Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.95 stars
This is one of my favorite Blue Oyster Cult collections. After the disappointing "Mirrors" album, BOC joined forces with Martin Birch and the result is a highly focused, triumphant return to their heavy guitar driven sound coupled with mysterious dark overtones. Right from the start, you can hear the improvement in the mix: multiple guitars up front, keyboards used only...
Published on March 2, 2006 by NYC Leather Pants Wearin' Wierdo

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It howls like Hell
The success of Don't Fear the Reaper in 1976 would send the Oyster Boys down a dark path in search of further popular acclaim. That search would lead them to the depths ironically known as Mirrors, an album that would make the band look in the mirror and realize that they were not being true to themselves or their fans.

Cultosaurus Erectus took the band in a...
Published on November 26, 2006 by Dr. Music


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.95 stars, March 2, 2006
This review is from: Cultosaurus Erectus (Audio CD)
This is one of my favorite Blue Oyster Cult collections. After the disappointing "Mirrors" album, BOC joined forces with Martin Birch and the result is a highly focused, triumphant return to their heavy guitar driven sound coupled with mysterious dark overtones. Right from the start, you can hear the improvement in the mix: multiple guitars up front, keyboards used only as an effect in the backround, and perfectly smooth vocals. For example, "Divine Wind" sounds almost Pink Floyd-ish with it's subtle vocal and dreamy backround keyboard blending perfectly with Don Roeser's fluid guitar playing. The song features a wicked guitar solo and ends with a soulful, agnst ridden, somewhat sarcastic offer to the late Ayatolla. This is Blue Oyster Cult at their very best, during a creative period (1980-1982) that I deem to be even better than their works in the '70's. For example, one of the heaviest songs on this collection, "Lips In The Hills" features one of Eric Bloom's best vocal performances, with a guitar sound that was never duplicated again on later albums. But this isn't your run of the mill formulaic hard rock fare as compared to AC/DC, or even BOC's own schlocky "Beat'em Up" from the Club Ninja collection 6 years later. This is hard rock aimed at a more adult audience, a "thinking man's" band. For example, the opening songs "Black Blade" & "Monsters" are like watching a really good science fiction flic. Monsters features a jazz interpolation complete with sax, and a King Crimson -like jam the likes of which is so intense, you will be left begging for seconds. "Black Blade" is science fiction done masterfully, with a touch of art-rock influence. "Deadline" features a dreamy smooth vocal, nice melody and a very addicting bass line. "The Marshall Plan" mentions "surf music", an apparent ode to Hendrix, and also pays homage to Deep Purple when they almost start playing "Smoke On The Water". "Unknown Tongue" tells the chilling story of a young schoolgirl with certain tendencies: "...she took the razor....and watched it cut.. into her palm. She held her hand, up to her mouth, to taste the blood, so holy and warm." So creepy, it's actually fantastic, if you are in the mood to watch "American Pyscho". Get this record. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are some of you people NUTS!, July 29, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cultosaurus Erectus (Audio CD)
How can anyone who calls himself a BOC fan not love this album. "Black Blade" is easily the best song BOC has ever written and performed. Other classics include "Deadline", "Lips In The Hills", "Monsters" and "The Marshall Plan". How can you not love the lyrics to "The Marshall Plan". Lyrically, this is one of their best. Okay, "Hungry Boys" is a clunker, but every other song is great. This cd has a great combination of great vocals, cool lyrics, great guitar licks and wicked keyboard effects. Oh, and by the way, referring to the jazzy stuff in "Monsters", BOC never claimed to be jazz, but what's wrong with something a little different. I love that song and think the saxophone adds another element to a BOC classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daring and innovative, yet heavy..., October 11, 2000
By 
George M. (Vancouver Island) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cultosaurus Erectus (Audio CD)
Indeed, one of their heaviest albums. I bought this one out of curiosity, after having heard some so-so things about it. I must say, I was taken aback by the quality and power of this underrated CD. I wouldn't hesitate to place this one among the 5 best Cult albums ever! Certainly better than 'Fires...' or 'Mirrors'. Throughout BOC's career there have been some really outstanding albums, along some inferior ones. In my view, the most powerful statements have been 'Spectres', 'Cultosaurus', 'Imaginos' and 'Revolution by Night'. I also like the two earlier ones 'Tyranny and Mutation' and 'Secret Treaties'. This is, of course, subjective, but no doubt there are some great songs in 'Cultosaurus': The opening Black Blade is impressive and manages to put together a number of diverse themes and ideas. I especially enjoy the use of synthesizers and the obscured 'vocals' in the last part of the song. I have never heard anything similar in any BOC album. There is originality here. Same as in 'Monsters', a great song, changing from heavy to jazzy. There are no bad songs in this album, but other personal favs are 'Deadline', 'Divine Wind', 'Lips on the Hills' and the chilling 'Unknown Tongue'. Granted, 'Cultosaurus' is not for everybody, it's dark, ominous and heavy. But it's also atmospheric, spiritual and powerful. Also, sonically, it's one of the most advanced BOC albums ever. Great guitar work, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It howls like Hell, November 26, 2006
This review is from: Cultosaurus Erectus (Audio CD)
The success of Don't Fear the Reaper in 1976 would send the Oyster Boys down a dark path in search of further popular acclaim. That search would lead them to the depths ironically known as Mirrors, an album that would make the band look in the mirror and realize that they were not being true to themselves or their fans.

