Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Sixx AM Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

  • Crush
  • Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$6.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 13, 2000
After five years of hiatus, solo albums galore and certain *movie deals*, Bon Jovi are back with a vengence! "Crush" is a mixture of classic Bon Jovi at its best, and way more listenable than dreary, mellodramatic 1995 album "These Days".
Please don't be misleaded by the first track - "It's My Life". The song sounds remarkably similar to their big 80's hit "Living On a Prayer" (hardcore fans will notice that Tommy and Gina's story continues), but the rest of the album isn't the same at all. "Say It Isn't So" sounds like something Matchbox Twenty would sing, because it does sound rather, well, young (I myself am still debating who would sound better singing lead - Jon or Rob Thomas..) but Bon Jovi pulls it off pretty darn well! "I Got The Girl" and "One Wild Night" sound rather victorious and will be great for rock parties. "Captain Crash & the Beauty Queen From Mars" is unique (and not just by title!) but enjoyable and fun.
As for ballads, rest assure there are a few, and they're good too! "Save the World" starts off a bit like their '94 hit "Always", but has its own unique sound and will be great for relaxing - with your loved one or on your own, whilst gathering your thoughts. If this song gets released I'm sure it'll be a massive hit.
In a nutshell, Bon Jovi has managed to keep the old sound that we know and love, and adapt it to sound suitable for the fresh new 21st century. The band hasn't gotten *old*, and track 6 explains it well: They're "Just Older".
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2000
The five year wait is over! Bon Jovi are back and better than ever with new album, "Crush"! If you're a die-hard fan you'll love it and even if you're not, you may be pleasantly surprised. It's classic Jovi at their finest. Starting with "It's My Life" and updated version of "Livin' On a Prayer" for the new millenium, will get your feet moving and if you aren't singing along by the second chorus, there's something wrong with you!Their ballad, "Thank You for Loving Me" will be the next wedding song for many years to come and with songs like "Save the World" or "Mystery Train", Jon and Richie's harmonies are in top form.They've experimented with new songs,like the humerous, "Captain Crash and the Beauty Queen from Mars" or the visual of "Two Story Town", but to great effect. Bon Jovi fans won't be disappointed. This is the album we've been waiting for. I can't stop listening to it! Thanks,guys for the great album! We love you and are glad you're back for the Next 100 years!
0Comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2000
Of the three biggest bands of the 80's (Bon Jovi, Def Leppard, Poison), only bon Jovi, somehow, someway, was able to maintain a sizable audience into the grunge-n-gloom 90's with subtle shifts in style resulting in slick, adult oriented albums like Keep the Faith and These Days. They were both very respectable efforts but they leaned too heavily on Adult-contempory ballads and half-hearted rock, they lacked that 'fire' that Slippery when Wet and New Jersey kindled. However, after a solo outing, Jon Bon Jovi reunites with Richie Sambora, David Bryan, and co. for the first 'Bon Jovi' effort in 5 years. And it's very well worth the wait.
The best comes first; It's My Life is bound to be the catchiest rock song you'll hear all year. This song is absolutley classic Bon Jovi with an ever-so-subtle modern rock inflection. If the rest of the album borders into Matchbox 20/3rd Eye Blind territory sometimes (You'll almost find yourself singing 'Do do do, do do do do' to the intro of Say it Isn't So), so be it, but the band keeps their feet firmly planted in classic rock territory most of the time showcasing whale-sized hooks and the big, catchy singalong chorus they've always been second-to-none in crafting.
There's at least 5 or 6 hit cuts off this album should radio decide to pick them up in It's My Life, the stellar Just Older, One Wild Night, and the ballads Thank You, Save the World, and Next 100 Years. Every other cut here is well-executed, with enough appeal at the classic rock and modern rock end of the totem to reach just about every listener out there.
