Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like!?
Alice and her "entourage" are always a funny, witty bunch. Only word of caution is that if you have other "Cul de Sac" books you might find that this book does not add much new material.
Published on September 24, 2010 by N. Savoiu

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't get Kindle version!
Comics get 5 stars, Kindle version gets one (3 stars for the average). Kindle version has tiny very low resolution comics in a sea of white - horrible, basically unreadable in the Kindle version.
Published on December 19, 2012 by B. Rutledge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like!?, September 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Alice and her "entourage" are always a funny, witty bunch. Only word of caution is that if you have other "Cul de Sac" books you might find that this book does not add much new material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another nice comic strip with children, August 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We were all children at least once. Unfortunately we seem to forget what it was like or just was to forget. Mr Thompson either never grew up or has a real empathy with children.Alice, her brother (one of the top picky eaters) and their friends are children and speak that rare language that they alone understand. We the readers are allowed to look into this world with his Cul-de Sac (bottom of the bag in french)cartoons. His ability to create childrens' dialogue is what makes his strip special. The adults in this world may say funny things but, they are not reduced to comic stereotypes (dunces!). Charles Schultz would enjoy these children and their funny antics. That says it all right there.
Sincerely, Means Johnston III
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cul de Sac is a Classic!, June 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very seldom does a comic strip takes over someones funny bone and is so thought provoking like this one does. This book is a (what I can gather) the first two years of the strip.
I love the comments that are scattered throughout the book that Mr. Thompson has added to this collection. From him just joking about a gag or to the layout of a strip. He is so entertaining and insightful.
The thing that is amazing to me is his timing of not just his dialogue in the strip but also the timing of the art. He is the ultimate storyteller. I believe Mr. Thompson is one of the top five newspaper strip creators ever.
Not often is the main character (Alice)a girl but also ...well a bully. A strong woman at four years old.
Her older brother Petey is one of the most awkward kids ever and he loves Comic books.
Then there's Dill, Alice's friend. This little kid is just a little clueless and thats what makes him my favorite!
Dont forget Alice and Peteys parents are the parents that embarrassed us growing up.
The supporting cast includes more kids and the preschool teacher. All with very unique personalities.

This is just the perfect gift for any comic,cartoon fan. You will want to reread it over and over not only for the great jokes but to marvel at his lines art.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't get Kindle version!, December 19, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Comics get 5 stars, Kindle version gets one (3 stars for the average). Kindle version has tiny very low resolution comics in a sea of white - horrible, basically unreadable in the Kindle version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle-Fire Version is annoying, December 5, 2011
This review is from: Cul de Sac Golden Treasury: A Keepsake Garland of Classics (Paperback)
Richard Thompson is Great! But I would hesitate before buying the kindle version on the Kindle Fire.

Turned sideways the Kindle Fire has plenty of resolution to display these strips beautifully. But the Kindle Reader just doesn't get it. The displayed strips are readable, but only just, surrounded by an inch or more of blank background on all sides. You can press and hold over the image to zoom in, but you have to do it for each and every strip, and when zoomed it is clear there is not much extra resolution in the images, as things can get fuzzy. Amazon needs to spend some time and work with publishers to get collections of comic strips to work better on Kindle Fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Comic Strip Around Today., July 15, 2010
There is no better comic strip on the market today. Hands down. Thompson was nominated for the Reuben Award this year, and with good reason - he puts out the only comic that matters. I do not have enough words of praise for this book. It is delightful, and a great starting point for any new reader. Just marvelous. Likable, quirky characters with plenty of nuance...great writing and development. Alice is just terrific...but I like Petey an awful lot, too. The very best thing about Richard Thompson's treasured Cul de Sac is that it is FUNNY. I love the bent innocence in this strip. He doesn't try too hard and is doing his own thing and best of all it makes you laugh and laugh. An American gem. Best strip in 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational in Every Way, October 8, 2010
By 
toonin (Hacienda Heights, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book on the basis of a glowing review in the L.A. Times from Charles Solomon. It more than lives up to it. I am an avid reader of daily comic strips but, somehow, was unaware of Cul de Sac. For me it ranks with the very best which by my rating would include Peanuts, Calvin and Hobbes, Little Nemo, the work of Robert Crumb and, currently, Pearls before Swine. The primary character, Alice, is a force of nature. The ancillary characters are beautifully limned with flaws and attributes that keep them from being cliches. The drawings are singular and the writing is superb. I have laughed out loud many times and have slowed down my reading so that the fun doesn't go away too fast. Actually, there's not much chance of that as the strips I have read again, sometimes to my wife laughing aloud beside me, have held up through the repeated readings. More, more, more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES FINALLY !!!!!, June 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thank you so much Richard Thompmas ! I've benn wating for so long for a comics strip writer to come along and actully resemble the legend Bill Watterson . Ok so its way to early to start comparing Mr Thompmas , to the legend , but his creative ability and witty humor is the best yet ! This book is an excellent collection of strips that show the brilliance in the comic strip industry . BUY THIS BOOK !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, less than wonderful Kindle, March 22, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Cul de Sac cartoons are among the most inventive and touching and downright funny cartoons to be had. and I grieve that Richard Thompson Has been forced to give up his art. May he do well in his illness, and even make a comeback.

I only deleted one star from my rating, because the Kindle version of the book is somewhat fuzzy, whioch makes the cartoon lettering at trimes hard to read. But the humor is so good, it's worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughter, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you need a laugh this is the book. Sadly the author has not been able to continue the daily newspaper comic strip so I bought the book and read a page a day. When it has been a not so perfect day these kids will make you laugh out loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cul de Sac Golden Treasury: A Keepsake Garland of Classics
Cul de Sac Golden Treasury: A Keepsake Garland of Classics by Richard Thompson (Paperback - July 6, 2010)
Used & New from: $16.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.