Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nifty Little Add-on
This is a nifty little add-on to CK2 that allows players to set the initial stats and characteristics of their *initial* ruler. As another reviewer has already pointed out, you can only edit stats for your first ruler, not his or her heirs. There are also elements of game balance: adding positive characteristics ages your character. So if you start out with several...
Published 23 months ago by Benjamin

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate, but not too exciting
Crusader Kings is an interesting game. Playing it its clear that the authors had a solid impression of what they wanted, and the research into the basic world is solid.

This add-on allows a player to create his own initial ruler. This ends up changing history, but also allows a player to build his dynasty from a starting point that fits what they want...
Published 23 months ago by Mvargus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nifty Little Add-on, August 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: Ruler Designer DLC [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This is a nifty little add-on to CK2 that allows players to set the initial stats and characteristics of their *initial* ruler. As another reviewer has already pointed out, you can only edit stats for your first ruler, not his or her heirs. There are also elements of game balance: adding positive characteristics ages your character. So if you start out with several advantages, your character begins the game in his or her 30s or 40s. This annoys you at first, but when you stop and think about it, what would be the fun in creating a Superman with all stats in the 30s?

I recommend taking the Wounded trait. It's temporary, and makes your character younger.

A minor criticism I have is that (like all too many other games like this) you can't create a truly dark-skinned character. Considering some rulers begin in Africa, this would add realism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like looking like me....Queue Carly Simon "You're so Vain", September 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: Ruler Designer DLC [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
I purchased this because to be honest I am vain and like to look like my character. Paradox makes amazing games that are in depth then spend many years supporting them. I have no problem buying their add-ons to return the favor. The added features allow you to setup your looks, skill points, and traits. It does give you a bit of an advantage if you min/max it. Though it is a great add-on and well worth the price. Great job Paradox <3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate, but not too exciting, August 1, 2012
By 
Mvargus (Spring Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: Ruler Designer DLC [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Crusader Kings is an interesting game. Playing it its clear that the authors had a solid impression of what they wanted, and the research into the basic world is solid.

This add-on allows a player to create his own initial ruler. This ends up changing history, but also allows a player to build his dynasty from a starting point that fits what they want.

This might mean more in multi-player which I have not tried. For solo play its interesting and can definitely add an element of fun, but as the game is designed to be played as a dynasty where you'll have multiple rulers over time, the fact that you can custom design your initial ruler doesn't add a whole lot to the game.

I'd look for the other add-ons first. This one is really only for the hardcore gamer who's played so many times that they are sick of the historical rulers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should of been included in the game, December 17, 2012
By 
Geomancer (Northern USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: Ruler Designer DLC [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
This is a handy feature to have in the game, it lets you fully edit your starting ruler. However, the key here is that it is *only* your starting ruler. Anyone who has played this game knows that your ruler can literally die within 5 minutes of starting your game from a random event.

You can change your appearance, set your own name, and create your own Dynasty. You can also customize your coat of arms for your dynasty.

The final thing you can edit, and the real meat of this editor, are your rulers traits. You get to pick and choose from any of them in the game, and almost all of them have either a cost or a credit to your rulers age. Give yourself too many bonuses and you'll start the game as a very old man and not expect to live very long. It's almost a game in itself of trying to decide which negatives to give yourself so that you can start at a resonable age while keeping in mind that your traits can be passed down to your heirs.

A caution is that you start all by yourself. You have no one else up the line in your dynasty or any brothers/sisters. You can have a wife and/or children (at a cost to your age) from the editor, but no one else in the family. This means you will not have any claims on any lands at the start. As an example of a popular start, choosing Dublin in Ireland will in a normal game have you as the heir to the County of Leinster which you often get quite early as he is your father and starts the game old. However, if you customize your ruler you are no longer his son and thus do not inherit that title on his death.

It's a very nice feature, but something so basic I really feel it should have been included in the game rather than as additional paid content. I recommend waiting for a 75% off sale before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Alright but could be better, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: Ruler Designer DLC [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Allows change of looks only of initial character and the character's attributes and permanent change of dynasty name and family coat-of-arms. Coat-of-arms changes are good but could have been better. Changing your dynasty name doesn't change the name of all the relatives that you would normally start with--it just changes the initial characters dynasty name which means you have a more difficult time establishing yourself (in my playing experience) and I think it makes the beginning stages more difficult than if you just left things alone. Also since it eliminates the possibility of playing in the Ironman mode it does not make the game as versatile as it could. It would be great if: 1) It did not eliminate the Ironman mode; 2) I like the color choices for shields (even more!) but there's no ermine or other furs and overall could follow heraldry rules more closely; 3) allow one to just change the shield but leave everything else alone; and lastly 4) when one changes the dynasty name have it change every character of the replaced dynasty to the new name. I'd get it again, but it is nice to know the limitations it has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: Ruler Designer DLC [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
Excellent game, quick download through Steam code. Always look out for Amazon deals, they are sometimes better than Steam sales!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, March 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: Ruler Designer DLC [Online Game Code] (Software Download)
It does things you can do already, but let's you do it with a gui instead of modifying the files yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.