Bon Jovi hasn't gotten old, just older (as the song puts it so eloquently). Crush alludes to glories of past (It's My Life) and looks to the future with a bright eye. It also tips it's hat to pure, decadent rock (One Wild Night). This album is on par with Bon Jovi's best, and while it's not quite as good as Def Leppard or Poison's recent efforts (Euphoria and Crack a Smile) it's bound to be more successful, because after all, to a degree, it's still perfectly OK to say you're a Bon Jovi fan. Albums like these show why.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2000
This could almost be hailed a come-back album for the BonJoviboys after their almost 6-year hiatus and the mixed results ofKeep The Faith and These Days. Don't be fooled: Bon Jovi is still in fine form with gutsy yet smooth arena rock, feel-good anthems, flawless production values, gritty blue-collar (albeit sometimes clichéd) lyrics and Jon's vocal sincerity (no matter what he sings, he makes you want to believe it)... It's tried-and-true Bon Jovi... And folks...that's GOOD. New Jersey was twelve years or so ago. Any artist has to grow, evolve and mature... What makes Bon Jovi worthy of being recognized is his/their longevity. They manage to remain relevant, fresh and contemporary without losing the core that makes them Bon Jovi in the first place. And they've pulled that off exceptionally well on Crush. There's certainly enough catchy songwriting and addictive hooks and melodic ideas here to keep your head (and foot) busy for a long time. The patented melodicism and sing-along style is still here in full force. I do think there's more depth and substance on this album than the balance of their work. The songs reflect a wider gamut of emotions and interpretation...and there's more variety here in terms of instrumentation, rhythms and arrangements. It's not "New Jersey", but it's close to being just as strong on its own merits.
The modern rock influences do Bon Jovi good...they've gone beyond the typical arena-rock, anthemic formulas (check out "Say It Isn't So", "Captain Crash" and "Two Story Town"). But the groove and catchiness and memorability are still there...check out "It's My Life", "Next 100 Years", and "Just Older" (in my opinion 3 of the strongest songs on the album). Better, more aggressive work from Tico Torres on drums, more colors and arrangements from David on keyboards, and more versatility from Jon. They've found a good balance here between staying fresh yet true to their roots.
My only gripes: Ritchie Sambora, while paying more attention to arrangement, and musicality than flashy licks, is nevertheless too restrained on this album. There are places on "Crush" where Ritchie's blues-influenced lead work and musical phrasing would have been much-welcomed. It would have been nice to hear a more aggressive guitar. When he does step it up, he delivers.
And while Jon has improved, there are still clichéd, recycled themes and lyrics here. "Thank You For Loving Me and Two Story Town" come to mind....and to a lesser extent "Save The World", though it's a beautiful ballad and to me, even better than "Thank You...But all around a strong album that shows the rock greatness of Bon Jovi. Good stuff. END
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2000
Crush, the new release from Bon Jovi, is not only one of the best albums in their collection, it is one of, if not THE best album of 2000. From sweeping ballads to energetic rock songs to orchestrated anthems, there's something for everyone on this album. "Thank You For Loving Me" will be a smash hit, and probably the wedding song for the next 5 years. "Just Older" is a song that, if you sing along, will make you feel better about your life and circumstances, no matter what they are. Your feet would have to be firmly cased in concrete if you could listen to "One Wild Night" without moving. And then there are unexpected jewels like "Mystery Train," a romantic lyric with a flowing melody and "Captain Crash and the Beauty Queen from Mars," a rocker filled with humor and irony. As always, Bon Jovi is a band that will make you believe, whether it's in a Higher Power or Yourself. Jon Bon Jovi's vocals are mature and diverse, giving each song a character of it's own. Bon Jovi's message is positive and their songwriting and musicianship skills are concise. They are far and above the best American rock band. Do yourself a favor and buy this CD.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2000
I was searching desperately for that sound, that 80's upbeat sound that I've heard on the radio a few times but never knew who created it. When I heard "It's my Life" on the radio, and heard it was by Bon Jovi, I finally heard that sound, a song I can relate to. I'm almost constantly looking for inspiration in my life, and the lyrics of that song helped fill a pleasant void.
