Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
5 star
87%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
13%
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 14, 2008
Don't be misled by this book's title. I started constructing crossword puzzles about 18 months ago. I've read everything I could find about constructing. If you only read one book, this is the one I would recommend. Patrick Berry is a highly regarded constructor, and he does a great job of explaining what goes into the making of professional level puzzles.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2015
Fantastic book. One of if not the best books on crossword construction. You may have noticed that it is extremely expensive–this book has gone out of print and there is a limited amount of them left, thus a higher price. I searched around and the author, Patrick Berry, is selling it on his website (http://aframegames.com/store/?download=21) it costs 10 dollars there to download the pdf. Don't waste your money on the print version!
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2009
The title is completely misleading. Not only is this book totally NOT for dummies, but the text of the book is really about puzzle constructing, not solving. Actually, it's more like two books. In the first book you get 70 great crossword puzzles, of increasing difficulty. I'm up to number 20, and I'd say it's about NYT Wednesday to Thursday difficulty. So, you get at last 40 puzzles above NYT Thursday level, definitely not dummy stuff! The other book is a treatise on crossword puzzle construction, a fascinating read even if all you do is solve puzzles.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 25, 2007
An excellent book with wonderful puzzles by Mr. Berry. Lots of helpful suggestions for constructors as well.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2012
If you're interested in constructing crosswords, this is a must-read. Patrick Berry is a professional puzzlemaker. His crosswords are known for being smooth, full of great vocabulary, and junk-free. Here he illuminates many parts of his construction methods. And if you just like to solve, it includes 70 puzzles! Essential reading for crossword enthusiasts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2009
Simply the best! A real authoritative and educating book on crossword construction. Doug Peterson is right: all the 70 puzzles are pure gold. I also learned a shortcut to count total word entries.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
Great reference work for creating crossword puzzles. Not sure why a solver would want it, though. Hard to find, but I got mine for about $20.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2007
30 Jan 2007

Not only do you get a plethora of entertaining crossword puzzles, you are even introduced to the art of creating them.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse