Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Croweology
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$9.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 12, 2013
I've loved The Black Crowes from the first time I heard them. This CD is exactly as expected. Excellent music!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2010
Excellent collection for any Black Crow lover. All youd hope for and more. Very pleased with the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2010
I'm not going to get into a track by track review, but i'm just gonna say that this is special..I love the stripped down versions of these songs..My only complaint would be that the Crowes didn't put anything from the "By Your Side" cd which is my favorite cd from the Crowes..I would have loved to hear some stripped down tunes from that cd..GREAT BUY!!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2010
This is an incredible CD!

If you only own one Black Crowes CD this should be the one to own!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2010
Probably the best Crowes release ever. Ballad in Urgency/Wiser Time blows my mind, even though I've listened to and seen other variations. Just great from start to finish, with many, many wonderful moments. At last the new line-up shines like it should! Give a shout out for Luther! Morning Song is just so different.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2011
The advent of this collection of the Crowes "unplugged" was brought about by the band announcing that they were wrapping up this phase of the band and as a fan-appreciation effort, were offering a full scale "goodbye" tour and releasing this effort in support of the tour.

For the most part, this collection is a snoozefest and unfortunately, the stripped down performances really do nothing to spark enough interest by utilizing this updated version of the band. Its a novel idea, to take alot of classic Crowes numbers and give them the acoustic style treatment, but honestly, this phase of the band, I am not the biggest supporter of, and I find this lineup and era of the band to be bland and underwhelming. The country gospel flavor given to one of their mini-epics My Morning Song is a blatant rip-off of Leon Russell's Give Peace a Chance(which the band had covered earlier in '05/06 on the first reunion tours) and is tacky and contrived. They do throw in Cold Boy Smile which was one of the newer tracks written during the first phase reunion lineup and also throw in Gram Parsons' She that the band had covered for years,(first appearing at a show in San Francisco back in '94) and is a competent rendition. The acoustic version of Under a Mountain is nice, esp. with the back-up harmonies of Charity White and Mona Young, the band's travelling back-up singers. But overall, this retreading of their back catalogue is uninspired and simply redundant. Even Chris' voicings are a bit tiresome and thin, soundwise. Granted, he's alot older and not the wailer that he used to be from years past, but somehow, its just not possessing of passion and soul. And that goes for Croweology as a whole and the band as well. Very disappointing, they go out with a whimper... 2 stars
44 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2014
Great album from a great band. Love Morning Song with the choir!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2010
Croweology is a MUST purchase. Personally, I feel it's the best music release of 2010 so far. The arrangements are fantastic, the sound mix is perfect, and it deserves a spot on every rock music fan's shelf (or ipod as it were). Add it to your collection right now - you won't be sorry...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2015
Great, great CD. Must have for any music fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2016
It is the Black Crowes. . Need I say more?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.