Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Great Price
I'm just delighted with this book. It's nice to have all of Crumb's colorful jazz, blues and country portraits together for the first time in one place. Each portrait is accompanied by a short biography of the artist and usually a few tidbits about their records. It also comes with a 21 track CD featuring Jimmie Noone, King Oliver, The Memphis Jug Band, Dock Boggs, The...
Published on September 19, 2006 by Jazz Man

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great illustrations; dissapointing text
This book contains illustrations that Crumb originally did some years ago, to be used like baseball bubblegum cards inserted into record albums. That never worked but the illustrations have gone thru several incarnations and reprintings, now as a book. They are great, well worth the price--IF you like Crumb's work and IF you are interested in classic jazz, old-time...
Published on October 9, 2009 by Reader


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Great Price, September 19, 2006
By 
Jazz Man (Madison, Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
This review is from: R. Crumb's Heroes of Blues, Jazz & Country (Hardcover)
I'm just delighted with this book. It's nice to have all of Crumb's colorful jazz, blues and country portraits together for the first time in one place. Each portrait is accompanied by a short biography of the artist and usually a few tidbits about their records. It also comes with a 21 track CD featuring Jimmie Noone, King Oliver, The Memphis Jug Band, Dock Boggs, The East Texas Serenaders, Skip James and others. Filmmaker and musician Terry Zwigoff also contributes an introduction detailing how Crumb's involvement in the portraits (originally released as trading cards) came about.

All in all this is a good package for a novice or a hardcore music fan. Neither will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "So what is it you like about that old music?" *, March 7, 2008
By 
Kerry Walters (Lewisburg, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: R. Crumb's Heroes of Blues, Jazz & Country (Hardcover)
Wow! Every so often you run across something that knocks your socks off. R. Crumb's Heroes of Blues, Jazz, & Country left me barefooted.

In the 1980s, Robert Crumb, whom Robert Hughes appropriately once called the "Breughel of the 20th century," created sets of trading cards featuring some of his favorite blues, jazz, and country musicians. (The plan was to include one card per LP sold by innovative record firm Yazoo.) This collection, edited by Terry Zwigoff, the same guy who directed the documentary "Crumb," pulls together the illustrations from all three sets. They're wonderful. The blues and country illustrations are drawn, and are vintage Crumb: crosshatched, brooding characters. The jazz illustrations are water-colored. They're identifiably Crumb, but have a definitely different feel to them.

Crumb is a fascinating genius. Although his art and comics tend to be avant-garde (a term he might well disdain) and iconoclastic, Crumb also has a real affinity for late 19th and early 20th century American culture. Part of this love for an earlier time, no doubt, stems from his intense dislike of the fast-paced, loud, and garish American culture he eventually fled in the 1990s (Crumb now lives in France). But part of it is that he thinks the music produced in the early 20th century represents folk art at its finest and purest, before music became an industry. Crumb began collecting old 78s when he was still a teenager, and his love for the older music has never waned.

And so to the piece de resistance of this book: the accompanying 21 cut CD. Crumb personally chose the pieces, and they're absolutely fantastic. Except for a couple of the blues and jazz musicians, all of the artists are virtually unknown except to the afficionado. But man oh man, are they wonderful. Skip James' rendering of "Hard Time Killin' Floor Blues" is a heart-breaker. Dock Boggs' "Sugar Baby" and Burnett & Rutherford's "All Night Long Blues" are haunting in their strange but beautiful ways. And no matter how bad things get, Bennie Moten's Kansas City Orchestra's "Kater Street Rag" will pick you up. My son and I have listened to the CD over and over and over, and we never get tired of it. He prefers the blues and jazz, I'm in love with the hillbilly blue grass cuts. But the whole CD--well, it just knocks your socks off.

Wow.
_____
* From R. Crumb's essay "To Be Interested in Old Music is To Be a Social Outcast!", The R. Crumb Coffee Table Art Book, p. 191. "You play old records for most people, and, if they listen at all, after the record's over they turn to you and say, 'So what is it you like ab out that old music?' You just want to throw up your hands."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pictures plus music equals happiness, February 20, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: R. Crumb's Heroes of Blues, Jazz & Country (Hardcover)
This is an excellent deal. The recordings are certainly esoteric, but I must be in the correct demographic (or something.) I like just about all of the music. I'm a kind of old-time music dilettante, so it's a great way for someone like me to check out some more obscure stuff.

As for the book... hard cover, heavy paper and just the right size to carry around (if so desired.)

Of course the main selling point of this book is the drawings. They are uniformly excellent. Someone with an obsessive personality may wish to collect the actual trading cards which are reproduced in this book, but this is a far more economical and practical means of collecting these drawings.

There is mention of Crumb's decision to use a different coloring technique for the jazz trading card set in the book's introduction. This means that some of Crumb's trademark cross-hatch shading is obscured by the overlay of color. Rather than being a detriment to the jazz drawings, it actually helps to give them a distinct character.

