Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent primer for understancing cross cultural dynamics.
The authors have presented an excelent foundation for understanding cross cultural relationships. Perhaps the best of the book is the duscussion which focuses on patient learning of as much of the other culture as possible to understand non-American responses to situations and events. The authors carefully consider what an American response would be, and also give...
Published on March 27, 1999

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good info; hard to read!
I read this book as an assignment for becoming a full-time missionary. I found it accurate, but hard to read. It was boring. I found myself searching for examples to put the principles into, but the examples were more principles. I kept looking at the information on the author to see if he had ever actually lived in another culture. Apparently, he has, but his book...
Published on January 5, 2013 by Jo A. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent primer for understancing cross cultural dynamics., March 27, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Cross-Cultural Conflict: Building Relationships for Effective Ministry (Paperback)
The authors have presented an excelent foundation for understanding cross cultural relationships. Perhaps the best of the book is the duscussion which focuses on patient learning of as much of the other culture as possible to understand non-American responses to situations and events. The authors carefully consider what an American response would be, and also give examples of responses from cultures outside American culture. We are finding the book very useful for both our American missionaries, as well as our African counterparts. Both are coming to new levels understanding one another, as well as working together. Great beginning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good clear survey of cross cultural communication, September 23, 1997
This review is from: Cross-Cultural Conflict: Building Relationships for Effective Ministry (Paperback)
This is the first book I've read that concisely surveys the differences between what the author called "Two Thirds World" cultures in comparison and contrast with Western (American) culture, and finds some leeway in Scripture for various ways of conflict resolution; the author gives a fair presentation and encourages cross cultural dialogue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Introduction with Practical Suggestions, March 12, 2001
This review is from: Cross-Cultural Conflict: Building Relationships for Effective Ministry (Paperback)
I found this to be a well written book that introduced some basic concepts in intercultural communication through personal stories and easy to read discussion of the concepts. Elmer shows us the many contrasts between Western Culture and Two-Thirds World cultures and provides concise suggestions on how to navigate the differences successfully. I especially appreciated a chapter he devoted to a study of an episode from the book of Joshua which illustrated a Biblical model of successful conflict resolution. While this book is not comprehensive in its approach it is informative and easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have read on the subject, December 5, 2005
By 
This review is from: Cross-Cultural Conflict: Building Relationships for Effective Ministry (Paperback)
Elmer does a great job of balancing general advice with practical examples. Many books suffer from general advice that one is hard pressed to apply while other books give lots of specific examples that you cannot apply to your particular situation.

The first section of the book deals with understanding conflict and culture. This deals with the subject in a general way. He looks at five popular western ways of approaching a troublesome situation: win-lose, avoidance, giving in, compromise, and carefronting. He suggests that all are western and need to be modified in other cultures. The second section gets to the heart of the matter and provides information on using mediation and mediators; the one-down position and vulnerability; storytelling and proverbs; and inaction, misdirection, silence, and indefinite persons. A number of cultures are used as examples: African, Middle Eastern, and Asian.

The third and final section provides a series of principles which are in wide use such as speak to the problem, not the person. The conclusion consists of ten general rules and eight principles for dealing with cross-cultural conflict. On the whole, a book well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Westerners Working Outside Their Culture., April 10, 2005
By 
R. Scott Hayden (Bangkok, Thailand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cross-Cultural Conflict: Building Relationships for Effective Ministry (Paperback)
Before I moved to Bangkok, Thailand in 1996 to teach at an International School, friends loaned me their copy of this book. It opened my eyes. A few years later, a professor in my graduate studies required that I read it again. I did so gladly. I cited this book favorably in my thesis and highly recommend it to any Westerner who will work with non-Westerners.

Duane Elmer first helps Americans understand their own typical conflict resolution style. Then he surveys conflict resolution styles of non-Western cultures. More than that, he shows how the Bible upholds each of these styles as viable options for conflict resolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A needed resource for ministry, March 3, 2006
This review is from: Cross-Cultural Conflict: Building Relationships for Effective Ministry (Paperback)
Duane Elmer's book Cross-Cultural Conflict is an important book intended to "clarify issues in intercultural and interracial conflict, to provide insights on different ways people of various cultures handle conflict, and to evaluate these approaches according to Scripture" (pg. 22). Elmer also seeks to "provide practical guidelines for (1) helping people live harmoniously with our cultural differences, (2) developing a positive strategy for dealing with conflict, and (3) communicating the gospel of Jesus Christ more effectively and ministering the nurturing grace of God (pg. 22).

The first section stresses that learning to live harmoniously with people is an issue of learning to accept cultural differences and remembering the importance of unity as taught in the Bible. It is important to remember that God places a high priority on the importance of relationships and if we fail to reflect God's heart in this area we will risk undermining our ability to effectively communicate the gospel.

The second section of the book offers several strategies for positively dealing with conflict. Elmer's approach is for the missionary to utilize the method of dealing with conflict in the particular cultural setting one is in. It is important to realize the there is no necessarily one right way of handling conflict but rather different ways. The missionary needs to place a higher priority on relationships than winning and learn to use culturally appropriate means of conflict resolution.

The final sections give very practical guidelines in the form of principles for managing conflict. Elmer offers ten general rules for dealing with conflict along with eight principles for dealing with cross-cultural resolution. These steps when used together allow for the effective building of relationships and allows for the possibility of the gospel message to bring healing in various cultures around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Introduction with Practical Suggestions, March 12, 2001
This review is from: Cross-Cultural Conflict: Building Relationships for Effective Ministry (Paperback)
I found this to be a well written book that introduced some basic concepts in intercultural communication through personal stories and easy to read discussion of the concepts. Elmer shows us the many contrasts between Western Culture and Two-Thirds World cultures and provides concise suggestions on how to navigate the differences successfully. I especially appreciated a chapter he devoted to a study of an episode from the book of Joshua which illustrated a Biblical model of successful conflict resolution. While this book is not comprehensive in its approach it is informative and easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recomended for any cross-cultural situation, June 14, 2009
This review is from: Cross-Cultural Conflict: Building Relationships for Effective Ministry (Paperback)
The content of this book is very useful and I recommend as reading for anyone who is considering working in any cross-cultural situation. It really makes you think and realize how situations differ in view of perspectives. We as Americans have one perspective but others from other lands/cultures may have another view, one which is easily to over look if we do not pay attention, that in itself can, and does cause conflicts that can be avoided if you know what to look for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended/, July 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross-Cultural Conflict: Building Relationships for Effective Ministry (Paperback)
This book is great for anyone working with persons of other cultural backgrounds, not only for those in Christian ministry. Many times conflict could be easily avoided if we were only aware of some crucial differences in the way other people think and interpret the world. There are several models presented for effective communication. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cross Cultural Conflict, June 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cross-Cultural Conflict: Building Relationships for Effective Ministry (Paperback)
I don't have the book with me as I write, but it is an excellent tool for anyone who works cross-culturally. I had glanced through a copy belonging to someone else before ordering the book. I served as a missionary for twenty years and learned the hard way! This would help someone to prepare!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cross-Cultural Conflict: Building Relationships for Effective Ministry
Cross-Cultural Conflict: Building Relationships for Effective Ministry by Duane Elmer (Paperback - December 21, 1993)
$18.00 $13.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.