Then I listened to the rest of the CD. Amazing, simply amazing. I thought 'It's my life' was great, now here are 8 other songs that are just as good, or better! After listening to this album, I quickly ran up to best buy and bought their crossroads cd. I am now addicted to Bon Jovi music, and Crush started this addiction. Here's my little breakdown of each song (I've placed Bon Jovi songs into three categories: Passionate-'livin' on a prayer' and 'you give love a bad name' type songs; Fun-'Bad medicine' and 'Wanted dead or alive' type songs and Ballad-'Always' and 'Bed of Roses' type songs):
1 It's my life-(passionate) This is exactly what I've been thinking for the past year, and this song helped channel my thoughts to music. Very upbeat and passionate, advancement to the "livin' on a prayer" tune in theme and sound. When Jon sings "It's my life, it's now or never, I aint gonna live forever" if you're not yelling it out loud with him, perhaps you should re-examine your current life situation. Rated 10/10
2 Say it aint so-(fun) This song is quite different form the rest of Bon Jovi music, and I didn't like it initially, but it is growing on me, and reminds me of current rock with a touch of the beatles. Rated 9/10
3 Thank you for loving me-(ballad) Ah, their first new ballad on the CD. This really is great stuff right here. The vocals and music, like any other of their ballads, are seamless and very emotional. Like many others have said, this is a perfect marriage tune right here. Rated: 10/10
4 Two Story Town-(fun) Lyrics are fun, music is very catchy, and this is REAL music, unlike the "music" on the radios today. Inspiring message: Do not live your life in moderation. Rated: 9/10
5 Next 100 years-(passionate) The beginning of this song is almost too incredible, the song doesn't quite live up to the beginning, but it is a great song nonetheless. Vocal are awesome (It is Bon Jovi...) Rated: 10/10
6 Just Older-(passionate) Although I really can't relate to this song's message (I'm only 17...), the sound of this song, more than any other, has the old 80s sound to it. One of the heavier tunes on this relatively softer album, Just Older is both passionate and fun. Rated: 10/10
7 Mystery Train-(passsionate/ballad) Album's first low point, not a bad song at all (it's pretty good actually), it just doesn't live up to the rest of the amazing songs throughout the rest of the album. It's not as loving as a ballad, and not as exciting as a passionate song which renders it a little of an odd ball. Rated: 7/10
8 Save the World-(ballad) The opening vocals may be a little tedious, but the rest of the song is nothing less than heaven sent, it really is the best chorus Bon Jovi has ever written. Simply marvelous in every respect, if you're not in the lovey-dovey mood after this, nothing can save you. Rated: 10/10
9 Captain Crash & the Beauty Queen from Mars-(fun) This song is pure fun, and there isn't a more upbeat and smile inducing song on this CD. Great guitar and drum work, vocals are very fun. Rated: 10/10
10 She's a Mystery-(ballad?) Uh, every cd has them, even an amazing cd such as this has its low points, and this is one of them. The music is pretty boring, and this only makes the vocals sound even more out of place. Rated: 3/10
11 I Got the Girl-(fun) And here's the only other low point of the cd. The chorus is very cheesy and reminds me of 'Lay your hands on me', but at least that song was decent, this is a proportional disaster. Oh well... Rated: 2/10
12 One Wild Night-(fun) So does the cd end on a positive note? I say so. Bon Jovi ends with very catchy (and heavy) tune. The beginning and end of this song are pretty cheesy though and should be ignored... Rated: 8/10
If you you're in search of really great music that truly has an inspiring message behind it, I beg you to purchase this album. It'll only cost [several dollars], but the joy and inspiration you draw from the music may be priceless (if you're anything like me). Good luck!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2000
It's the one we've been waiting for! 'Crush' shows everyone (believers and non-believers) that the boys still have what it takes to kick butt! Jon Bon Jovi, Richie Sambora, David Bryan, and Tico Torres are (thank goodness) not ready to throw in the towel yet. Musically and lyrically, I feel it this the best album the band has ever released. Their newfound maturity shows through in every song. The opener, "It's My Life", brings back the classic Bon Jovi sound and Richie's signature work on the talk box. The shift then changes to the rocker "Say It Isn't So", which speaks of keeping ones dreams in sight. The call-and-answer chorus is reminiscent of the Beatles era, giving the guys a strong base to work off of. Track three, "Thank You For Loving Me", is the anthem for the hopeless romantic. It tells of honesty, faithfullness, and devotion. "Two Story Town" explores the ups and downs of small-town life. The uplifting final lyric shines some hope into the future. "Next 100 Years" again carries the stroyline of a devoted lover. In "Just Older" Jon sings of his happiness with his life and his position in it. "Mystery Train" is a fantastic ballad about how the love between two people can lead them in unexpected directions and new territories. "Save The World" is another beautiful ballad about how someone's love can inspire the biggest changes in life. My personal favorite, "Captain Crash and the Beauty Queen From Mars", tells the story of a young couple who doesn't let society's acceptance stand in their way. A real tear-jerker, "She's A Mystery" delves into the passion of love that can immerse someone so deeply that even they aren't sure of everything. "I Got The Girl" is a very inspiring song, written by Jon, about the love he feels for his five-year-daughter. The hardest-rocking song on the album, "One Wild Night" is all about having fun, something the boys in Bon Jovi know a lot about. 'Crush' is definitely a top-of-the-line album and a must-have for any true classic-rock-with-a-hint-of-metal-bombast-power-pop fan!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2001
You know, I keep seeing reviews from this album from people who openly admit they haven't bought it, or even heard it. They feel bold as brass by giving it a one-star rating and trying to dismiss the band as a big-hair 80s group that should've faded into oblivion long before we reached the new millennium. But I've wasted enough words on those reviewers. Let's talk CRUSH.
