Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo!
Strong characters, high adventure, a beautiful backdrop, appropriate flashbacks, historical value...this show is a gem. What a refreshing departure from the usual network fare of reality shows and crime dramas. And how often does a modern TV show or movie present a lead character who doesn't have a dark side, but has total integrity and honor. Winchester's protrayal of...
Published on February 22, 2009 by C. B. Jrr

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get off the Island
It was a good T.V. show with good fight scenes, I just wish they could have fast forward to when Robinson and Friday got off the island. I suppose they were hoping to do that in season 2.
Published 22 months ago by Stevie-D


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo!, February 22, 2009
By 
C. B. Jrr (Durango, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crusoe: The Complete Series (DVD)
Strong characters, high adventure, a beautiful backdrop, appropriate flashbacks, historical value...this show is a gem. What a refreshing departure from the usual network fare of reality shows and crime dramas. And how often does a modern TV show or movie present a lead character who doesn't have a dark side, but has total integrity and honor. Winchester's protrayal of Crusoe is admirable, as is the character himself. Can't say enough good about this show. And I agree with those who'd like to see a movie made to tie up the loose ends at the end of season 1. Anyway...bravo Crusoe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch This Show!, February 21, 2009
By 
This review is from: Crusoe: The Complete Series (DVD)
I just stumbled upon this show when it was on TV and was lucky enough to see it from the very first episode all the way through (thanks to Tivo -- it wasn't easy to find it otherwise with all of the scheduling changes it went through). I am so happy to see that it is being released on DVD! It will be fun to watch it again. If you haven't seen this show, or if you missed some of the episodes, I highly recommend it. It's a lot of fun and a great family show too. I hope the DVD set includes some extras not seen on TV. It would be great if they made some kind of movie to tie up everything not resolved in the series. Or, continuing the series to another season would be even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crusoe, July 1, 2009
This review is from: Crusoe: The Complete Series (DVD)
Crusoe:
An action packed television series loaded with pirates, cannibals, flying musket shot, and a dog called Dundee. Crusoe: the Complete Season is a swash-buckling tale based on the famous novel of which almost everybody has heard but almost no one has read. However, if you are searching for an exact portrayal of the story, you will be disappointed. Or if you are merely wishing to be entertained, love adventure, don't mind a smattering of romance, enjoy seeing committed love between a husband and wife, and take delight in two friends who are as close as brothers, then Crusoe is definitely a movie series you will enjoy time and time again.
For the most part, Crusoe is very family-friendly. There are a few scenes with bloodshed, and once in a while a lady tries to romance Crusoe (a very forward pirate lady in the first episode and another in the later episodes), whom he gently tells that his heart is given to another and he will remain faithful to that one. I was amazed to see his steadfastness in this area; few movies/television series have this theme continuing throughout the duration. Another caution for parents is that there is a nude scene with one of the women; nothing sexual takes place, but Crusoe has fallen down a cliff side and needs to get back up, so she's trying to make a rope with everything she's got on . . . a rather awkward situation. It happens to be in my least favorite episode (in which Friday falls ill from eating poisoned honey). In fact, I personally believe it is one of the more stupid programs, but every television series out there has at least one boring installment. So those are my warning to parents. Adults, of course, view at their own discretion.
The main underlying plot of the story is for Crusoe to figure out a way to get back to his family in England, taking his friend, Friday, along with him. By the way, he is called Friday because Crusoe cannot pronounce his real name, a fact Friday seems to love resurrecting. While he is desperately searching for some means of returning home (quite a few opportunities arise, and at least once he must choose between leaving Friday behind and/or being left behind with his friend), an evil in England is trying to destroy the small family he loves so much. Of course, if I told you who the bad guy was and just why he's the bad guy, that would ruin the story completely.
My last thought on this particular television series, is that though they call it the Complete Season, it is far from finished. The last installment leaves the viewer hanging, not knowing what happens next. So, my hope is that enough people will enjoy the few episodes there are and a general outcry for one more (only one, maybe two are needed to consummate the series) will prod the producers of Crusoe into finishing and airing the last show. That way Friday will stun the modern world of that time with his Einstein-like intellect, and Crusoe can finally be with his family and the wife he loves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT !!!!, June 29, 2010
This review is from: Crusoe: The Complete Series (DVD)
We bought this DVD set and have enjoyed it tremendously as a family. Our son is 11 and each time after watching an episode, he would charge around the house with his "pirate" sword stuffed into the waistband of his jeans/shorts as they do in the movie!!! What WONDERFUL characters to emulate.... full of integrity and honour.
We are South African and have lived happily in Canada for 3 years now. This series was filmed in South Africa and the scenery - oh the beauty of Africa..... Buy this and watch it when it is minus 40 degrees outside!!! It will take you around the world... all from the comfort of your living room.
Do yourself a favour and watch this - it is money well spent.
*Did I mention the eye-candy??? Oh Yummy.....
However, the word 'sex' is never mentioned (we're on episode 8 or so)- how refreshing???? We need more of this, we honestly do. Not that I am a prude, but it is wonderful just to be able to watch something together without ME worrying what the next scene is going to bring....... and then have difficult questions to answer!!!! "Mommy, what does XYZ mean when he says..."
This man REALLY loves his wife and his children. We need to see more of this too instead of people just falling into bed together. This is true commitment - true commitment.
GREAT characters - incredibly well acted - BEAUTIFUL scenery - exciting action sequences - McGyver type gizmos - and of course, the eye-candy!!!
WE'VE ALL LOVED IT - MOM, DAD AND 11 YEAR OLD CRUSOE/PIRATE/McGYVER/SWASHBUCKLING HERO - depending on the episode!!!
Hope you enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, April 10, 2009
By 
Quality Guy (Munford, TN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusoe: The Complete Series (DVD)
Crusoe is one of the best series I've ever seen. Too bad NBC didn't have enough sense to keep it in a good time slot and properly support it. I'll be ordering the DVD from Amazon. 13 episodes of a great series is worth buying and the price is more than fair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good program, June 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusoe: The Complete Series (DVD)
I started watching this show when I was in the hospital, and ended up ordering the entire season. Its really good - it figures, you find a decent show to watch, and they cancel it. Anyway, this is truly worth the $5.00 I spent for the whole season's episodes, plus it came with a paperback book of Robinson Crusoe. Not too shabby : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling Fun, February 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusoe: The Complete Series (DVD)
Crusoe is a short-lived television show which ran for only 13 episodes. It was filmed primarily in South Africa, with some bits done in the UK, and overall it was a very fun production, with a lot of swashbuckling, pirates, cannibals, and other exciting island adventure. The writers were very creative, inventing new scenarios each week to keep the stories entertaining. While the storyline did not follow the original book, it was a very well done series, and I'm sorry it didn't run longer. The DVD set has no extras, but the episodes themselves more than make up for it. There is nothing really offensive about this show (no nudity or swearing) so it's suitable for the whole family.