Cultosaurus Erectus took the band in a decidedly different direction and, like their own Disco Demolition Night, obliterated the notion that it would follow in the same vein as Mirrors. Perhaps in an overreaction to the disdain heaped upon Mirrors, Cultosaurus may be the darkest (Tyranny and Mutation is hard to top) and possibly the heaviest album (again, Tyranny and Mutation is pretty hard stuff) in their catalog, only letting the listener up for a brief gasp of air during the Marshall Plan.

Black Blade kicks off the album with a bang. The second of several collaborations with Sci-fi writer Michael Moorcock (see The Great Sun Jester and Veteran of the Psychic Wars), Black Blade offers a glimpse into the cursed life of anti-hero Elric The Eternal Champion. Its a great song marred only by an eternally long bridge (I was able to seamlessly edit out about half of it) and cheesy synth at the end.

Monsters is a funky rocker about space adventurers with an ironic ending. The song includes some funky jazz sax, ala the Mos Eisley cantina.

Divine Wind, while plodding in tempo, is a decent song about the Ayatollah Khomeini and his western intolerance. The ending is worth the wait.

Deadline is one of the lighter songs musically but has a dark lyrical tone, inspired by the murder of an acquaintance.

The Marshall Plan is a tongue in cheek rocker laced with irony. The title is a play on words, borrowing the name of the US plan to rebuild Europe after WWII, but actually refers to the "big amps" that guitar hero Johnny will use to win back his Suzy dear. This song predated Foreigner's Juke Box Hero and Bryan Adams' Summer of '69 and in hindsight, could have been a hit if not deliberately made so cheesy.

Hungry Boys is a fast paced rocker about cocaine addiction.

Fallen Angel is a lighter rocker and another collaboration between Joe Bouchard and Helen Wheels about...who else but Lucifer.

Lips In The Hills is a heavy enigmatic rocker that is occasionally trotted out on the road. What is it about? I haven't a clue.

Unknown Tongue is one of many dark collaborations with one-time band member and friend David Roter. The song is a dark tale that just when you think you know where it is going knocks you out of your shoes with its twisted ending.

All in all, Cultosaurus is a fairly solid album that bears listening to in its entirety, and a welcome return to BOC's roots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SCARY stuff! (Find the rabbit! Find the rabbit!!), December 13, 2000
By 
Henry R. Kujawa ("The Forbidden Zone" (Camden, NJ)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cultosaurus Erectus (Audio CD)
Some may have felt 1979's MIRRORS tried too hard to appeal to mainstream pop audiences; 1980's CULTOSAURUS ERECTUS clearly was a step back toward the bizarre. I have to admit, I didn't like this much the first time I heard it. But like so much else, it's GROWN on me, like the comically-oversized critter in the cover paintings. (One might be forgiven for not noticing the spaceship flying by for scale at first-- but sadly, on the shrunken CD art, the B.O.C. logo is now IMPOSSIBLE to see.) A lot of unusual stuff for this band turned up here, including over-the-top electronic keyboard work, supernatural spirit voices, saxophones and even Don Kirchner (now that really IS scary!). That makes it either wildly erratic or highly intriguing, depending on personal opinion. My faves include "Black Blade" (a no-holds-barred tribute to the tragic S&S character ELRIC and his haunted sword Stormbringer), "Monsters" (try playing this while watching the "big fight" at the end of the movie DESTROY ALL MONSTERS-- I did!), "Deadline" (Buck Dharma's foray into almost-top 40 pop), "Lips In The Hills" (a high-speed romp filled with suggestive imagery) and "Unknown Tongue" (the spooky-yet-goofy finale that takes a twisted look at Catholic school girls, courtesy of David Roter, who also penned "Joan Crawford" as well as several solo albums, including the totally-whacked FIND SOMETHING BEAUTIFUL). CBS slipped up again, causing the opening note of "Deadline" to somehow get SNIPPED off! I highly recommend the remastered import version, on which this has been corrected. (Will we see a day when ALL the CBS Oyster CDs will have become superfluous?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When Dinos Ruled the World, October 12, 2003
This review is from: Cultosaurus Erectus (Audio CD)
"Black Blade" is one of my favorite Blue Oyster Cult songs. It marked their most successful foray into the science fiction/hard rock hybrids that made the meat of their first three albums, and is easily as great as the classic "Golden Age Of Leather" from "Spectres." That said, there are plenty of cool songs here for the BOC fan, and I pretty much figure this was their last really good album. "The Marshall Plan" is possibly one of the funniest songs the Cult ever made! Especially for the Guitar Riff 101 segment in the middle, this rates with right there with Blotto's "Heavy Metal Head." It may also be important to note that Blotto toured with Blue Oyster Cult and Dharma played on the perviously mentioned parody.
If the thought that Blue Oyster Cult could possess a funny bone gets under your skin, then you should probably avoid this disc and go for "Spectres" or "Agents." But for "Cultosaurus Erectus," the BOC stretched their chops in a really fine way. Get this for "Black Blade," "Unknown Tongue" and the stunning "Divine Wind" ("if he really thinks we're the devil, then let's send him to hell..."). They were still capable of giving us hard rock (courtesy of super producer of the time Martin Birch) with brains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars should not be a "cult" album, December 17, 1999
This review is from: Cultosaurus Erectus (Audio CD)
BOC is one of the most underrated hard rock bands there is. Its a shame they never reached the popularity they deserved, beyond "Don't fear the reaper". I consider myself to be a die hard BOC fan, and I got alle their studio recordings. However "Cultosaurus" is by far the best of them, in my opinion. I know many will not agree, but so what. Prior to this album, BOC had realeased several good albums, but neither felt just right all the way. Here, for the first time, all the pieces seemed to fit together perfectly. The songwriting, the production, the playing and the lyrics. Yes, this is a very powerfull album indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Below Their Best, June 12, 2001
By 
JOHN SPOKUS (BALTIMORE, MARYLAND United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cultosaurus Erectus (Audio CD)
Cultosuarus Erectus was a real return to form for BOC. I could have done without the goofy "Marshall Plan", but there are some strong tracks here that recall the band at their early best; "Lips In The Hills", "Divine Wind", "Unknown Tongue" and "Hungry Boys" are classics, "Black Blade","Monsters","Deadline" and 'Fallen Angel" are not too sloppy either.Strong production from Martin Birch, truly a hard rock wizard. A lot of hardcore Cult fans love this album, but the general public never gave it the attention it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just awesome, wicked album!, March 10, 2005
By 
Tim "Yo" (Wellington, NZ.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cultosaurus Erectus (Audio CD)
This is a totally underrated gem of an album, easily on par with their earlier albums, and superior to Fire Of Unknown Origin in my opinion. What truly baffles me is when people accuse BOC of abusing synths and keyboards, or of being too 'commercial' or trying to be popular...are we listening to the same band here? I listen to a helluva lot of 'cheesy' music, from Europe to Dio, and I tell ya...BOC is incredibly restrained compared to the majority of 80s groups when it comes to cheesy synths. I don't think their 80s output has even aged that noticeably, still sounds warm and modern, and the synths are used very effectively and not too cheesily. BOC are funny, a little campy and pretty melodramatic, but that's all part of the damn charm. If you can't take a little wry campy melodrama schlock psuedo-horror with an ironic twist, stay the hell away from BOC...you uptight fool that has a brain riddled with bad judgement. *clears throat* Anyways...