Anyway, buy this book. It's worth double the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great illustrations; dissapointing text, October 9, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: R. Crumb's Heroes of Blues, Jazz & Country (Hardcover)
This book contains illustrations that Crumb originally did some years ago, to be used like baseball bubblegum cards inserted into record albums. That never worked but the illustrations have gone thru several incarnations and reprintings, now as a book. They are great, well worth the price--IF you like Crumb's work and IF you are interested in classic jazz, old-time country, and blues. I'd hoped to learn more about the artists, but the text, about a paragraph on each artist, is very brief and gives minimal info. There's enough to help you follow-up with Google, but that's about it. There's a CD with examples of old 78 cuts by some of the artists, but the selection was limited to cuts that had appeared on one reissue label. I wasn't generally impressed with the selections. In sum, if you're really into R. Crumb's work, get this book; otherwise, forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Novelty Item Reincarnated As Artistic Tour De Force, June 18, 2008
By 
For Two Cents Plain (Brooklyn, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: R. Crumb's Heroes of Blues, Jazz & Country (Hardcover)
Richard Nevins of Rounder Records first came up with the idea for Robert Crumb to illustrate a series of early Blues, Jazz, and Old Time Music and Bluegrass greats along the lines of the baseball cards of his childhood. Crumb went for the idea and produced what became three boxes of cards with illustrations taken from old photos on the front and write-ups about the players on the back (many of them by Nevins).

Now the famous fine arts publisher Abrams Books has designed and published a superb volume that includes the Crumb artwork as never before -- in brilliant color and on a larger scale than the cards -- along with expanded bios and a bonus CD that samples some of this great American roots music. Anyone interested in high-level cartoon art and this powerful expressive music will want to own this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sublime product, October 7, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: R. Crumb's Heroes of Blues, Jazz & Country (Hardcover)
It's not just a book of fine Crumb illustrations. Oh no. It's a nice book for the shelf for people like me who didn't want to have to get these in their past life as trading cards. It's a little bit of info on all the musicians Crumb has drawn. And, it's a fine CD that one can listen to, tapping one's foot as you look at the fine Crumb illustrations.

I don't think my car has that many useful features and it's certainly less enjoyable.

But two copies and give one to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Gem, December 27, 2006
This review is from: R. Crumb's Heroes of Blues, Jazz & Country (Hardcover)
This compilation of R. Crumb's Founders of Blues, Jazz and Country trading cards is a priceless book for those who are interested in the origins of modern day American music. Illustrations of these pioneers come with illuminating one, or two paragraph biographies on the artists. As a bonus there is a 21 track CD which includes a good sampling of the folks included in the book. This is not a work of detailed scholarship, but like trading cards themselves, just a fun thing to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IDIOSYNCRATIC BUT COMPELLING COLLECTION, August 30, 2008
By 
Barry McCanna (Normandy, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: R. Crumb's Heroes of Blues, Jazz & Country (Hardcover)
Knowing the prices that Robert Crumb's work commands (try getting hold of a copy of his illustrated CD "That's What I Call Sweet Music" and you'll see what I mean), when I first saw this advertised I thought that the price must have been entered incorrectly, but no! Just imagine, a 240 page hardback book, illustrated in colour on high quality paper, with an accompanying 21-track CD, for less than you'd expect to pay for either on its own. The book (and CD), falls into three distinct parts, and three different techniques have been used to produce the illustrations.

I'm familiar with the jazz figures, and my comments therefore concentrate on that aspect. The first is that some of these choices are extremely idiosyncratic. Many (Beiderbecke, Armstrong, Morton) are almost obligatory, but scattered amongst them are some quite obscure figures, such as Junie C. Cobb, Roy Palmer, and Ikey Robinson. Fair enough, these are after all Mr. Crumb's heroes, but the accompanying commentary is far too brief and could with advantage have been expanded to fill the space available. Finally, whilst many of the portraits (all of which are based on photographs) are instantly recognisable a few have the look of caricature about them. All of which is to look a gift horse in the mouth, and I would disregard all of those reservations and buy it anyway if I hadn't done so already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the music too..., July 5, 2008
By 
therosen "therosen" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: R. Crumb's Heroes of Blues, Jazz & Country (Hardcover)
In 20/20 hindsight (or hindsound?) I bought the book intending to learn about music. Taken purely as an introduction to three genres of early American music, the book is a success. The pictures (and introduction to R. Crumb the artist) were a huge bonus. Wow! The CD with it completes the trifecta.

This is a fantastic introduction to multiple artistic elements - perhaps a few that will catch the reader/viewer/listener off guard. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Deal!, August 13, 2008
By 
King Fess (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: R. Crumb's Heroes of Blues, Jazz & Country (Hardcover)
You really can't go wrong here...$13 or $14 for a book with wonderful artwork and brief history lessons and a companion CD with some truly timeless music.

Not a general fan of the genre, but I actually found the country music included on the CD to be the most interesting. But really every song is special.

A must have for any Crumb or roots music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

R. Crumb's Heroes of Blues, Jazz & Country
R. Crumb's Heroes of Blues, Jazz & Country by R. Crumb (Hardcover - November 1, 2006)
$21.95 $16.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.