Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment!
With his second book in this series, Taylor Anderson fills in some of the holes of the first book, and provides another fast moving, highly entertaining alternate reality story.

This book continues to focus on the crew of two obsolete American destroyers that were somehow sent to another dimension at the height of naval engagement with Japanese forces in the...
Published on October 18, 2008 by M Bogren

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars First book was awesome. This one was okay.
The first book kept you on the edge of your seat. This one had less action and more minutiae. Notas good but still worth it. DON'T BUY anymore. They sucked. All Taylor cared about was writing about supplies and politics. And defensive fortifications.
Published 23 months ago by Mark


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment!, October 18, 2008
By 
This review is from: Crusade (Destroyermen) (Hardcover)
With his second book in this series, Taylor Anderson fills in some of the holes of the first book, and provides another fast moving, highly entertaining alternate reality story.

This book continues to focus on the crew of two obsolete American destroyers that were somehow sent to another dimension at the height of naval engagement with Japanese forces in the early days of WWII. The ships are actually WWI surplus, hopelessly outclassed by the modern Japanese ships they faced. However, in the new reality, where wooden ships are the order of the day, the American ships rule the waves. At least for awhile.

The new reality where the Americans (and an Australian civilian with unique and helpful talents) find themselves is populated by two sentient races -- evolved lemurs, or Lemurians, who are naturally peaceful, and evolved raptors, or Grik, who are inherently evil. The Americans ally themselves with the Lemurians, and are thrust into a war even more vicious than the one they were forced to leave.

The primary addition to the story provided in this book is some background on the Grik, both culturally and from a strategy standpoint. While the Grik are perhaps caricatures of evil, that is probably not an unrealistic portrayal of evolved carnivorous dinosaurs.

This book rates five stars not because it is great literature (it's not), but because it's great entertainment. The book is very readable; the dialogue continues to be crisp and authentic; the plot is logical and believable. While not all of the characters are developed fully, many are. No one is portrayed as Superman or Sir Galahad; these are generally very real characters. Other reviewers have suggested Pournelle and Stirling have done better. To each his own, as the saying goes. Anderson in my view is far better than Stirling and every bit as enjoyable as Pournelle.

If you like alternate reality/history with a touch of "starting over" that comes with the apocalyptic genre, you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique and Highly Entertaining, December 12, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusade (Destroyermen) (Hardcover)
Not being particularly interested in the science fiction genre, I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Mr. Anderson's first book in this series, Into the Storm.

It was with anticipation, therefore, that I sought out this the second volume in the Destroyermen series. And I was not disappointed in any respect.

It is a fast paced story, with an extraordinarily unique plot, and characters, good and bad (make that cold-bloodedly evil for most), that keep you both interested and thinking about aspects of their "history" or back-story that Anderson suggests or that logically might apply. Any book that fully entertains on its own, and yet which also has the reader expanding the "story" because one has become interested enough to puzzle out even more story lines, is a credit to the author.

Anderson raises serious questions about honor, heroism, venal motivation, and raw terror, and uniquely, not only from the perspective of the humans alone, but also the "evolved" lemurs, and the cold-blooded Grik raptors --- a terrified Grik, in the hands of Anderson, is a sight to behold and relish.

The combat, realistic in every respect, is riveting. And when the equipment (antiquated, in the main, World War I destroyers, and small arms) are not sufficient in quantity, the characters manufacture historically correct alternatives that are familiar to any amateur historian, and perfectly capable of being reproduced in the setting of this story. The alternative dimensional aspects of Anderson's tale, the characters in it and their reactions to the stresses they face, "play well" and make for a superior read.

I want more, and to that end, have pre-ordered the third volume due out next February, Maelstrom. Perhaps Anderson will neatly wrap up this story, but I suspect that there is much more that can be written about these characters, and hope that he will continue or expand the "destroyermen" universe with more stories in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy Series, December 17, 2008
By 
G. Styles (Vienna, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crusade (Destroyermen) (Hardcover)
I normally shy away from series, because few hold my attention long enough to reach the third or fourth volume. I picked up "Into the Storm" at the library when I couldn't find anything else that caught my interest, and now I'm hooked. Just pre-ordered the third volume from Amazon.

Anderson shines by keeping his characters realistic and representative of the Greatest Generation types who would have crewed such vessels at the start of WWII. He hasn't turned them all into sophisticated, culturally-sensitive college grads, nor has he provided them with unlikely skills in martial arts or advanced technology--though I must say the Australian engineer who just happens to have the maps to all the Indonesian oil fields on his person is a bit too convenient.

At times I was reminded of a different Anderson, Poul, not in the writing style, but in the cultural extrapolation of the Lemurian and Grik species. There are also occasional reminders of "Sand Pebbles", another novel about US Asiatic Fleet sailors by Richard McKenna, who was one and who also wrote some SF. If Destroyermen isn't quite classic science fiction or great literature, it's extremely entertaining. I eagerly await the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, November 2, 2008
By 
Jeffrey T. Elder (chehalis, wa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusade (Destroyermen) (Hardcover)
This is another great book Taylor Anderson. You need to rear the first book in the series before this one or you will be lost. Well worth your money. Can't wait for the next one to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won’t be disappointed!, March 11, 2014
This review is from: Crusade (Destroyermen) (Mass Market Paperback)
In this sequel to Into The Storm, we return to the parallel Earth, where the World War 2-era American destroyers Mahon and Walker were pulled. The captain of the USS Walker is trying to organize the Lemurians so that they can survive the coming onslaught of the ferocious Grik, and he has lots of ideas. What he doesn’t have, unfortunately, is time. The Grik Grand Swarm is gathering, and the Lemurians will have to unify if they are to have a chance of survival. To make matters worse, it appears that one other ship was pulled through The Squall to this other Earth, the fearsome Japanese battle cruiser Amagi. The Destroyermen and Lemurians are going to need a lot of luck and courage if they are to survive the coming ordeal...a LOT of luck and courage!

Overall, I must say that I really enjoyed this book. The author did a really good job of keeping the suspense and the tension ratcheted up, as the good guys go from triumph to tragedy and back again. I really enjoyed this alternate Earth that the author created, and I think that he did a great job of making it very different and yet totally believable.

I enjoyed this book, and I really do think that you will too. So, if you read Into The Storm, hurry up and get Crusade. You won’t be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another in a good series..., March 3, 2011
A good tale well told.

Good characters, interesting setting, intriguing plot, well handled story telling.

Not great, but quite good. Good enough to be very readable and definitely good enough to make it worth picking up the next in the series.

I was fascinated to see how much of a shambles the intrepid Walker could be made into yet still, somehow, be made to keep going. Anderson knows his ships and he knows the sort of men it takes to run them. By concentrating on that he wrings a compelling tale from the human scale drama.

This is a tale of voracious and implacable enemies, spirited humans being human, and plucky allies all coming together in the most exciting manner possible.

Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars more good sci fi, October 31, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusade (Destroyermen) (Hardcover)
This is the second in the series; read the first book first. See my review of the third book for more details. You have some good ideas mixed in with a strange conflict between reptilian creatures (very nasty) and monkey like critters who are quite human like in some ways. The author has fun with the story, mixing occasional facts about naval ships of WWII and the situation in the book. I enjoyed the light, nonserious (unless you were a monkey like creature fighting for your race's survival in the book) nature of the book. Lots of drama, political and other, that add to the flavor. A good read for the escapist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read! Can't wait for the next title., February 1, 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Carroll County, MD) - See all my reviews
If you enjoy fantastic creatures, nation building, and a truely evil enemy, then this series of books is for you. The characters are well defined and the plot is very believable, but not too predictable. Put simply, it's a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent..., June 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusade (Destroyermen) (Hardcover)
I love this series and the author. Good SciFi is hard to find so I recommend this series without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first!, November 14, 2008
By 
BookWorm (Fort Worth, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crusade (Destroyermen) (Hardcover)
I read the first book and got curious; the story took turns I wasn't expecting, but this book was great! Very exciting and hard to put down, I can't wait until the next one comes out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crusade (Destroyermen)
Crusade (Destroyermen) by Taylor Anderson (Mass Market Paperback - November 3, 2009)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.