Without a doubt, this is the greatest album that Bon Jovi has ever put out. I'm 19, which makes a lot of people dismiss my opinion because I wasn't "there" for 7800, SLIPPERY WHEN WET and the other early hits. But I do own the majority of the group's albums, have been listening to them for what seems like forever and have loved just about all they've put out. So I like to think I know what I'm talking about.
CRUSH doesn't have the anthemic, impotent, hollow sounds of most of today's rock bands. Tracks like "I Got the Girl" and "She's a Mystery" are weak, but they still mean something, which is more than you can say for all of the teenybopping, no-talent [stuff] that's clouding the radio these days. The high points on the album are very high. It's hardly a Bon Jovi album without the ballads, and the ones on CRUSH are particularly good. Jon Bon Jovi's stregnths as a songwriter are particularly poigniant on "Save the World" and "Next 100 Years," but the most beautiful of them all is "Thank You For Loving Me," which is one of the best songs the group has ever come up with.
Naturally, the infectious (in a good way) "It's My Life" steals all the headlines with its heavy origins in "Livin' on a Prayer." The uplifting song about living to the fullest and seizing the day sets the mood for all of the fast rock songs on the album (not to mention the album's production itself), especially "Just Older" and "Two Story Town." "Captain Crash and the Beauty Queen From Mars" is pure fun, and "Say It Isn't So" is a higher-tech version of your typical Bon Jovi song. "One Wild Night" is a great closing song, not to mention an awesome name for a tour, but the lenghty introduction to it could be done without.
All told, CRUSH is one of the most spectacular albums of 2000. Music today is both pitiful and pricey, and while you may pay the same amount of money for CRUSH that you will for anything else, the experience of the latest album is second to none. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2000
I have listened to this cd now for 2 weeks because of my MP3 player. I have also purchased this cd today and it is simply amazing. 'It's my life' is a great anthem song about personal independence. 'Thank you for loving me' has to be one of Bon Jovi's best ballads. 'I got the girl' is my personal favorite on the album, it is a ton of fun. 'Say it isn't so' is likely a rock radio hit right off the bat. 'Next 100 years' is a mid tempo ballads that has some great lyrics. 'Just Older' is a great song about maturing without becoming 'outdated'. I have been a Bon Jovi fan for 17 years and I feel this is their best album to date. I don't say that lightly either. It is far better than their last effort, which was solid, but not great IMO. Have fun with this cd and I just know you will be singing the choruses before you know it. It is addictive.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2000
This review is for the Australian Limited Collector's Edition of Crush. As for the Japanese version, it contains two songs more than the US version, I Could Make A Living Out Of Lovin' You and Neurotica. By the way, the International version does contain I Could Make A Living Out Of Lovin' You but not Neurotica. So, now the review... This is without a doubt a great comeback! If you loved the 80's rock sound, you'll love this CD! After two years of solos the guys really came back hard. You can feel the new sound of Jon's voice mixing with the mood and music of their solos and with the background of the 80's. This is a really good album. However, don't think that it's a replica of Slippery or New Jersey but it definatly got the FEEL! Again, GREAT CD!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.