Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Crooked Hearts
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc CaseLangVeirs Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 25, 2005
As usual, movies like this are pleasant surprizes. The plot really didn't make much sense, as the whole "we are family no matter what" theme never really gelled. What makes this movie a keeper is the feast for the eyes of Vincent D'Onofrio, the feast of the heart-strings of Noah Wylie and the charm of Juliette Lewis. I am forever amazed at the talent of Mr. D'Onofrio, as I only knew him from Law & Order Criminal Intent. Now I keep coming across gems he's made, and each character is different and facinating. Kudos to a real actor!
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 1999
The cast features up-and-comers who have up-and-come, like Peter Berg (here Pete Berg), Noah Wyle, Joshua Jackson, and more. It also has Jennifer Jason Leigh doing her usual fine job with a limited part, considering she's second billing in the film. My favorite line is JJL's to Peter Berg (her boyfriend as the film unfolds) when he talks about how weird his family is. She replies "unlike you, I'm not intolerant of weird." Worth seeing, especially for JJL fans.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2006
All the pieces come together in this film of complex intra- and interpersonal relationships. The story line, character development, directing, sets, and most of all acting are well balanced and of high quality so the mind is not pre-occupied with "what is wrong with this picture" thinking. Instead, the viewer can enjoy and engage with the film. "Crooked Hearts" is complex enough that subsequent viewings reveal new dimensions, so the investment in purchasing the DVD is a good value.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2012
I think this film had good intentions but did not quite get there. This is a great example of misusing of a talented cast with poor writing. Most of us have had the experience of having members of our family do things that hurt us that does not make sense, but in this film, many things are not explained that could have made it a better film.
"Dysfunctional" does not seem to cover the Warren family. No family member seems to have a conventional mentality. Mom is in denial and exhibits no self-esteem or control over her household. Dad has a very high opinion of himself preaching the importance of family yet keeps letters from his mistress (some unopened) for his sons to find. He seems to embrace his children's failures to make himself feel more superior.
The daughter Cassie is a dimwitted narcoleptic that takes no precautions fully knowing she can fall asleep at the drop of a hat. Charlie (Vincent D'onofrio) the oldest son, hates his father for stealing a girl he admires and for his hypocrisy of not putting his family first. Charlie shows his anger for his father buy burning down the family home and sleeping with his brother's girlfriend. Tom (Peter Berg)the middle son, is a college dropout trying to get over his girl friend who is pregnant by Charlie. The youngest son (Noah Wyle),is weak and unsure of himself. He is embarrassed by his father's indiscretion. The boys burn the letters to save their father's secret, but she has known about the letters for years. While burning the letters a wind scatters the ashes near a gas station and the youngest son chases the ashes into the path of a truck! It is extremely slow in some parts (using the fast forward button helped a few times). Crooked Hearts is not a film I regret seeing, but I would not want to see again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2011
I blame the dad. It is his fault for all of the pain and lost the family went threw. If he wasn't having a secret romance with Janetta then his oldest son wouldn't have found out and have so much hate tours his dad. His oldest son wouldn't have burned their house down. His youngest son wouldn't have been hit by a car and died. Because he was trying to burn the love letters between his father and Janetta. This is a sad story about a family going threw so much pain all because of the fathers secret life.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2012
Crooked Hearts is a cautionary tale of a reasonably loving but slightly dysfunctional family where the parents, in an attempt to nurture their children have, in fact, stifled them. However, one of them has a secret that, due to lack of communication and misunderstanding, eventually leads to tragedy when it is revealed. It is how they all deal with this heartbreak and their reactions to it and each other that makes for an interesting story. At first glance it appears to be a lighthearted film but it gets darker and more satisfying.

A clever insight into how good intentions can sometimes go horribly wrong.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2004
Writer/Director Michael Bortman brings us a movie which will be loved by everyone who feels that the number one thing you could ever do in your life is support your family. On the surface, that may not sound like such a bad thing. After all, everyone wants to be loved and supported by their family. However, "Crooked Hearts" goes WAY past that.
The movie follows the ups and downs (mostly downs) of the Warren family. The members of this family are the type of people who would support their brother or son even if they were a convicted serial child molester. That's how obsessive and blinding their family structure is. I could never feel connected to any of the characters in this film because only one of them seemed like a nice person. To make things worse, the one nice guy is presented to us as being weak and childish.
Almost everyone in the Warren family is dishonest and selfish. In fact, at one point in the movie, being an arsonist is presented to us as simply being a very minor character flaw. This pathetic situation spirals out of control until tragedy strikes the family in one of the absolute most manipulative scenes EVER put to film.
The acting is quite good. That shouldn't surprise anyone who glances at the list of cast members. However, anyone who believes that taking responsibility for your actions is a positive trait will not enjoy this movie. Its "ethical" stance is completely at odds with anyone who believes you should be honest, thoughtful and stand up for what you believe in.
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 1999
The film stars familiar faces like Joshua Jackson in Dawson's Creek, Noah Wylie from ER, Pete Berg from Chicago Hope, Vincent D'Onofrio from Men in Black, et.al. Convincing performance of Peter Coyote. One feels compassionate with Noah's character. Pete Berg was believable. Vincent was the villain-kinda hated him. The rest - good casting ensemble.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2007
This is the first time I saw Vincent D'Onofrio years ago and I became a fan. This is just one of many of his films I have added to my collection. It's also filled with many actors that have gone far in film and T.V.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
I bought the movie and watched it twice. It was so good I just had to read the book. I needed to know more about this crazy family. I wish the ending in the book had been used in the film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.99
$9.99
$5.58
$9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.