Customer Reviews


220 Reviews
5 star:
 (193)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crookedstar's promise
Two kits are born in the middle of a storm and Riverclan rejoices. The kits are two future warriors, destined for greatness. No cat is happier then their mother. Stormkit is her handsome, brave, little warrior and a Oakkit is the oldest and named after the oak that protected her in the storm while she was kitting. Then, Stormkit decides to take an adventure when he gets...
Published on July 13, 2011

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly bland but very informative
I had really expected this super edition to be as good as Bluestar's Prophecy, but found the characters rather lacking in personality. For once it seemed as if there was not enough trouble and chaos in this historic period in RiverClan's past. Crookedstar's life story was a good one with lots of potential, but I feel he was not paired up with a very interesting villain...
Published on July 28, 2011 by Haileyamandar


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crookedstar's promise, July 13, 2011
A Kid's Review
Two kits are born in the middle of a storm and Riverclan rejoices. The kits are two future warriors, destined for greatness. No cat is happier then their mother. Stormkit is her handsome, brave, little warrior and a Oakkit is the oldest and named after the oak that protected her in the storm while she was kitting. Then, Stormkit decides to take an adventure when he gets knocked into the river and brakes his jaw on a stone.

No longer the handsome kit, his mother casts him aside and demands that Hailstar cruelly renames her kit Crookedkit. Oakkit is the special one now but nothing stops Crookedkit from loving and supporting his brother. Oakpaw receives his warrior name Oakheart while Crookedpaw ramains an apprentice. But Crookedpaw is the fighter and hunter because secretly he's receiving special training from Mapleshade, a starclan cat, or so he thinks...

Then she asks him to be loyal to his clan above all other things... She asks him to Promise... Crookedpaw renamed Crookedjaw promises, of coarse he would be loyal. Why not promise it to receive training? But he doesn't know that promising means Mapleshade will slowly kill off his loved ones because they "distract" him from his loyalty. Then he discovers a dark secret about Mapleshade and Crookedjaw's world shatters.

I really enjoyed this book! Whats awesome about it is if you have read Bluestar's prophecy you know that there are some parts with Bluefur and Crookedjaw. In this book you see things from Crookedjaw's perspective not Bluefur. That's really cool and I recommend this book!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly bland but very informative, July 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had really expected this super edition to be as good as Bluestar's Prophecy, but found the characters rather lacking in personality. For once it seemed as if there was not enough trouble and chaos in this historic period in RiverClan's past. Crookedstar's life story was a good one with lots of potential, but I feel he was not paired up with a very interesting villain. In fact, the villain doesn't seem evil at all, just misunderstood and slightly ambitious - for what, I'm still unclear of. It was a character that seemed more of a red herring than the actual problem, if you get what I mean.

Still, this is a good read for dedicated Warriors fans. This takes you back to the days in the Warriors story where many juicy things happened! You'll find it just as informative as Bluestar's prophecy and make you appreciate the current characters even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, June 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought it was really wonderful, I actually cried in it. I felt as though I was in the book, fighting among the warriors of the forest. Absolutely wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars long live crookedstar!, August 10, 2012
i love warriors and this book was my favorite super edition. last year when the book came out i was so excited because riverclan rocks and kate cary is my favorite erin. crookedstars promise shows really how amazing warriors is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves greatness., July 27, 2011
Crookedstar's Promise gives some insight into the life of RiverClan and the life of the titular character, who is widely regarded in the books as one of the greatest leaders of all time. It's not as well written as Bluestar's Prophecy, but the more original plot twists more than make up for it. There is plenty of doom, sadness, and drama, and the romance is really sweet. Crookedstar loses the affection of his mother after the accident that disfigures his jaw and leaves the Clan, only return months later. As he struggles to be accepted back into the Clan, a stranger he assumes is a StarClan cat walks in his dreams and tells him that if he promises to be loyal to his Clan above all else, then he will become great. But the stranger uses this promise against Crookedstar, forcing him to watch as the cats he loves are killed in some way by the stranger, who is in this manner executing her revenge against RiverClan.

