Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


191 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost everything that should be here is
Crosby, Stills, and Nash are one of the best-loved bands in the world. They've done some great stuff. Unfortunately, as a group and as solo artists, they've also done a lot of very mediocre work. Over time, each new album has typically had less and less music worth buying.

After you've bought their first 2 albums ("Crosby, Stills, and Nash", and "Deja...
Published on January 14, 2000 by M. Gilkey

versus
50 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a substitute for a CSN&Y collection
This set has most of must-have tracks. Unfortunately a number of them are alternate versions, and the alternates aren't as good as the familiar versions.
Here's a list of the alternates...
Suite: Judy Blue Eyes
Helplessly Hoping
You Don't Have To Cry
Guinnevere
Blackbird
Song With No Words
Almost Cut My Hair (okay, this one is more...
Published on October 18, 2003 by Amy Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

191 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost everything that should be here is, January 14, 2000
This review is from: Crosby Stills & Nash (Audio CD)
Crosby, Stills, and Nash are one of the best-loved bands in the world. They've done some great stuff. Unfortunately, as a group and as solo artists, they've also done a lot of very mediocre work. Over time, each new album has typically had less and less music worth buying.

After you've bought their first 2 albums ("Crosby, Stills, and Nash", and "Deja Vu"), it gets pretty difficult to decide whether to buy anything else. I like about half of the album Daylight Again (released in 1982), and maybe half of CSN (1977). The rest of their albums just aren't worth buying, even though there are a few excellent songs sprinkled among them.

This 4-disc collection is superb. Assuming that you already own the first 2 albums, you can buy this collection and own almost everything they've done as a group (and most or all of what they've done as solo artists) that's worth owning.

Almost the only song missing that I'd REALLY like to see on here is one David Crosby song ("Compass", if I remember correctly) from the album American Dream (the rest of which is dispensable). This set is also missing a few other good songs from the album Daylight Again (e.g. "Might As Well Have A Good Time", which has superb vocals), but the best ones ("Southern Cross" and "Delta") from that album are here.

This album contains several fine songs from Crosby-Nash collaborations ("To The Last Whale"), and a few of Stephen Stills better solo works ("Change Partners", "So Begins The Task"). Among the David Crosby solo numbers are "All Along The Lee Shore" and a wordless vocal performance that is beautiful and haunting.

There are a few songs on here that I don't care for, but not many.

Graham Nash deserves great credit for putting this set together. He has done an excellent job of selecting the best material. Frankly, this set is so good, and much of their other material is so mediocre, that this set and and their first 2 albums are about all that even ardent fans need to own. Nash probably risked killing sales of other albums when he put together this set. He deserves applause and great thanks for choosing this collection.

The set also comes with a booklet that contains interesting short anecdotes and explanations of the songs. Fans will enjoy it a lot.

RECOMMENDATION: If you like this band, I'd buy the following albums: Crosby, Stills, and Nash (first album); Deja Vu (with Neil Young); and this 4-CD set. This will give you almost everything these musicians have done that's worth owning, and will give you very little stuff that isn't worth owning. Yes, you'll have paid twice for several songs from the first 2 albums, but even that's not a complete waste because some of the versions on this 4-disc set are alternative takes.

