Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good gift for Xmas season.
I've been using Cross products since a long time ago, even when I've had a set of Montblanc Pen and Mechanic Pencils, and as a gift for Xmas season, it was a very good choice. Affordable and good quality writing device.
Published on January 15, 2008 by JC-Wii Fan

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the item pictured
The manufacturer is distributing a different pen/pencil set than the one illustrated and described. Cosmetically the pens are a flat black -- could be mistaken for grey; but more importantly the "pencil" is not the typical cross .05mm pencil. It is a pen/pencil combo -- you can put either an ink cartridge in it (for 2 pens, who knows why) or a special .07mm lead...
Published on November 10, 2010 by anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the item pictured, November 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, Classic Black, Ballpoint Pen & 0.7mm Pencil Set (250105) (Office Product)
The manufacturer is distributing a different pen/pencil set than the one illustrated and described. Cosmetically the pens are a flat black -- could be mistaken for grey; but more importantly the "pencil" is not the typical cross .05mm pencil. It is a pen/pencil combo -- you can put either an ink cartridge in it (for 2 pens, who knows why) or a special .07mm lead cartridge -- not individual leads, but a self contained cartridge physically similar to an ink cartrdige -- to use it as a pencil. Of course, you can't tell them apart when you pull one out of your pocket. One has to twist it and see what comes out - the pen or the pencil (or other pen if you go that way).

This happened to me at another large retailer (large web, lots of physical stores) so it looks like Cross is doing a number on people. Major, major disappointment.

Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as Represented, January 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, Classic Black, Ballpoint Pen & 0.7mm Pencil Set (250105) (Office Product)
The Classic Centry set in this advertisement is not as represented. Specifically, the pencil is not the 5mm mechanical pencil as shown, but some odd sort of 7mm thing called "SwitchpIt", which allows a pen to be coverted to a pencil. When I received it I assumed that the set was mis-packaged.

Gross misrepresentation. Do not buy this unless you really want a pencil that looks like a pen with a previously unknown sort of inserts. Oh, and try buying erasers......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bummed out about Cross Classic Century mechanical pencil, November 22, 2010
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, Classic Black, Ballpoint Pen & 0.7mm Pencil Set (250105) (Office Product)
I've loved having a Cross pen and pencil set for many years. My 13 yr old son always liked the feel of them and I just bought him a Classic Century set. Right out of the box, the pencil won't advance the lead. Oddly, my husband was given a similar set a few months ago by his employer and it had the exact same problem, right out of the box. I was about to pay the $10 to have the first one replaced by Cross, but now I'm suspicious of the brand not being worth anything anymore. Any suggestions?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the quality of the cross pens of old, August 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, Classic Black, Ballpoint Pen & 0.7mm Pencil Set (250105) (Office Product)
Bought five sets to give as gifts and am a little disappointed. The pens / pencils kind of look cheap and the quality of the packaging is not what it used to be, even a few years ago. This is definitely not the presentation quality I remember or was hoping for. Another great brand becomes mediocre chinese crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the pencil in the product description or the photo, April 27, 2011
By 
Ola Klingberg (Asbury Park, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, Classic Black, Ballpoint Pen & 0.7mm Pencil Set (250105) (Office Product)
As other reviewers have noted, Cross has switched the pencil in this set from their classic 0.5 mm to a new 0.7 mm model, but for some mysterious reason, they have kept the old model number, which causes a lot of confusion. I wanted the 0.5 mm, not an 0.7, so I requested a refund. Amazon was very obliging. So this negative review applies only to Cross's incorrect information, not to Amazon as a merchant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good gift for Xmas season., January 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've been using Cross products since a long time ago, even when I've had a set of Montblanc Pen and Mechanic Pencils, and as a gift for Xmas season, it was a very good choice. Affordable and good quality writing device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Pen, December 26, 2010
By 
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, Classic Black, Ballpoint Pen & 0.7mm Pencil Set (250105) (Office Product)
Rec'd this Pen as an Xmas present from my daughter. Writing w/ this Pen is smooth as silk, the grip is great. Never had a better Pen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars pen and pencil is great, however, May 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, Classic Black, Ballpoint Pen & 0.7mm Pencil Set (250105) (Office Product)
i ordered this product a few months ago, and the pen and pencil are great, however the eraser refills are hard to find in stores (in fact im still looking), when i was looking for the erasers at office depot i noticed what appears to be the same pen pencil set for 20 dollars cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cross Classic Century Set, December 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hmmm, How to say this, I have own the 0.5mm pencil for years, the time for replacement came and I wanted it back, after some research, checking the Cross main website, I noticed certain irregularities as a result of a change in the mechanism and other characteristics as being 0.7mm one of them. Having known that, I wanted to find the 0.5mm that I had, I found this sale from Shoplet, with the image of the 0.5mm pencil, the delivered product is for 0.7mm, with a black dot at the top of it, as the Pen from the previous version.... The pencil didn't have such dot in the past... Recomendation, if you want to buy the 0.5mm like me, keep searching or give up already... If you don't mind all this about the previous Cross and the New Cross designed in USA but made in China, then buy a plastic Pen and Pencil Set, you might get a better product...

But overall, Cross have thrown out of the window the quality which had gained through years.... A shame...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cross Pen/Pencil, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, Classic Black, Ballpoint Pen & 0.7mm Pencil Set (250105) (Office Product)
Great pen/pencil set. I've used this pen/pencil set for 20 years or more. When I lose one or the other I buy a new set. Unlike some of the comments above, this is the same product I have been using for a very long time. The price was the best I found on-line, and the service was great. I even got expedited delivery comped. I recommend this seller and this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.