Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Mystery
Based on actual events, "Cry Wolf: A psychological thriller" is an exciting mystery that has the reader on the edge of her/his seat. With rich character development, one is struck by how psychologically damaged the individuals in the story are, as they struggle to recover a sense of self. One is able to easily sympathize with and relate to the characters on a very...
Published on May 10, 2012 by Beverly Simone

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quick read
Interesting. It caught my attention right away. Although it was easy to read I would have liked more detail. At times, the book skipped ahead and no detail provided. Also, this was based on a true story, where is that background? I felt a bit disappointed for a "true story" more like a short story you could read in a magazine.
Published 24 months ago by Cathy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Mystery, May 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Based on actual events, "Cry Wolf: A psychological thriller" is an exciting mystery that has the reader on the edge of her/his seat. With rich character development, one is struck by how psychologically damaged the individuals in the story are, as they struggle to recover a sense of self. One is able to easily sympathize with and relate to the characters on a very personal level.

There is much symbolism in this book, with the wolves, themselves, providing an eerie yet beautiful backdrop.

Ms. Davey's narrative is filled with wonderfully descriptive scenes of the environment, to such a degree that the reader feels transported into the story and experiences the wonders of wild nature. The rain, dead leaves, the eyes of the wolves, all serve to enhance the mood and tone of the book.

"Cry Wolf" captures the reader's imagination and interest with the initial paragraph and quickly becomes one of those "I couldn't put it down" novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cry Wolf: a lesson here, May 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A very different book with a multi-faceted plot which will keep you reading to the end! Learn some lessons here about how the mind forms opinions, about how people escape society only to find that primitive living has horrors of its own, and how adults can find new direction by moving on in life. There is mystery, love, sadness and happiness, intrigue, and more than a few insights into the way wolves interact with humans. I liked the book because it was different and enticing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Insight into Wolves and the People Who Love Them, October 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fascinating story based on an unusual couple and their love for wolves. I like a good thriller, and this one delivered along with some great insight into the world of wolves and the people who care about them. I'll never look at these majestic creatures in quite the same way again.

I enjoyed the characters, particularly the main heroine. It was nice to read about a woman standing up for what she thinks is right. She's also very inspiration for her efforts to rise above a tragic past. Great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me guessing!, December 16, 2013
By 
Denise Schiller (Milwaukee, WI, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf: A psychological thriller (Paperback)
I found this to be a fascinating read -- from the information about wolves, the author's excellent character depictions, the setting, not to mention the backstory of the heroine and other characters and how it impacted their interpretation of events. I definitely recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down!, January 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This thriller kept me glued to each word. I hated for it to end...learned about wolves and more importantly about the spirit of the human being. Never give up on what you believe in...you can overcome being a victim.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Artfully Written Good Read, August 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cry Wolf: A psychological thriller (Paperback)
I can't recall reading, at least for some time, a better product of 'descriptive writing'. The author's skilled use of this writing style takes you right into the setting of the story: the "clear view of the lake-shore ringed in tall pine trees, interspersed with the light gray bark of leafless aspen trees reaching up toward them" takes you mentally right into that beautiful mountain scene. And when a local waitress, Crystal, is described as having "teased platinum hair that falls sporadically from a failed french twist, her black roots crying out for peroxide", you smile as you instantly recall all the 'Crystals' in your life. The writing style alone was enough to propel me from chapter to chapter but throw in a love angle, animals and a captivating mystery and this book is a definite 5-star recommendation. This was a wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful Book, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought it was a very good book and would recommend it. It sort of keeps you on your toes throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A mystery with some meat to it!, June 1, 2012
This review is from: Cry Wolf: A psychological thriller (Paperback)
Cry Wolf is a heart-pounding mystery that transported me to a cabin in the woods occupied by a very odd couple and their unlikely pack of friends. I was mesmerized and repulsed by their unique lifestyle, amazed that these characters are based on real people. The writing is crisp and clear and the device used to weave together the present and past very clever. It was a rollercoaster ride with an ending I didn't see coming. Highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, September 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed this book very much. A good thriller and nice romance as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, but good., October 20, 2013
By 
Gbelladauna (Mt Wolf, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is simple, but very good. No memorable glaring errors and a good story. Loved the character of Destiny, just wished it was fleshed out like a recent book I read that delivered a great POV from an animal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cry Wolf: A psychological thriller
Cry Wolf: A psychological thriller by Julie Davey (Paperback - March 14, 2012)
$8.95 $7.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.