If I could take only 20-30 discs to a "desert island" with me, each of these 4 discs would be among them. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best box set...hands down!, December 10, 2000
This review is from: Crosby Stills & Nash (Audio CD)
There's a box set out for just about every classic rock artist. But, many of them are simply not worth the money (the new Eagles set comes to mind). However, the CSN Box truly delivers the goods.
There are basically 3 functions of a good box set: 1. To provide a career retrospective, gathering material from an artist's entire catalog of music 2. To offer the music in remastered form, in better quality sound 3. To unearth unreleased material
The CSN box set matches all the criteria. This collection shows how good they were together and apart, offering solo material from all three members, plus side projects like Manassas (Stills band with Chris Hillman of the Byrds).
Some box sets boast "unreleased material" that really should've been left UNRELEASED. Not true with this set, "Homeward Through the Haze" is far superior to the released Crosby-Nash version, "Suite: Judy Blue Eyes" including drums is staggering, and the unearthed CSN&Y recordings show us what could've been, had they not bickered among themselves so much.
The only unfortunate ommisions are from Neil Young, who is saving his goodies for his own box set, coming soon. Also, "War Games" from the now-deleted ALLIES album would've been nice.
All in all a fine collection for a true fan or casual listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, November 11, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Crosby Stills & Nash (Audio CD)
I've had this box for about 5 years and I STILL play it to death. No collection of CSN(Y) is satisfactory without it; it's a wonderful career summary (up to 1991) of all the various foursome/threesome/duo/solo configurations. True, it does skimp on Neil Young stuff (Pushed It Over The End or Through My Sails would have been welcome) but Neil's forthcoming Archives multi-CD set should take care of all that. More surprising omissions include all the rumoured Deja Vu out-takes not to mention more recent gems such as Crosby's Compass, but what you do get can't really be faulted (excepting variances of personal taste). Highlights include a CSNY version of The Leeshore (1969 with 1991 extra vocal harmonies); alternates of Helplessly Hoping and Suite: Judy Blue Eyes; a CNY live take of Man In The Mirror; Crosby & Hash's version of Joni Mitchell's Urge For Going; a stripped down live take on Got It Made; both sides of the Ohio single and an unedited Almost Cut My Hair plus many, many others. This could well be the best boxed set of them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything You Could Want In A Box Set, February 8, 2003
This review is from: Crosby Stills & Nash (Audio CD)
I first bought this glorious collection five years ago. This Box set spans two decades and all the various configurations of Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young--the band that forced the creation of the word "super group." There is solo material, side projects like Manassas, alternate takes of classics like "Suite: Jusdy Blue Eyes" and "Woodstock," the unedited version of "Almost Cut My Hair" (at 8:49, it's twice the length of the version on DEJA VU!), unreleased live CSNY versions of solo songs like Nash's "Man in the Mirror" and Crosby's "Homeward Through the Haze," and then there are the previously unreleased songs like "Blackbird" and "Horses Through a Rainstorm." There was a magic in this band and it is reflected in every track here. They had it all: great songwriting, tight harmonies and excellent musicianship. The neophyte fan might be better served by the single-disc SO FAR, but true fans will settle for nothing less than this sprawling 5-hour feast for the ears. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a substitute for a CSN&Y collection, October 18, 2003
By 
Amy Hughes (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crosby Stills & Nash (Audio CD)
This set has most of must-have tracks. Unfortunately a number of them are alternate versions, and the alternates aren't as good as the familiar versions.
Here's a list of the alternates...
Suite: Judy Blue Eyes
Helplessly Hoping
You Don't Have To Cry
Guinnevere
Blackbird
Song With No Words
Almost Cut My Hair (okay, this one is more complete than the released version)
4+20
Woodstock
The Lee Shore
Man in the Mirror (Live)
Black Queen
Urge for Going
Simple Man
See the Changes
Homeward Through the haze
Taken at All
Dark Star (Live)
Wild Tales (Live)
Dear Mr. Fantasy
Got it Made (Live U.N. broadcast)
As I Come of Age
Drive My Car
Soldiers of Peace
Some of these I'm unfamiliar with and their inclusion is a plus. Some are interesting in the alternate version, but since I was counting on this being almost my entire CSN&Y collection I'm still missing these tracks. And some of these just don't cut it. For example, the vocals in Suite: Judy Blue Eyes are more laid back than the released version. Interesting, perhaps, but not as engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the CSN(Y) fan, August 15, 2000
This review is from: Crosby Stills & Nash (Audio CD)
Despite the inconsistancy of calling it a CSN box while including CSN&Y songs, this is a great box set, with alternate takes, live cuts, previously unreleased cuts - in other words, everything a real fan could want. This is not for the casual fan; they would be better off with So Far or the original albums. This has alternate versions of Woodstock and Suite Judy Blue Eyes, for example.
However, if you love these guys, if you have the original albums, and you want a real treat...this box set fills that want/need/desire very well indeed.
Oh, and it is exquisitely remastered, by the way, and the book is wonderfully done. It's pricey, but it's worth it, in every way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be better, March 25, 2000
By 
LA Noir (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crosby Stills & Nash (Audio CD)
As this is somewhat of a greatest hits, retrospective, or whatever one may call it, it is a good collection not a great one. Why? Because when one buys a group's career retrospective I think they expect the songs they are familiar with. And this album has too many unreleased, alternate takes and/or live versions of the songs we want to hear. Now that is fine...if they also include the released versions. But to only put the unfamiliar versions, especially when most are not as good as the other versions is a sham. Why couldn't they have done what EMI/Capitol did with the Beatles' anthologies and put the outtakes, alternate versions, etc., on their own disc? Perhaps they figure die hard fans will buy both original albums on disc plus this collection. Or, why couldn't they have put both the familiar and alternate versions in the same collection? That would have been interesting. As it is, I find it disappointing not to have the well known versions of several of the songs here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BOX SET YOU'LL EVER OWN, March 9, 2001
By 
D. Galloway "dreamwebber" (Chattanooga, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crosby Stills & Nash (Audio CD)
This is the best and only box set I own. I bought it when it first came out. It is very well put together. There is a little CSN&Y, CSN, David Crosby by himself, Stephen Stills by himself, Graham too, and a combination of the three. Not much Young. My favorite is disk 3. Maybe because I love Crosby and Nash the Best, and I don't own alot of their solo stuff so it was a real treat. It is pretty much in chronological order but not completely, so if you like the early CSN & sometimes Y, you will like the first 2 discs the best. Disc 4 is their later stuff mostly. The harmonies are awesome and is great to hear versions of songs that you know in a different way. IT'S a MUST HAVE in any Crosby Stills and Nash collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Box-set, May 6, 2001
By 
Robert Boyd (Springfield MA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crosby Stills & Nash (Audio CD)
You won't find a finer box-set. All of the tracks are keepers. I was somewhat put-off by reviews claiming that this set contains all of the essential songs by these four artists. It absolutely doesn't. But what it does contain is superb. Since there was such a wealth of material to choose from, there is no filler on this set. It is an excellent companion piece to your CSN&Y library. Buy it! You won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has Everything A Fan Could Ever Want!!..., December 4, 2002
By 
Jack Wolverton (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crosby Stills & Nash (Audio CD)
Crosby, Stills & Nash(Young) has been my favorite group since I heard Woodstock and Wooden Ships for the first time. I love almost every song of theirs. So when I saw that they had a box set I had to get it. Well the was 10 years ago and to this day I have yet to hear a better collection of a bands work. This box set has every song people know but what sets it apart is the quality of the unreleased and out take tracks. The best of which is an alternet version of David Crosby's Guinnevere. In my openion it is better then the album version. The Lee Shore, Triad and the three Manassas songs are excellent additions. But every one of the 79 songs of this massive set sound like they are ment to follow one another. This Box Set is worth the money if you love CSN&Y as much as I do.
BTW...I saw them back in April 2002, in Austin, it was the best concert I have ever seen them do, they played for over 3 hours straight and had more energy then bands today!!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crosby Stills & Nash
Crosby Stills & Nash by Crosby Stills Nash & Young (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.