Customer Reviews


178 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crossroads- Most of Bon Jovi's Hits in One Package
Bon Jovi's collection of 14 classic grooves is pretty much what it says it is. Its a greatest hits album that has most of the good stuff. The album starts with the classic "Livin' On a Prayer". If this song doesn't make you want to sing there is something wrong with you. The album also includes "Runaway" "Wanted Dead or Alive" and...
Published on June 15, 2000 by PETER ZUKOWSKI

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent - Could have been much better!
I bought this at Strawberries Records for $28.00. I bought it mainly for CD 2 of "rarities & B-sides". It contains some great songs but there are 4 songs that are not rare at all. In fact, 3 of these songs are from their biggest selling album so to say they are rare is crazy. "Wild in the Streets", "Diamond Ring", "Let it Rock" and "Raise Your Hands" are all studio...
Published on August 31, 2006 by ApeTit


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good collections!, October 21, 2001
This review is from: Cross Road (Audio CD)
Un autre de ces albums ou l,on y retrouve que des gros hits. Un greatest hits de Bon Jovi basé enfin sur les pièce que l,on veux vraiment entendre, ces vieux et inoubliable succée des année 80 et 90. En gros, une voix sensationnelle, melanger a un style de musique diversifier passant de bau slow cochon a des toune rock bien engendrer. En bref, il sagit d'un disque indispensable pour tout collectionneur qui n'a pas encore d'album de Bon Jovi. Une bonne note, pour un greatest hits de cette tremble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The only way to listen to Bon Jovi, June 12, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Cross Road (Audio CD)
Bon Jovi, like so many other hair bands of the late '80's has this problem with solid albums. You get a few good singles from each album and the rest leaves you with a bad taste. This "best of" works for me. No fillers, just the meat. Only song I can think of that sould have been on this "best of" but is not would be "Born to be my baby!" So I'll keep the "New Jersey" CD in my collection for that classic. Other than that this CD has the bases covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe it or not, could've been better, May 28, 2003
By 
John (Highland, IN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cross Road (Audio CD)
Being a huge fan of the band, I know this greatest hits collection could've even been better than it was, but this is a good start for newer fans. In my opinion, some glaring omissions were: "Never Say Goodbye", "Wild in the Streets", "Let it Rock", "Blood on Blood", "Born to Be My Baby", "Living in Sin", "In these Arms" and "I'll Sleep When I'm Dead" if you were just going on popular tracks alone. But not too shabby boys!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe it or not, could've been better, May 28, 2003
By 
John (Highland, IN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cross Road (Audio CD)
Being a huge fan of the band, I know this greatest hits collection could've even been better than it was, but this is a good start for newer fans. In my opinion, some glaring omissions were: "Never Say Goodbye", "Wild in the Streets", "Let it Rock", "Blood on Blood", "Born to Be My Baby", "Living in Sin", "In these Arms" and "I'll Sleep When I'm Dead" if you were just going on popular tracks alone. But not too shabby boys!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars COOOOL, August 6, 2014
By 
This review is from: Cross Road (Audio CD)
GREAT SONGS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of The Greatest Rockers, only Decent CD, October 4, 2010
By 
Aurora Danes (Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cross Road (MP3 Music)
Bon Jovi is probably my all time favorite singer all in all. Even after all these years he still just rocks! This is supposed to be a greatest hits and it does have SOME songs I would list but are missing others that anyone thinking of a Jovi fan would expect to be here. Born To Be My Baby, & Never Say Goodbye Should of defiantly been on this CD. And why is this not remastered? I thought that was standard on all Greatest Hits albums.

This is not a bad CD, I don't think any CD that has anything from this guy could be honestly, but it is missing some things that could have made it far better and really, well rock. For the price of it sure is cheaper than buying each song individually so I would go ahead and get it, but if you're like me you will be doing some of your own adding to make this a real Greatest Hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LIVIN' ON MY HAIR, December 15, 2005
By 
Jukebox Dave (RECORD TOWN, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cross Road (Audio CD)
BON JOVI-CROSS ROADS: BON JOVI always amounted to the poor man's SPRINGSTEEN and as far as New Jersey rock acts go, SOUTHSIDE JOHNNY & THE ASBURY JUKES also possessed more chops and blue eyed soul power, even if they lacked BJ's movie star good looks and mass recognition. The guilty pleasure hat trick of YOU GIVE LOVE A BAD NAME, LIVIN' ON A PRAYER, (both co-written with song doctor to the stars DESMOND CHILD) and WANTED DEAD OR ALIVE from their big-hair breakthrough album SLIPPERY WHEN WET cemented the band's crafty, radio-ready brand of "bubble-metal", goosed by JON BON JOVI's non-threatening yelp, RICHIE SAMBORA's slick six string licks, and hooks big enough to hang sombreros on. Subsequent singles BAD MEDICINE, LAY YOUR HANDS ON ME and KEEP THE FAITH milked the arena rock formula a little too thoroughly, even as the band climbed into the upper echelon of pin-up pop stars. Sure, you can hum this stuff all night long, but will you be able to respect yourself in the morning when it's still clingin' to your tongue like dry-mouth?

