Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reviewed by Desere Steenberg
This book deserves so much more than the 5 stars I can give it on here. It is closer to a 100 stars. The book was not only well written but written with true depth,meaning and emotion so strong and courages that if I did not know it to be true I would have thought the author was a mastermind in laying down the bare facts without actually having gone through any of...
Published 23 months ago by Desere Steenberg

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could it be any more American?
I enjoyed the story, don't get me wrong, but the author went to "high school"??? Secondary school in Ireland, or is it different in Dublin. Oh and she applied for welfare in England? Fair enough. But social security in Dublin? A good few phrases that are making me doubt the authors credibility. Silly mistakes.
Published 23 months ago by M. Donnelly


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reviewed by Desere Steenberg, December 13, 2012
This review is from: Did You Hear Me Crying? (The Heartbreaking True Story of a Child Abused) - Child Abuse True Stories (Kindle Edition)
This book deserves so much more than the 5 stars I can give it on here. It is closer to a 100 stars. The book was not only well written but written with true depth,meaning and emotion so strong and courages that if I did not know it to be true I would have thought the author was a mastermind in laying down the bare facts without actually having gone through any of it.

My heart goes out to the author and the true horror she had to endure, finding the courage to write about it is one of the most courages things I have ever heard about. The book was so well written that I could actually pick up on the horror,emotions,upsets and heartbreak the author had to endure.

I was rooting for her all the way to the end as I really wanted this stunning,courages,absolute gem of a woman to find her way out of a life of horror. And in the end she made it and I could not be happier. I have always cried when reading a good book but this time I cried my eyes out and I at one stage got so upset at what I was reading that I had to put the book down to gather myself but could not resit going back for more to see what happens.

This is definitely the most emotional read ever and I for one recommend it to all woman having to suffer through abuse.

Excellent work Cassie,your a gem and I wish you only the best for the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could it be any more American?, January 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Did You Hear Me Crying? (The Heartbreaking True Story of a Child Abused) - Child Abuse True Stories (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the story, don't get me wrong, but the author went to "high school"??? Secondary school in Ireland, or is it different in Dublin. Oh and she applied for welfare in England? Fair enough. But social security in Dublin? A good few phrases that are making me doubt the authors credibility. Silly mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Did You Hear Me Crying? (The Heartbreaking True Story of a Child Abused) - Child Abuse True Stories (Kindle Edition)
I thought this book was well written. That poor child was so abused. I thought the Author did a great job portraying their story. Could not put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The author points fingers at everyone BUT herself..., March 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Did You Hear Me Crying? (The Heartbreaking True Story of a Child Abused) - Child Abuse True Stories (Kindle Edition)
*Spoilers*
While I sympathize with the author's terrible childhood circumstances, and the cycle of abuse she found herself in as an adult, I was struck by her inability to accept any personal responsibility for her own choices.
While an abused child is never to blame for the actions of their caregivers, an adult who decides to stay involved with an abuser is somewhat responsible for the environment they live in.
I also found it telling that, at various times, ALL of her children have stopped speaking with her for different periods of time (including her oldest, who made the choice as an adult, having been raised without a mother in her life), and she (again) blamed other people's actions, rather than herself.
She is riding the victim train all the way to the station.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gothic Mom's Book Reviews, February 26, 2013
Today's Review is on Did You Hear Me Crying by Cassie Moore

Have you ever read a book based on someone's life that hit's you so hard that you need a little time to mull it over before moving on to another? This book did just that.

A sometimes horrific record of mental, sexual, verbal, and physical abuse, Did You Hear Me Crying will touch your heart as well as your very soul.

Cassie's story begins with the animosity that her mother feels towards her and the verbal and physical abuse she inflicted upon her. She then goes on to talk about the sexual abuse she had suffered at the hands of her stepfather who repeated the offense for years.

More times than not, children that are subjected to what Cassie had at a young age tend to latch onto the first person that shows them love and affection as a teen or young adult, and that's exactly what she did. Sadly though, this first love was just as bad as the parents that abused her. But life goes on and as such Cassie was able to find love once again and of course everything seemed well until he began controlling her, berating her, and beating her.

Finally hitting bottom, Cassie reached out for help and slowly but surely has broken free from the cycle of abuse, but at a great cost. She has no relationship with her mother and stepfather; which I think is actually a good thing, no relationship with her sisters, and her children deserted her.

Now, after 46 years of abuse she is finally in control of her life and is abuse free. Her children have opened the lines of communication, and she has finally found true love and more importantly, she has begun to heal.

A moving story of one woman's struggle that will leave you wanting to reach out to the author. To tell her to keep strong, and to tell her she is loved.

5 of 5 stars
Available at Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so bad, January 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Did You Hear Me Crying? (The Heartbreaking True Story of a Child Abused) - Child Abuse True Stories (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't stop reading this book, but I just didn't like how nothing was in detail and how it kept jumping years that eventually I had to guess or flip a few pages back to find out what was going on. This book isn't so bad, but I expected better honestly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, July 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Did You Hear Me Crying? (The Heartbreaking True Story of a Child Abused) - Child Abuse True Stories (Kindle Edition)
This was a sad but wonderful story of abuse and helping to put someones life back together again. There is a small series of these books the author wrote and they are all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, June 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Did You Hear Me Crying? (The Heartbreaking True Story of a Child Abused) - Child Abuse True Stories (Kindle Edition)
great book kept me turning pages great writting I would recomend it to anyone.I could not put it done. well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So very brave, June 22, 2013
This review is from: Did You Hear Me Crying? (The Heartbreaking True Story of a Child Abused) - Child Abuse True Stories (Kindle Edition)
This book is a perfect telling to help people understand why women stay in abusive relationships. Heartbreaking yet hopeful and strong. I recommend this book to anyone who is being abused or knows someone who is.
I doubt there are many that could read this and say "but she didn't have it as bad as I have". Ms Moore has been so strong in her willingness to bare her soul in this heart wrenching tale of pain and hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heart breaking!, May 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Did You Hear Me Crying? (The Heartbreaking True Story of a Child Abused) - Child Abuse True Stories (Kindle Edition)
The strength of this woman is mind blowing. There were times while reading her history that I felt like finding her abusers and offering a little abuse upon them, myself. As a mental health clinician, I attempted to understand the victim and the cycle if abuse and violence....eyeopening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.