Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting documentary
This documentary includes interviews with people directly involved with the crisis, but also provides the context and the history. My son watched this for a history project, and the whole family found the documentary very informative and interesting. Although we knew the outcome, it was suspenseful!
Published on January 16, 2013 by faz

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good content destroyed by stupid, inept, annoying handling of newsreel film
Once again, documentary film makers made the decision to grossly mishandle vintage newsreel film by changing the original aspect ratio of the black and white film (4:3) into stretched pseudo widescreen (16:9), thereby distorting the video (the squashed face effect). I saw this documentary twice on PBS and I would never buy this or any other DVD that's made so...
Published 5 months ago by Tubular Tom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting documentary, January 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go to War (DVD)
This documentary includes interviews with people directly involved with the crisis, but also provides the context and the history. My son watched this for a history project, and the whole family found the documentary very informative and interesting. Although we knew the outcome, it was suspenseful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Opportunity to better understand the other sides, April 28, 2013
By 
Guilherme FFa Sortino (Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo, BR) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go to War (DVD)
Very interesting the interviews showing the tension and the thoughts of the other sides.
I do recommend to those willing to better understand the other sides of this very importante historical moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Hand Account, January 27, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go to War (DVD)
I was aboard the Tin Can that had the VDS (Variable Depth Sonar) and tracked the sub that eventually surfaced after
many long hours. At the time we did not know about the Nukes and not till years later did we all find that we were the
closest we could have been to WWIII. It was good to know that for the sake of a few cool heads I wouldn't be here to
talk about those days. The ships name was USS Borie (DD-704). I'm sure the folks back in Russia never knew also
but the ones who did were happier with the outcome. Nukes...if we gotta have em, we better home we never use em.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frightening Event!, May 30, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go to War (DVD)
A true story of a very frightening event from my youth! Watching this DVD, which was very well done, brought it all back. VERY WELL DONE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I saw the Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go ..., December 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go to War (DVD)
I saw the Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go to War on TV and I wanted to get the DVD. I lived through the Cuban Missile Crisis and remember the Air Raid Drills that we had at school and having to crawl underneath our desks for the drill.

It brings back memories on how close we came to a world war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good documentary. Would recommend to anyone interested in this ..., July 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go to War (DVD)
Very good documentary. Would recommend to anyone interested in this time period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 4, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go to War (DVD)
Well worth the watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good content destroyed by stupid, inept, annoying handling of newsreel film, September 1, 2014
This review is from: Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go to War (DVD)
Once again, documentary film makers made the decision to grossly mishandle vintage newsreel film by changing the original aspect ratio of the black and white film (4:3) into stretched pseudo widescreen (16:9), thereby distorting the video (the squashed face effect). I saw this documentary twice on PBS and I would never buy this or any other DVD that's made so ineptly.

This one hour show is intercut throughout with contemporary talking head interviews and vintage newsreel film. Apparently, some directors favor squashed faces for the black and white newsreel images so that the viewer's TV screen is completely filled up at all times to match the modern interviews, even if it distorts the former. For the viewer, there's no way to correct this mishandling except by constantly hitting the "picture size" or "aspect ratio" button on the remote. For me, the 1962 images are what's important, so I just left my TV on 4:3 to properly view them and put up with "tall and skinny" distortion of the modern interviews.

I don't know if it's just laziness, stupidity, or disrespect for history that causes some directors to use the squashed face technique. Ken Burns never uses it in his wonderful films on PBS, such as the World War II film, The War. I guess this mishandling is done because some directors fear that modern viewers might freak out if they don't see their 16:9 TVs completely filled up. Oh no! The whole screen isn't filled! I can't take it! Millions would commit suicide, bashing their heads through their TV screens! Children would be forever scarred! Drenched in the shame of it all, the sun, would refuse to rise again!

Of course, several solutions can be used: Either show the newsreel film in the proper, original aspect ration, 4:3, with black bars on the left and right (pillarboxed) or replace the black bars with some kind of color matte designed to fool the eye and fill up the screen but leave the newsreel film alone (like they do on vintage Antiques Roadshow episodes). The latter technique softens any transitions between film shot in different eras; I barely notice the technique being used on the Roadshow.

A third, less valid technique can be used, that is, the zoom. The newsreel film can be zoomed in to expand the image to 16:9 without distorting the aspect ratio, so it looks normal. The drawbacks are that the top and bottom of every shot is cropped off, so maybe 20-30% of the image is lost, and graininess is increased. This technique was used on the Seinfeld episodes currently in syndication, all designed and shot originally in 4:3, but now shown in zoomed 16:9. They look good, but sometimes characters heads or objects in Jerry's apartment like the coffee table get cut off (where's Kramer's high hair???!!!).

According to PBS.org, Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go To War was produced by John Murray of Crossing the Line Productions and co-directed by John Murray and Emer Reynolds. Shame on them and a pox on both their houses!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising Events, October 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go to War (DVD)
I was surprised by many of the things that happened during the Cuban Missile Crisis. I did not appreciate how significant this time was in our country's history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go to War (DVD)
:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go to War
Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go to War by Cuban Missile Crisis: Three Men Go to War (DVD - 2012)
$24.99 $14.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.