Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, organized and entertaining
This is our second copy of the book. It was purchased as a gift for a fellow sailor. I was impressed by the organization of the information and wish more cruising guides implemented this format that includes a mini-map on every page. The writing is crisp and informative. Recommended especially for sailors who need deep water passage making and safe places to retreat...
Published 16 months ago by Joan Schmid

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good historical reference with nautical details
This is a great reference book based on the information it provides. However, I was disappointed there were no color plates and the format is not especially friendly. It doesn't play well as a coffee table book and being hard cover it isn't a user's manual either. It does contain a lot of useful information.
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, organized and entertaining, February 26, 2013
This review is from: Cruising the Chesapeake: A Gunkholers Guide, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
This is our second copy of the book. It was purchased as a gift for a fellow sailor. I was impressed by the organization of the information and wish more cruising guides implemented this format that includes a mini-map on every page. The writing is crisp and informative. Recommended especially for sailors who need deep water passage making and safe places to retreat during storms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do yourself a favor and don't cruise or explore the Chesapeake Bay (and beyond) without it., December 6, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent. Highly recommended. A true cruiser’s guide with ratings / rankings on where to go and what do and see. Covers areas by beauty & interest, weather & wave protection, and facilities. Includes a nice to have reliable recommendation on bad weather hold-up locations. If you are a traveler who has found value in Frommer’s or Rich Steves’ guides, you will like this book. A boaters guide from an experienced and knowledgeable Chesapeake Bay (and beyond) sailor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good historical reference with nautical details, June 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cruising the Chesapeake: A Gunkholers Guide, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
This is a great reference book based on the information it provides. However, I was disappointed there were no color plates and the format is not especially friendly. It doesn't play well as a coffee table book and being hard cover it isn't a user's manual either. It does contain a lot of useful information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My husband loves this book, June 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cruising the Chesapeake: A Gunkholers Guide, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
My husband did not even want to put down this book. It is detailed for the Chesapeake bay. It gives all the information you want for boating the Chesapeake. He would highly recommend this book if you want to know the ins and outs of the Chesapeake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get it, February 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cruising the Chesapeake: A Gunkholers Guide, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
One of the best books for cruising the bay. Should be on your boat if you spend time in the Chesapeake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Local Knowledge Source, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cruising the Chesapeake: A Gunkholers Guide, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
Mr. Shellenberger does a great job of capturing the local knowledge that really helps those cruisers that enjoy an anchorage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have for any Chesapeake Bay Cruiser., June 6, 2013
By 
Bianca H. King (Charlottesville, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cruising the Chesapeake: A Gunkholers Guide, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
Fantastic guide, very helpful, we cruise all over the Chesapeake and use this guide all the time. We may not agree with every rating of places, but what we find beautiful or boring is subjective. It is well organized and written.
We would definitely recommend this guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black and White, April 1, 2013
By 
Harry (Mechanicsburg, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cruising the Chesapeake: A Gunkholers Guide, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
This is a nice book, conveniently organized for the Bay cruiser. It's easy to find essential information for any given section of the Bay. If only the charts and pictures were in color, instead of shades of gray, they would be so much more readable and useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful resource, November 3, 2012
By 
Donna Huber (Cincinnati OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cruising the Chesapeake: A Gunkholers Guide, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
This book is a wonderful resource for anyone interested in cruising the Chesapeake. I only wish the photos were in color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars helpful for cruising, June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cruising the Chesapeake: A Gunkholers Guide, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
While no guide is perfect, this one has a lot of helpful hints to the areas we have visited. As newbies on the Chesapeake,(I am a southern New Jersey ocean sailor at heart) we have found a lot of useful information for our adventures. Would recommend this to all sailors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cruising the Chesapeake: A Gunkholers Guide, 4th Edition
Cruising the Chesapeake: A Gunkholers Guide, 4th Edition by William H. Shellenberger (Hardcover - September 19, 2012)
$45.00 $27.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.