RATING: THREE CANS OF MOUSSE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the Good Ones, November 4, 2003
By 
This review is from: Cross Road (Audio CD)
Although Bon Jovi isn't heard from very often these days, don't despair. This CD has all of the band's big hits from the 80's and early 90's. If you haven't heard 'Living On A Prayer' since all your clothes were neon colored, pick up this CD. Bon Jovi still has it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Band Truly Reached a "Cross Road" in their Careers, July 10, 2004
By 
L.A. Scene (Indian Trail, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cross Road (Audio CD)
Bon Jovi's first greatest hits album is entitled "Cross Road". The title is appropriate because by the time of its release in 1994, the group had really reached a true crossroads in their career. Bon Jovi had rode the wave of the hard rock/metal-like influence on the pop music scene in the late 1980s. By the time of 1992's "Keep the Faith", they still were doing what they do best - but now Alternative Music was beginning to dominate the pop scene. Therefore, I think its very appropriate that the group put out a Greatest Hits album - and look back to determine what the next steps should be in their career. This is what the band did on "Cross Road" - a compilation of 11 Bon Jovi songs spread over the groups' 5 albums (plus one Jon Bon Jovi solo effort) as well as the inclusion of 3 new tracks that are truly reflective of this "crossroads" theme.
It's important to know that this is really a sampling of Bon Jovi's greatest hits. This collection doesn't attempt to go deeper. It really took the most popular songs from the group's previous albums and included them on one collection. I think the reason for 3 new tracks was to try to attract the pure Bon Jovi fans who were looking for more I was disappointed there was only 1 song from "7800 Degrees Fahrenheit" ("In and Out of Love") and one song from the self-titled "Bon Jovi" album ("Runaway") . It is also worth noting that Bon Jovi has done other Greatest Hits compilations - such as the live album "One Wild Night" and the acoustic-sounding remake of their greatest hits on "This Left Feels Right". This is going to be the only pure studio recorded greatest hits album that has been released.
Of the three new songs, the best of the new songs is "Someday I'll Be Saturday Night". I feel the "cross roads" theme is very evident here as this has a very acoustic like theme to it. Jon Bon Jovi has some great vocals, but it's Richie Sambora's guitar and background vocals are going to make this song stand out. The lyrics are catchy and melody are both catchy. Sticking with this "cross roads" theme, Bon Jovi re-recorded an acoustic, slower version of "Livin on a Prayer" - this one is just called "Prayer 94". On the "This Left Feels Right", there is a much better acoustic recording of this song, but the Bon Jovi fans should still appreciate this song. The group also includes the "Slippery When Wet" version of the song as well. The final new song is "Always". Once again, this is consistent with the crossroads theme of a calmer, more mellow Bon Jovi sound. Despite the fact that "Always" has more of a classic Bon Jovi sound with Jon's vocals and David Bryan's keyboards - this is a pretty weak song. "Always" seems like it was custom made for Top 40 radio. I was surprised that "Always" got the nod to be the single released over "Someday I'll Be Saturday Night". One final note, I do think Richie Sambora provides some nice background vocals again on this single.
As for the other albums, "Slippery When Wet" is represented by the megahits "You Give Love a Bad Name", "Livin' on a Prayer", and "Wanted Dead or Alive". "New Jersey" is represented by "Lay Your Hands on Me", "Bad Medicine", and "I'll Be There for You". "Keep the Faith" is represented by "Keep the Faith" and "Bed of Roses" (I thought that "In These Arms" should have also be included). "Blaze of Glory", the single that Jon Bon Jovi recorded for the "Young Guns II" movie (from the "Blaze of Glory" album he recorded) is also included on here. I think "Blaze of Glory" is a great song, but it isn't a pure Bon Jovi song and I would have liked to see another song by the full band included in place of this song.
The liner notes for this album are extremely poor. The credits are pretty poor as well - there basically are some footnotes making it tough to read. There are no lyrics included for any of the songs (including the new ones). There are pictures of the album covers, but the associated albums the songs are from are not corresponded with the songs. I also thought it was interesting that a picture of the album cover from Richie Sambora's album is included, but yet none of his solo stuff is included while one of Jon's solo songs was. Much of the liner notes is a fold-out into a picture of the band in a New Jersey diner with a pseudo autograph "Thanks for Believing" signed by Jon Bon Jovi. The songs aren't in chronological order and usually I prefer a greatest hits album to go in that order.
I'm hoping that the band eventually will release a boxed set that goes much deeper with their music portfolio. This album is a nice way for someone to get an introduction to Bon Jovi. It also does keep with theme of "Cross Road", so that is a plus. However, if you are a pure Bon Jovi fan - stick with the original studio albums. Finally, once Bon Jovi reached this "cross roads" in their career - I don't think the band was ever the same in terms of their later releases and never captured the magic of the earlier days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BON JOVI AT THEIR BEST!!!, February 16, 2007
This review is from: Cross Road (Audio CD)
Words cannot describe how awesome BON JOVI is!!! I am their #1 fan and no other group in this world produces such quality / entertaining / heartfelt music. I RECOMMEND YOU BUY HAVE A NICE DAY and ALL OF THEIR CDs!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 18 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cross Road
Cross Road by Bon Jovi (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.