If you miss the good old days of Warriors where cats didn't have superpowers and StarClan was mysterious, but want something more current like the Dark Forest, then you will absolutely love Crookedstar's Promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such an amazing book, February 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is so amazingly well written. I cried multiple times because I felt so bad for the pain Crookedstar had to endure.it's so extremely amazing that I don't even know how to explain it. YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!! I will definitely be reading it again. It's wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Addition to the Warriors Series, December 1, 2014
By 
Ariel Wise (Jay, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crookedstar's Promise (Warriors Super Edition) (Paperback)
I'll admit that I'm a sucker for Riverclan, so after reading Bluestar's Prophecy I really wanted to know what else was going on across the river from Thunderclan's territory and this version did not disappoint!
We open to a storm washing away Riverclan's camp, setting the scene for the birth of our titular character and his littermate. The book follows his entire life, from his dramatic birth, through the tragedies and successes of his life, and all the way to his journey to Starclan.
I found this book very satisfying to read. My only complaint is the cuts between the vital events of the book. I would have really liked to have read a little more about the down time and experienced some more character development, but I realize that this is already a long book (for this series) and adding more character development for so many characters would have made the book MUCH longer.
Overall I'm happy to have read this one and hopefully we'll get more character development in further books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the deep forest live wild cats, but they're ..., August 29, 2014
This review is from: Crookedstar's Promise (Warriors Super Edition) (Paperback)
In the deep forest live wild cats, but they're not ordinary cats but clan cats. There are four clans Thunderclan, Shadowclan, Windclan, and Riverclan. This story takes place in Riverclan where two new kits were born moons ago. the main characters are Stormkit/Crookedkit and his littermate Oakkit. This book is about Crookedkit's manipulated life from being a kit to a clan leader. Crookedstar was first named Stormkit but when he fell into the river and crashed his jaw on a rock his mom brutally renamed him Crookedkit for his awkward appearance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 8 Year Old Loved It, August 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My daughter absolutely loves these books. Each time she reads one we hear all about the different cats and their clans for weeks on end. I am amazed by all the details she remembers from what she has read. She is completely captivated by each book and cannot get enough. If you have a daughter that enjoys reading she'll probably love this book and want more. Fortunately there are a lot of them so I just keep buying them. Way better than a video game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warriors Lovers Rejoice!, July 31, 2011
By 
M. Buompensiero (San Diego, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Warriors: Super Edition: Crookedstar's Promise by Erin Hunter

A review from a young fan: Fans of all the previous Warriors books will love this Super Edition. It leaves nothing more to be desired. With the same satisfying, page-turning characters and adventures, the Erins (whichever of the girls who share the pen name wrote this one :) deliver yet another wonderful installment in the Warriors series.

In Crookedstar's Promise, we get to see the life of a great RiverClan leader before he got the -star. He started out as Stormkit, a little kit born on the night of a terrible storm. He was handsome and strong and best friends with his brother, Oakkit. Then after a tragic accident, he was left with a twisted jaw and the name Crookedkit. The book follows the kit, rejected by his mother, through his warrior training--which he gets both day and night. Those who have read previous Warriors books will feel their breath catch in their throats when they see the name of the 'StarClan' warrior giving Crookedpaw some extra training...under one condition: he must put his Clan and destiny first!

One by one, in a heart-wrenching series of events, every cat Crookedjaw has loved is plucked away from him and to a world to which he cannot follow for many moons. The 'StarClan' warrior's promise gets harder and harder to keep, and her training sessions rougher and rougher, until finally the book hits its most exciting point.

Parents: This is a great series for your pre-teens instilling a love a sense for nature and all creatures - highly recommend it for their summer reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crookedstar's Promise (Warriors Super Edition)
Crookedstar's Promise (Warriors Super Edition) by Erin Hunter (Paperback - April 24, 2012)
$7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.