Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Voyage Holiday Music in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Deals on HTL

Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on May 10, 2012
Based on actual events, "Cry Wolf: A psychological thriller" is an exciting mystery that has the reader on the edge of her/his seat. With rich character development, one is struck by how psychologically damaged the individuals in the story are, as they struggle to recover a sense of self. One is able to easily sympathize with and relate to the characters on a very personal level.

There is much symbolism in this book, with the wolves, themselves, providing an eerie yet beautiful backdrop.

Ms. Davey's narrative is filled with wonderfully descriptive scenes of the environment, to such a degree that the reader feels transported into the story and experiences the wonders of wild nature. The rain, dead leaves, the eyes of the wolves, all serve to enhance the mood and tone of the book.

"Cry Wolf" captures the reader's imagination and interest with the initial paragraph and quickly becomes one of those "I couldn't put it down" novels.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on May 3, 2012
A very different book with a multi-faceted plot which will keep you reading to the end! Learn some lessons here about how the mind forms opinions, about how people escape society only to find that primitive living has horrors of its own, and how adults can find new direction by moving on in life. There is mystery, love, sadness and happiness, intrigue, and more than a few insights into the way wolves interact with humans. I liked the book because it was different and enticing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 28, 2013
Fascinating story based on an unusual couple and their love for wolves. I like a good thriller, and this one delivered along with some great insight into the world of wolves and the people who care about them. I'll never look at these majestic creatures in quite the same way again.

I enjoyed the characters, particularly the main heroine. It was nice to read about a woman standing up for what she thinks is right. She's also very inspiration for her efforts to rise above a tragic past. Great read!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 16, 2013
I found this to be a fascinating read -- from the information about wolves, the author's excellent character depictions, the setting, not to mention the backstory of the heroine and other characters and how it impacted their interpretation of events. I definitely recommend it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
Hoffentlich enttäusche ich Frau Davey nicht, weil ich ihren Psychothriller um häusliche Gewalt, ein Rudel Problem-Wölfe und die Bergwelt Montanas nicht besonders spannend fand. Ihre Verknüpfung der drei Motive hat mich trotzdem gefesselt. Als Schauplatz dient in der Landschaft der Rocky Mountains nahe Bozemann eine Urlauber-Ranch, die Nebenrolle spielen ein hinreißender Hund und ein routiniertes Pferd, als Hauptfigur tritt eine junge Journalistin auf. Laura ist noch immer traumatisiert, seit sie in letzer Minute aus der Werkzeugkiste gerettet wurde, in der ihr gewalttätiger Mann sie lebendig begraben hatte. In den Bergen Montanas soll die traumatisierte Frau nach Abschluss ihrer Psychotherapie allmählich wieder im Leben Fuß fassen. Ihr Therapeut hatte sie abschließend noch vor dem Cry-Wolf-Syndrom gewarnt. Er befürchtet, dass Gewaltopfer gefährliche Situationen aufgrund ihres Traumas falsch einschätzen. Mit dieser Information fürchtet man als Leser sogleich, dass Laura auf ihren einsamen Ausritten nahe der Vegetationsgrenze in der Wildnis in Gefahr geraten könnte. In unmittelbarer Nähe der Urlauber-Ranch, auf der Laura sich ein Pferd leiht, verschwindet eine Frau. Sie und ihr Mann lebten abgeschieden zusammen mit einem Rudel Alaska-Wolf-Mischlinge. Ob die Tiere nun Wölfe, Huskies oder keins von beidem sind, hält hier niemanden davon ab, sich vor dem sonderbaren Paar und seinen riesigen Haustieren zu fürchten. Duane, der Sheriff, und Laura ergreifen in dem Vermisstenfall sofort Partei. Laura ist überzeugt, der gewalttätige Gregg hätte seine Frau ermordet. Duane geht ebenso entschieden davon aus, Evie hätte sich gemeinsam mit einem Ex-Lover abgesetzt. Kompliziert wird die Angelegenheit, als in der Umgebung der Touristen-Ranch zunehmend Haus- und Nutztiere gerissen werden. Ob von Kojoten, von Wölfen aus dem Yellowstone-Park, die angeblich alle brav mit Funkhalsbändern versehen sind, oder von den Alaskawölfen, ist nun zu klären.

Die Autorin Julie Davey ist Journalistin und hat Journalisten unterrichtet. In ihrem Psycho-Thriller, der streckenweise wie ein Drehbuch wirkt, lässt sie Laura mit journalistischen Arbeitsmethoden ermitteln, die die Leser in manchen Szenen mit Informationen überschütten. Die Hälfte des Buches nimmt Lauras Vorgeschichte und ihre Erkundung der neuen Umgebung ein. In der zweiten Hälfte gelingt der Autorin noch sehr geschickt die schlüssige Verknüpfung aller Handlungsfäden, falschen Fährten und Indizien. Problemwölfe als Gefahr für den Tourismus sind uns auch in Deutschland vertraut; ihre Rolle macht für mich den Reiz des Buches aus.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 26, 2013
This thriller kept me glued to each word. I hated for it to end...learned about wolves and more importantly about the spirit of the human being. Never give up on what you believe can overcome being a victim.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2014
I can't recall reading, at least for some time, a better product of 'descriptive writing'. The author's skilled use of this writing style takes you right into the setting of the story: the "clear view of the lake-shore ringed in tall pine trees, interspersed with the light gray bark of leafless aspen trees reaching up toward them" takes you mentally right into that beautiful mountain scene. And when a local waitress, Crystal, is described as having "teased platinum hair that falls sporadically from a failed french twist, her black roots crying out for peroxide", you smile as you instantly recall all the 'Crystals' in your life. The writing style alone was enough to propel me from chapter to chapter but throw in a love angle, animals and a captivating mystery and this book is a definite 5-star recommendation. This was a wonderful read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 3, 2013
I thought it was a very good book and would recommend it. It sort of keeps you on your toes throughout the book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on June 1, 2012
Cry Wolf is a heart-pounding mystery that transported me to a cabin in the woods occupied by a very odd couple and their unlikely pack of friends. I was mesmerized and repulsed by their unique lifestyle, amazed that these characters are based on real people. The writing is crisp and clear and the device used to weave together the present and past very clever. It was a rollercoaster ride with an ending I didn't see coming. Highly recommend this book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 22, 2014
I enjoyed this book very much. A good thriller and nice romance as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.