Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a "monster" movie
What an oddly sweet and funny "monster" movie. The title, of course, is very misleading. (The original title wasn't much of an improvement, though more to the point.)
Yes, this particular crocodile is bigger than normal and she did dash through a building, but she isn't Godzilla-big nor does she possess any special powers.
The story involves several converging...
Published 23 months ago by Einsatz

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I didnt expect much...
I didn't expect much from this movie by the title. I did expect a huge Crock killing people though. It was more of a decent sized Crock on the loose creating a disturbance.
There is a woman in one scene that whines and cries so annoyingly and for so long that I almost had to turn the movie off.

This movie sucks.
Published 19 months ago by Richard T. Lowe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a "monster" movie, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Croczilla (DVD)
What an oddly sweet and funny "monster" movie. The title, of course, is very misleading. (The original title wasn't much of an improvement, though more to the point.)
Yes, this particular crocodile is bigger than normal and she did dash through a building, but she isn't Godzilla-big nor does she possess any special powers.
The story involves several converging scenarios. There's a man who buys some crocodiles allowing the owner to believe they're going to a zoo (he actually plans on serving them to customers). The BIG croc in question is loath to become anyone's meal and escapes. An irate young woman (I found her funny, some might not), comes across the escaped croc and loses her handbag (containing her life savings in cash) down the gaping maw. She tries enlisting the help of the police (here her tactics prove to be quite persuasive through sheer persistence alone), and ends up with a guy who's notorious for not being able to shoot straight. Paths criss-cross, hunters get involved once the stomach contents are well known; it's oddly endearing how these strange people end up impacting each other's lives. I liked this movie. But it is less about the crocodile and more about the various people in hot pursuit. Yes, things get a little bloody from time to time and yes, there is a skinny dipping scene with a group of little boys in the same lake that the crocodile heads for. It makes for a tense moment.

It's a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MILLION DOLLAR CROCODILE, July 24, 2013
By 
This review is from: Croczilla (DVD)
As mentioned in other reviews, the title and cover of this DVD are VERY misleading. Don't expect this to be a Japanese kaiju movie or gory creature feature with a giant croc eating everyone it meets. The original title was Million Dollar Crocodile--a more apt title as the crocodile swallows a purse containing 100,000 euros, which is equivalent to 1 million in Chinese money. It's an enjoyable sort of action/comedy/family flick with a good story, interesting characters, and a nicely rendered CGI crocodile. It provides some thrills and some laughs and, despite the subject matter, maintains a lighthearted tone throughout. That being said, it probably isn't for everyone as it is Chinese dubbed into English (and not dubbed well), does have a little bit of blood, and has full-frontal nude scenes of 10-year-old boys who go skinny dipping (the nudity is not salacious in any way). It also has mild profanity (numerous uses of the s-word, but no f-bombs).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I didnt expect much..., July 27, 2013
This review is from: Croczilla (DVD)
I didn't expect much from this movie by the title. I did expect a huge Crock killing people though. It was more of a decent sized Crock on the loose creating a disturbance.
There is a woman in one scene that whines and cries so annoyingly and for so long that I almost had to turn the movie off.

This movie sucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit long, but an absolute blast!, March 6, 2013
This review is from: Croczilla (DVD)
Don't let the idiotic title fool you. It's NOT a made-for-Sy Fy-channel original. It's an extremely well made, very funny Chinese creature feature that was called "Million Dollar Crocodile" in China, but whose title was daftly changed to "Croczilla" in order to appeal to the dumbing down of American filmgoers (the same people who love dreck like Michael Bay and the "American Pie" films).

This film was a bit too long, but it had likeable characters (the main woman was annoying, yes, but I liked her spunk, and she was funny) and really good CGI (much better than in a lot of American films). There was a sense of fun permeating this film that's missing from a lot of recent creature features. The humor in it was just so odd! Definitely one of the better giant animal films to come along. Highly recommended, especially if you're in the mood for something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy Movie, July 12, 2013
By 
Linda Ayla (FORT WAINWRIGHT, ALASKA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Croczilla (DVD)
It was a cheesy movie, but the picture and sound were great. It was okay movie to watch, but I do wish I could have rented it before buying it. I wouldn't have bought it if I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Friendly gator, January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Croczilla (DVD)
The movie wasnt really a horror movie because the crocadile new who his enemies were and who were his friends were people that tryed to be violent to the gator were his enemies. I still liked it because the Gator showed both sides of him the violent & friendly side
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CROC GOES WILD, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Croczilla (DVD)
I wasn't as exciting as I thought. I wanted more action less fake parts. The maker needed George Lucas' help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Croczero, August 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Croczilla (DVD)
To put is mildly lousy. Poor acting, bad storyline, very bad CG. I am being kind by giving it one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars worthless, May 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Croczilla (DVD)
as someone who absolutely loves creature features, this is by far the dumbest movie ever. boring, bad dialogue and a crummy croc! don't bother!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a monster flick, April 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Croczilla (DVD)
I enjoyed this movie, altho the title is a little misleading. It is about a very large croc. The actors did a good job and the filming was ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Croczilla
Croczilla by Li Sheng Lin (DVD - 2013)
$14.93 $8.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.