Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Republics? Oh yeah!!!
I bought Republics DLC, and I love it!!!! As a very rich republic of Italian wiseguys, I made a nice indent into history. By attacking local rulers, I was able to establish trading ports in many regions, competed with rival Republics for the almighty dollar, and whacked a few cousins to get some money from them. I really love this expansion!! While it isn't a completely...
Published on January 17, 2013 by GhostPuppy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the weaker CK2 expansions
I had some fun with it here and there, but there is far too much just waiting around. I think it is probably the weakest out of the major CK2 expansions. If you want the financial benefits of a Republic without playing as a Republic, just give one of your landless courtiers a city (make sure and give them the city first!) and then give them a duchy or a kingdom. And...
Published 8 months ago by Tim Wheeler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Republics? Oh yeah!!!, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: The Republic DLC [Download] (Software Download)
I bought Republics DLC, and I love it!!!! As a very rich republic of Italian wiseguys, I made a nice indent into history. By attacking local rulers, I was able to establish trading ports in many regions, competed with rival Republics for the almighty dollar, and whacked a few cousins to get some money from them. I really love this expansion!! While it isn't a completely new game, the neat money focused experiance is pretty cool. You have to finance a family business, so you gotta be rolling in dough to compete with the other Doges. If you are to buy any expansion and expect a different focal point, get this expansion. It doesn't open half the world up to you like the Sword of Islam did, but it's a good deal. Bottom line, it's a great buy and will keep you occupied for a while. Original game required to play. Steam required as well. If you didn't enjoy the original game, you'll most likely not be throwing a party over this, but for everyone else, go for it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Expansion, February 2, 2013
By 
Griswel (Rochester, NY) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: The Republic DLC [Download] (Software Download)
The Republic expansion adds several Merchant Republic states to CK2. Each has five competing families made up of non-noble, but filthy rich, individuals. You play as the leader of one of these. Each family has "home holdings" which cannot be taken, think of them as properties scattered all over. This home holding can be improved with many benefits.

You can create Trading Posts on any coastal county (there's a separate building tab). Perhaps best of all, you have an almost-automatic CB against any coastal city holder. You don't get the whole county, but cities are good cash cows and in the right hands, good sources of troops. Your family's inheritance scheme is seniority, so think of Russia (you can declare a "Designated Heir", however). The Republic itself has elections, but fortunately the Player seems to be the only one who spends money on the election. The three election score-givers are age (the main source), prestige and campaign spending. Embargo wars are a risk, since the various Kings can make a bundle destroying your (and your vassals) trading posts.

The game adds another playstyle to your options. Also, you can create a Republic from any Duke level character. Play as someone other than your chosen Duke (use the ruler creator and save if you like) use the console to strip your guy of titles, then give them back starting with a city. The game will create five families for the new Republic. This is great if you want to play in Ireland :D You have to roll the start date forward if you want to play Hansa, but Venice, Genoa, Pisa and Gotland (yes, Sweden finally gets some love in a Paradox title), a small Baltic sea island, are available in 1066.

Republic play is different in many ways. You rely more on mercenaries than you would otherwise. You roll up tons of cash. Marriage isn't as beneficial as it usually is, since you're not noble. The sexes are reversed in value. Men add to your overhead costs, think decadence only with dollar signs, and you have to pay a bride price to marry any woman above mere courtier. Women add prestige if you live long enough to marry off your daughters.

The downside is that the coastal-city CB can easily be used to excess, and it's too easy to remain Doge, but all in all, the expansion has been a blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DLC, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: The Republic DLC [Download] (Software Download)
It adds a new dimension of gameplay to Crusader Kings. It's definitely a move back towards realism after the Sunset Invasion. Merchants are complicated, but once you get the hang of them they offer unique challenges and a new way of viewing the medieval world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Legit, September 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: The Republic DLC [Download] (Software Download)
I'll be honest I've only ever used this item in a mod of the game (Game of Thrones mod. Check it out.) But its pretty cool. It opens up this new "Republic" tab that you can access, where you compete in the elections and stuff. You also get this pretty sweet Family Mansion that you can build up and fill with cool stuff. It's pretty nice. The only real drawback is that it locks your succession into Agnatic Seniority, which becomes a real pain after a few generations. It becomes impossible to educate your heir the way you want, and so sometimes you end up with bad heirs. The only real way to control it is through intrigue and assassination, which is kinda lame. But all in all a pretty decent product, I definitely recommend getting it and playing around with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One of the weaker CK2 expansions, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: The Republic DLC [Download] (Software Download)
I had some fun with it here and there, but there is far too much just waiting around. I think it is probably the weakest out of the major CK2 expansions. If you want the financial benefits of a Republic without playing as a Republic, just give one of your landless courtiers a city (make sure and give them the city first!) and then give them a duchy or a kingdom. And voila, you have a Vassal Republic you can tax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Expansion, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: The Republic DLC [Download] (Software Download)
The Republic is an essential DLC for anyone who wants to play CK2. The Republic let's you play as Merchant Republics which are locked with the basic version of the game. Republics are controlled by five ruling families in an oligarchic sort of format. Republics are a separate category of country meaning that they compete with each other and play by their own set of rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: The Republic DLC [Download] (Software Download)
Excellent game, quick download through Steam code. Always look out for Amazon deals, they are sometimes better than Steam sales!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A ton of fun., August 19, 2013
By 
atliia (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: The Republic DLC [Download] (Software Download)
In a republic it is much easier to lose power. But, do not worry. Over time your house will be back in charge! A great expansion for hours of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Winning the world with trade, June 17, 2013
By 
Mvargus (Spring Valley, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: The Republic DLC [Download] (Software Download)
I quickly found that republics end up with lots of money, especially if properly managed. Of course, they also have the potential to spend even greater amounts of money.

I think this is my favorite of the expansions. It offers a new twist to the game, and definitely requires a different touch. Republics rely much more on mercenaries and trade, which is a definite change. Even their marriages adjust as you now can end up paying money to arrange an advantageous marriage to the neighboring duke. (if you can convince him to wed his daughter to a common merchant.)

Not much else new, but anyone picking up this DLC probably already has the original game and has discovered the time-consuming fun and frustration that is Crusader Kings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crusader Kings II is an awesome game and any DLC is well worth it, August 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusader Kings II: The Republic DLC [Download] (Software Download)
Crusader Kings II is an awesome game and any DLC is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crusader Kings II: The Republic DLC [Download]
$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.