I've seen big budget movies that weren't as good as this series. I can think of a few modern films about pirates and the carribean that look like pathetic garbage compared to this intelligent work of cinema. Why this show didn't take off is anyone's guess. I suppose it just didn't find enough fans in its time slot, or some other logistical excuse. That's the way a lot of good tv series seem to die.

I put this series up there with "Firefly" in the pantheon of slaughtered television shows that should have run a lot longer, but for whatever reason weren't given a fair chance. Unlike that brilliant sci-fi show, however, I don't think they'll be making a movie to conclude Crusoe. At least they left it in a decent place, and not with some cliffhanger.

I would certainly recommend this show for everyday viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Can't believe this got cancelled., June 24, 2010
This review is from: Crusoe: The Complete Series (DVD)
Wow. What an incredibly well-done show. I'm stunned that this got cancelled after just 13 episodes.

Great characters, casting, and chemistry. Great story lines. Great scenery. Great action.

A film version is definitely in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best T.V. shows I have ever seen!, June 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusoe: The Complete Series (DVD)
Wonderful first season to this series. Please make a second season of this wonderful show. It has excitement, drama, wonderful writing, but no second season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please ..We Need An End To This Show, March 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crusoe: The Complete Series (DVD)
This was a wonderful TV series and it's a shame we couldn't get another season out of NBC. After watching all 13 hrs. of this...you come away with..."to be continued" feeling.

I still gave it 5 stars because it was so entertaining . A series ending movie at the very least...please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Crusoe: The Complete Series
Crusoe: The Complete Series by Philip Winchester (DVD - 2009)
$29.98 $17.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.