Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Crosley CK-1 Record Cleaning Kit with 3 NP1 Needles
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Price:$17.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 2, 2006
Turns out the cleaner solution is DISTILLED WATER. Cloth covered "brush" not really large enough to get a good handle on it. Could so as well with a towel and water. NOT WORTH THE PRICE>
33 comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2015
If you're looking for a decent replacement for the Discwashers of old, this will do the trick.
Like the ones from years gone by, if your records are hopelessly grungy, it requires several passes to get the job done. That's to be expected and isn't a failing of the product.
Using the plain distilled water it comes packaged with is frankly "meh". Luckily, the top of the bottle is removable and you can re-fill it with a 50/50 Isopropyl, distilled mix. Works far better than H2O alone and is a good cheap alternative to pricy cleaners.
A note or two about some criticisms I've seen in other reviews of the CK-1. "Re-deposits dust after a few uses". Slide out the brush compartment and you'll find several foam squares. They're for cleaning off the pad so that won't happen! The other one is "Doesn't come with a case." It does. The box it comes in is perfectly fit for the task, just like its' predecessor from way back when.
All and all it does what it should do and quite well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2010
Your are getting a piece of cloth glued to a block of wood and a bottle of distilled water for your money. THERE WERE NO NEEDLES INCLUDED!!! I called Crosley and they said they stopped including needles with this item a long time ago yet Amazon still advertises it and shows pictures of the three needles even though they are no longer included. Very deceptive.

Amazon sent me a return shipment tag and promised to refund my money but it still took my time (and money) in bringing the package to the UPS store for the return.
66 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2014
This thing has kept saved quite a few old records from the trash heap. I definitely like that it opens, and doesn't appear to, as well. All in all, I love this thing more than almost anything I've ever bought from Amazon or otherwise. My local record store has used records, and sometimes they aren't in the best condition, although they usually are. I'm pretty horrid when it comes to maintaining records however and this thing is a life saver.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2015
seems to add ALOT ! of static to my records. they literally crackled with static after i used this product. the one i rec'd seemed to clean ok though. definitely was able to hear a big difference before and after. took most of the pops out. now need to remove the static from my records. the foam pads that come with it to clean the brush are a nice feature. i would've never known what they were for if i had'nt read the reviews first cos' it doesnt mention them in the instructions. lame it doesnt have a box to store brush in, other than the cardboard one it comes in. i would take a guess it works a little better than the corduroy ones though. i had a pretty dirty devo record that cleaned up well. i could hear the lows mids and highs alot better after using this product. but once again STATIC !!! Crosley shounds like a pretty cheap company probably ran by cheap people. you guys know its all about running lean. true quality left us along time ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2013
This was the best deal I could find to replace the needle for the record player. Comes with 3 replacement needles. Bought this years ago and have still only replace one needle. The brush works well for cleaning off dusty records.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2015
The item was not as pictured and I ended up returning it to the seller. Item did not include the replacement needle, the "cleaning" solution is simple distilled water, and model received was not CK-1 as described. The hidden compartment in the cleaning brush was a nice feature though. I ended up purchasing the RCA brand as a replacement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2014
Just like the old days.... except the " slip-cover-box" ain't there. How is one to keep dust off the dust brush? Simple fix. Fix the box! Crosley! Charge a dollar more, You have a nice product...vinyl records are the old/.new hot music. Smart listeners want smart products. Take advantage of the vinyl revolution and give us good old products to play good music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2009
I ORDERED THIS SET BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT WAS A GOOD DEAL...$25 DOLLARS FOR THREE NEEDLES AND THE WHOLE KIT SET...I WANTED IT BECAUSE OF THE NEEDLES...WHEN I GOT IT...IT WAS JUST THE WOOD LINT COVER CASE THING AND A SMALL PLASTIC BOTTLE THAT SAID "DISTILLED WATER" AND NO NEEDLES! I CALLED THEM AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD RETURN MY MONEY BECAUSE THEY "DONT HAVE IN STOCK" ANY NEEDLES...RIPOFF!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2011
unless you want a bottleof distilled water and something to polish your boots, i would suggest buying something else. this item is the exact definition of a ripoff. i bought this item probably for the same reason a lot of people buy this item: to get a new phono needle. see the thing is, in the item description it says that it comes with 3 EXTRA NEEDLES, only it comes with ZERO NEEDLES. do yourself a favor and do not buy this item, it's a piece of crap.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.