Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!
This was a great movie! It tells the truth of how a basketball player can go pro and have a hard time fitting in with all the pressure out there. Very good movie!
Published on December 6, 2010 by Jeffrey Davis

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crossover should have had a line drawn across it.
I've watched a lot of street ball but I never played "street ball", so I could be totally off base with some of my comments, but I'm pretty sure there is not a huge gambling ring which focuses on this sport. In Crossover, the underground street ball games take place in an abandoned train station, where fouls and show stopping are not only allowed, it's encouraged. These...
Published on March 5, 2007 by Jenny J.J.I.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crossover should have had a line drawn across it., March 5, 2007
By 
This review is from: Crossover (DVD)
I've watched a lot of street ball but I never played "street ball", so I could be totally off base with some of my comments, but I'm pretty sure there is not a huge gambling ring which focuses on this sport. In Crossover, the underground street ball games take place in an abandoned train station, where fouls and show stopping are not only allowed, it's encouraged. These "secret games" have a somewhat decent crowd of spectators, which includes a full cheerleading squad and a DJ who spins records in between plays.

It's actually quite a shame that a good movie has not been made on the subject of underground street basketball. At least not in the last 10 years, as Ron Shelton's 1992 film "White Men Can't Jump" may be the only exception. This is one of those predictable movies where you can spot the payoffs before the script even plants the set up. Noah Cruise (played by Wesley Jonathan) is a hard working student who is banking on a basketball scholarship so that he can study medicine in college. But he's sucked into playing in the underground league by his best friend Tech (played by Anthony Mackie), who he somehow owes big time. If Cruise is caught playing for such a league, he could loose his college scholarship. Wayne Brady plays a former NBA agent named Vaughn, the rebel ruler of the underground street ball circuit. He tries his best to put on his "serious face" but it just comes off as laughable. Brady might be good at the improve stuff, a script must feel like imprisonment. At least that's how it comes off. Vaughn wants Cruise on his roster, but the kid has other plans. Cruise and Tech become involved with two young ladies who work at the mall. Young love blossoms and news of Cruise's involvement with the underground sport leaks to the press and so forth.

The written dialogue in this film wasn't so great as well as some of the performances. Eva Pigford, for example, plays one of the girlfriends and unfortunately shows no acting ability or formal training even though she's a great model; but Little JJ, who plays Up, is may be the only likable character/actor in the whole movie. This kid has charisma, and will have a long career if he can ever rise above. If anything, Crossover does offer a good message to youths: Education should be valued over the big money dreams of a sports career. However, I'm not sure this film does a good job delivering the message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!, December 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crossover (DVD)
This was a great movie! It tells the truth of how a basketball player can go pro and have a hard time fitting in with all the pressure out there. Very good movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, it sure surprised me to learn that this is currently the worst film of all-time, March 3, 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (COMMUNITY FORUM 04)   
This review is from: Crossover (DVD)
I did not know that "Crossover" held the "bottom" spot on the International Movie Data Base's list of "Bottom 100" movies of all-time when I watched it this week. As of this writing (and I am sure things will change) it has a rating of 1.2, which means it has quite a gap between it and "The Hillz," the next film on the list. Rounding out the current Bottom 10 are "Bottoms Up," "Going Overboard," "From Justin to Kelly," "SuperBabies: Baby Geniuses 2," "Santa with Muscles," "Car 54, Where Are You?", "Chairman of the Board," and "Love in Paris." I have not seen all of these, but my vote for the bottom most rung still goes to "Manos: Hands of Fate." That particular former holder of the bottom spot is currently ranked #11, and the fact it is not in the Bottom 10 is a clear sign that there are problems with voting on such things. But even given that a lot of what is here is ludicrous, why "Crossover" deserves this particular dishonor seems a bit harsh.

A "crossover" is a dribble move in basketball where the player with the ball switches it quickly from one hand to the other. You have the normal crossover, the killer crossover, and the double crossover. I think all three of those show up in this movie, but the importance of the title is as a metaphor for the situation of the protagonists. In Detroit we have "Tech" (Anthony Mackie) and "Cruise" (Wesley Jonathan), teammates on the Enemy of the State streetball team. The key things about streetball are that as long as you score with style and avoid flagrant fouls or gang fights, you can get away with as many steps to the basket as you want to take (the whole idea of not needing any stinkin' rules apparently has great appeal on the street, although the net result is not as much fun as slamball). "Cruise" has a college scholarship waiting for him and plans on becoming a doctor, while "Tech" is a lot more interested in beating an opposing team the Platinums led by Jewelz (Phillip Champion). But when they play in a game set up by Vaughn (Wayne Brady), their respective fortunes start to go in a new set of opposite directions and their lives are complicated by all sorts of things, including a pair of women, Eboni (Alecia Fears) and Vanessa (Eva Pigford).

Clearly the master metaphor here is that these guys are trying to "crossover" from the basketball courts on the streets to something better, which may or may not have to do with playing basketball. At face value this would certainly seem to be a laudable message, especially given the N.B.A.'s efforts to do something about all those high school phenoms who get drafted in the first round and never get their careers off the bench. In the end I round up on "Crossover" because of that intention. But writer-director Preston A. Whitmore II ("Doing Hard Time") has problems with his dialogue taking away from his message the same way his shooting of the basketball scenes strips them of their drama as well. I mean, come on, if you are playing a team that is undefeated, why would you want to do much more than just beat them? Because that way of upping the ante is consistent with the melodramatic bent of Whitemore's script, both in terms of story and dialogue. Besides, when you have Brady playing the heavy, you know there are going to be casting problems as well.

However, despite all of the above the animosity against "Crossover" surprises me and in the final analysis my only explanation is that to attempt such a message film and then saddle it with so many problems is grossly offensive to the target audience of which, it need hardly be said, I am not a member. That probably explains why I was only bored by the film. Of course, if I had known this is the current worst film of all-time I would have checked it out even sooner (which is what I did the last time I looked and the IMDB had "Materials Girls" on the bottom of the list and "Crossovers" is way better than that disaster from the sisters Duff currently nestled in 28th place).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basketball and HipHop!, October 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crossover (DVD)
I love the edge to this movie. It's not over the top. Just enough to keep it interesting, but still be PG. Surprisingly good acting skills demonstrated by Wayne Brady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very moving movie, June 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crossover (DVD)
This movie shows how greed some people are. Women should watch this, they see a man going places and want to jump on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars so so, May 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's not a great movie or story line by any stretch of the imagination, but it worth is just to see Anthony Mackie's sexy eyes. That man is FIIIINNNNEEE!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!, October 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crossover (DVD)
Glad I ordered this movie ! I have been looking for it everywhere ! They never had it in any of the stores around here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like the movie, October 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crossover (DVD)
I always wanted this movie but it was ok it remind me of you got serve I will recommend this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cross Over, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crossover (DVD)
This movie is really great, it has a sad and tragic moment but the message is great and awesome wow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie., May 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like this movie. Something that let's people know everything glitters isn't gold. It starts off kind of boring but I like the storyline and it's the kind of African-American storytelling that's is needed right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crossover
Crossover by Preston A. Whitmore II (DVD - 2007)
$14.99 $6.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.