Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product
I have owned an A.T. Cross set since 1966 and it has served wonderfully. I had a small problem with the old style pencil works a couple decades ago, but Cross honored their lifetime warranty and replaced the thick-lead innards with the new style 0.5 mm works. BTW, Amazon incorrectly says the pencil uses .05 mm leads; it actually uses 0.5 mm.

I would have...
Published on June 8, 2009 by D. C. Hawkins

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this
I had a Cross pen & pencil set back in the day, so I remember the quality from the past. I was excited to receive my new set, but not anymore. I'm returning this idem for refund. This pen & pencil set is not worth the money. This is a cheap replica of what Cross use to be. Must be made in China, need I say more? I give it one star for good shipping only.
Published 23 months ago by Space Grazer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, June 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, 10 Karat Gold-Filled/Rolled Gold, Ballpoint Pen and 0.7mm Pencil Set (450105) (Office Product)
I have owned an A.T. Cross set since 1966 and it has served wonderfully. I had a small problem with the old style pencil works a couple decades ago, but Cross honored their lifetime warranty and replaced the thick-lead innards with the new style 0.5 mm works. BTW, Amazon incorrectly says the pencil uses .05 mm leads; it actually uses 0.5 mm.

I would have awarded a perfect 5 stars except that A.T. Cross has sent their manufacturing (at least part of it) to China. This icon of American quality should stay here. I for one would have paid more for the set. When I buy Cross, it is for special gifts and the "Made in China" label diminishes the image of the gift regardless of whether or not the quality and guarantee are as good as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, April 4, 2009
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, 10 Karat Gold-Filled/Rolled Gold, Ballpoint Pen and 0.7mm Pencil Set (450105) (Office Product)
Both the pen and the pencil are well designed, functional, and surprisingly durable. The two Waterman pens I had developed cracks and showed their cheap construction but the Cross barely shows any wear. I received the 10K Gold filled Cross set over 20 years ago and it still works and looks fantastic. Still brings unexpected compliments from business associates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, 10 Karat Gold-Filled/Rolled Gold, Ballpoint Pen and 0.7mm Pencil Set (450105) (Office Product)
I had a Cross pen & pencil set back in the day, so I remember the quality from the past. I was excited to receive my new set, but not anymore. I'm returning this idem for refund. This pen & pencil set is not worth the money. This is a cheap replica of what Cross use to be. Must be made in China, need I say more? I give it one star for good shipping only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not like the originals, August 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, 10 Karat Gold-Filled/Rolled Gold, Ballpoint Pen and 0.7mm Pencil Set (450105) (Office Product)
I owned an original of this Cross pen and pencil set since 1986 until this year but after 25 years of daily use managed to lose them within a week of each other. I ordered a replacement this August, 2012, in the hope that the reported bad quality since the shift of production to China could be something I could live with. A big mistake...

Unfortunately the quality is awful and I have returned them. The pencil mechanism has changed yet again (I had my original pencil repaired and the 'innards' were changed from the 0.8mm to the then 0.5mm 'new' one) and the characteristics of the pencil have completely changed. You wouldn't want to open the pencil to use the now tiny eraser and to expose the cheap plastic mechanism.

The pen doesn't feel as well constructed and the refill end protrudes too far out compared to my original. Also both the pen and pencil have the same top, with the gold 'blob' on the end, whereas only one should have it so you can tell them apart easily.

If I could find an original set I would be happy to buy it but will certainly make sure I handle them first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grad gift pleaser, January 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, 10 Karat Gold-Filled/Rolled Gold, Ballpoint Pen and 0.7mm Pencil Set (450105) (Office Product)
My grandson graduated from college in December, so I decided to give

him this Cross gold pen & pencil set, along with my attache case. I

have not used the Cross set, but he was delighted w/it. He's started

his master's program, & uses the set & the case. He is happy with

this gift, and had a big smile & kiss for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graduation Gift, June 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, 10 Karat Gold-Filled/Rolled Gold, Ballpoint Pen and 0.7mm Pencil Set (450105) (Office Product)
I purchased this set for my nephew who graduated from ASU. He is very pleased with this set as he has always wanted one. I couldn't have picked a better gift. It will last him a life time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not how I remember Cross, May 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, 10 Karat Gold-Filled/Rolled Gold, Ballpoint Pen and 0.7mm Pencil Set (450105) (Office Product)
If these are really Cross pens, they are not up to the standard I remember for Cross. I have used cross pens since the sixties... But the last set I bought was 15 years or more ago. This gold set fells like plastic... Not really a nice gold color
Like I remember. The edges are sharp at the joints. Just does not feel like a hundred dollar writing instrument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad pen, January 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, 10 Karat Gold-Filled/Rolled Gold, Ballpoint Pen and 0.7mm Pencil Set (450105) (Office Product)
The pen arrived in poor condition, there is a gap that opens between the spinning cap and the pen. I have another set (exactly the same model and everything) and it doesn't have that problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unbeatable, September 15, 2010
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, 10 Karat Gold-Filled/Rolled Gold, Ballpoint Pen and 0.7mm Pencil Set (450105) (Office Product)
my grandpa had this pen set for 50 years and i can tell you this...it never broke and he said it was one of the best material possesions he had ever owned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cross Classic Century Pen and Pencil set, August 18, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross Classic Century, 10 Karat Gold-Filled/Rolled Gold, Ballpoint Pen and 0.7mm Pencil Set (450105) (Office Product)
Very nice set. Work very well. I like their small diameter. I also have a Waterman set which is also fine, but heavier. I prefer this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cross Classic Century, 10 Karat Gold-Filled/Rolled Gold, Ballpoint Pen and 0.7mm Pencil Set (450105)
$130.00 $55.95
In stock. Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.