased this and LOVE IT! I made the same amount of dips I normally do and they fit perfectly, plus although it was heavy it was alot easier than making multiple trips. The whole unit rotates which is nice if it is on a big table for a party and the cord retracts back into the base which is super convienant. I love this product and am 110% satisfied. I used the three little cup spaces to store the serving spoons for dipping but I am sure you could find alot of uses!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars easy to use and works perfectly!, October 17, 2011
By 
bOoKwOrM (United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCRTD305-BS 1-Quart Triple Dipper Food Warmer with Portable Lid, Stainless Steel (Kitchen)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
First of all, let's get to the minor flaws. This crock pot was slightly larger than what I thought it'd be, so it wasn't as easy to carry. That's pretty much it for the negatives. Everything else about this product works for me. It kept my food warm for a loooong time, and it definitely saved time(no more reheating food that's been ignored on the table!)during dinnertime. Plus, the handles are easy to grip, so you can carry this with ease(just know that's it's kind of heavy).

So, if you don't mind the size and the weight, this crockpot can be a good addition to your kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!!!, November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot SCRTD305-BS 1-Quart Triple Dipper Food Warmer with Portable Lid, Stainless Steel (Kitchen)
Initiated an office fondue party and brought this crock pot. It was a hit. Plastic cover holds pots and lids in place during transport. Individual ceramic crock pots lift out, so I was able to place them in the microwave to start my caramel and chocolate sauces & was also convenient for cleaning. Three people at the party wanted to know where they could get one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.