Cry Wolf: A Political Fable and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $12.95
  • Save: $1.67 (13%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 20 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for FREE Super Saving Shipping! Fast Amazon shipping plus a hassle free return policy mean your satisfaction is guaranteed! Tracking number provided with every order. Slight wear on edges and covers; otherwise item is in very good condition. Has a sentiment on inside front page, otherwise, this book is in great condition.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Cry Wolf: A Political Fable Paperback – May 11, 2008


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$11.28
$6.67 $0.01
12%20Days%20of%20Deals%20in%20Books


Frequently Bought Together

Cry Wolf: A Political Fable + The Republic of Virtue
Price for both: $24.00

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Year
Best Books of 2014
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for 2014's Best Books of the Year in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 215 pages
  • Publisher: BenBella Books (May 11, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1933771429
  • ISBN-13: 978-1933771427
  • Product Dimensions: 9 x 6.1 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 10.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,870,667 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Lake writes vividly and characterizes shrewdly, producing an anti-immigration fable more polished than Orwell's anti-Communist satire."  —Booklist



"What seems, at first, a gentle fable about farm animals who enjoy a kind of ordered liberty, turns quickly into a grim allegory about man's dark impulse toward the collective."  —Laurie Morrow, political columnist, The Montpelier Bridge



"A charming and chilling fable that underscores the fragility of a world achieved with great difficulty and so easily undone by good intentions gone awry."  —The Reverend John Newhaus, editor in chief, First Things



"In the great tradition of George Orwell's Animal Farm. I can only hope that it will be as widely read and will be as powerful an influence as was Orwell's masterpiece in awakening civilization to its present deadly peril."  —American Spectator


"The inner logic of Cry Wolf is just right. Cleverly devised and well developed."  —Chronicles magazine


"John Lennon sang 'Imagine there's no countries, and no religions, too'. In his superb limpid allegory, Paul Lake imagines these very things with terrifying precision."  —Les Murray, poet and winner, TS Eliot Award

About the Author

Paul Lake is an English and creative writing professor at Arkansas Tech University and the poetry editor of First Things. He is the author of Among the Immortals, Another Kind of Travel, and Walking Backward. He lives in Russellville, Arkansas.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 15 customer reviews
This is a book which takes you on a full range of emotions.
Adam C. Lind
A must read for any of us caught in the trenches of the war against political correctness.
William R. Forstchen
Highly recommended read, especially in these troubled times.
__Alessandro__

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful By Icedeer on June 16, 2008
Format: Paperback
Cry Wolf by Paul Lake is an astonishing book. Not only is it an unflinching look at the destructive nature of political correctness but it also offers the reader a lyrical story telling experience.

In the tradition of Animal Farm, Lake's story unfolds on a peaceful farm that has passed into the care of domestic animals after the death of the human owner. The animals cooperate to solve the problems of sowing and reaping, defense, education, and the creation of a rule of law.

The first law is that of No Trespassing. Fences are maintained and dogs patrol the borders to keep out wild animals that would kill the farm residents or destroy the vital crops. When the animals make a compassionate decision to provide temporary refuge to a wounded doe, they take the first unthinking step toward the destruction of everything they hold dear.

Cry Wolf examines a number of issues that are eroding our ability to think clearly and reasonably. The stifling imposition of politically correct speech, the reframing of issues, the post modern attachment to ethical relativism, and the descent into tribalism through ethnicity are only a few of the issues woven through Lake's haunting story.

You will not only see the teachers, the politicians, the academics, the judges, and the activists in Lake's book - you will see yourself. That sight may be clearer and harsher than you have been used to seeing in a very long time.

Cry Wolf will have you mulling over the creeping suppression of free speech that is slowly crushing dissent in the United States. It will surprise you with its insights into all too human character. It will entrance you with its prose and characters. It will greatly disturb you. It will do what good books always do - it will make you think.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By William R. Forstchen on January 17, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
A must read for any of us caught in the trenches of the war against political correctness. For that matter a wake up call to any American. I think it fair to raise my objections first, but then move on to the praise this book deserves. I am the grandson of immigrants and have taught across thirty years, many of my students first generation and second generation Americans who were eager to embrace what America is. Those who come to our shores and truly embrace the ideals of America, as my grandfather did, and taught me to believe in, then I argue that the lamp is still lit as a sign of welcome. My grandfather was born a German long before WWI, but he became an American, loved America, and died an American, and before he died he taught his children and grandchildren to embrace and love this country. Since our founding America has thrived on the fresh infusions of blood of new Americans, who though proud of the heritage of their past, see in America that shining city on the hill. To them we should all bid welcome. We are not Americans by blood, by race or religion, we are Americans bonded by an ideal of freedom and the founding documents of our Independence.

That said, I will go on to near unstinting praise of Lake's book, though it was hard for the first fifty pages or so to keep track of various characters, but once the "downfall" began, the story became absolutely riveting. I will give no spoilers here, (hate those kinds of reviews!). Sufficient to say that when several of the animals are sent to "Sensitivity Training" to cure them of their "xenophobia" I was truly hooked. . .and as the standard line goes, I did not know whether to laugh or scream.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Jason Carter on December 19, 2008
Format: Paperback
As other reviewers have noted, this is the Animal Farm of our day. The book is certainly equal to the task. Cry Wolf is both as observant and as entertaining as Orwell's classic. And for 21st century Americans, it is more penetrating, as the evils it reveals are closer to our gates than the Communism that Orwell combatted.

This is one of those books that I lend out freely and intend to buy several copies to give away.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Elaine on May 14, 2012
Format: Paperback
CRY WOLF is an excellent tale that drives home the point that unchecked, illegal immigration can destroy a country from within. It is not a anti-immigration story but a book about how unregulated, illegal immigration is a beast that can become uncontrollable, which is what happens in this political fable.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By ReaderThinker on January 6, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
As others have noted, this book is an updated "Animal Farm." This description, however, does it a disservice; this is a far better book than AF ever was, and it goes after more difficult and close-to-home targets.

I never cared for Animal Farm; Cry Wolf partly shares some of those qualities I disliked -- basically, it's not the greatest or most gripping of works from a purely literary standpoint, and it doesn't have as much subtlety and development as I would like to see, although it is superior to AF in both of these regards. I would also like to see a bit more explicit articulation of the book's more complex ideas. Nonetheless it is a great work, an enjoyable one, and potentially a very important one.

Those (like Booklist) who identify Cry Wolf as an anti-immigration fable are missing the book's main points and doing it a disservice. While it can serve as a caution against unchecked immigration, it certainly does not appear to be intended to be an anti-immigrant screed. The author's primary concerns lie elsewhere. Immigration merely serves in the book as a key vehicle through which incautious compassion, myopic self-interest, and political correctness transform a virtuous constitutional republic into a degenerate anarchic tyranny and, finally, a killing field. In the process, the author treats many critical issues of contemporary US (and, broadly Western) politics, society, and culture.

This is the sort of important but easy-read book that I think would be at the top of bestseller lists, and would be widely employed in teaching, if it weren't so discomfiting to the left. Its subtitle should be, "Eternal vigilance is the price of liberty!"
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?