Cultosaurus Erectus doesn't sound cheesy at all, nor bland, nor any of these other stupid things people have said. It offers something different from say Tyranny And Mutation or Agents of Fortune, something more polished and less spontaneous, but expertly crafted that is in its own way as good, if not SUPERIOR to their earlier work. Even if BOC seemed to be collapsing under publicity, in-fights, some perceived sense of lacking inspiration (and it wasn't true), and other conflicts, their music still KILLED AND SLAYED as much as ever. And that's the bottom line. This album is bloody marvelous and sounds to me like a band at a creative peak AND stylistic changing point.

In terms of the music I'll just point out a few outstanding cuts. 'Monsters' is an early highpoint, cos it rocks and drives along with tremendous force, and includes awesome 'jazzish' sections. 'Deadline' is infectiously catchy, with a really awesome bassline and very mystical sounding floaty vocals. The lyrics rock too. 'Lips In The Hills' seriously sounds like it could be an Iron Maiden song, and I think that's damn cool. Very VERY energetic, catchy, fast and rocking. 'Hungry Boys' is totally strange, and very campy, but the weirdest works somehow and what we have is a totally rocking tune. Great stuff. Finally we have 'Unknown Tongue'. OH MY GOD. What a song. Words cannot describe how good it is...definitely BOC's creepiest, most melodramatic (and that's good) and best tale of demented schlock horror. The song is just the best, ever. Nuff' said.

As far as I'm concerned, if you call yourself a hardcore Blue Oyster Cult fan and yet don't like this album...you are an idiot. Anyone who says Agents Of Fortune is the culmination of their early output is stupid too, because it's clearly Secret Treaties. I cannot comprehend why albums like Spectres, (the amazing) Cultosaurus Erectus and Imaginos are bad albums, nor worthy of standing RIGHT NEXT to the early classics. BOC only have like two bad albums out of a huge discography really...almost all the rest are simply awesome. You can almost not go wrong with this band, that is, unless you get Club Ninja. Any so called 'fan' of BOC that gives up on them with their 80s albums is not much of a fan, because 80s BOC is easily as good as 70s BOC, it's just a different style. Cultosaurus Erectus and the following Fire Of Unknown prove this WITHOUT A DOUBT, and the case is furthered by Imaginos.

Some of you need to get a clue. Yeah and sorry for the rant, been obsessed with BOC lately...go figure. Some of you 'old-time' fans are idiots for not liking the later stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OPUS SEVEN, November 26, 2000
By 
Daniel S. "Daniel" (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cultosaurus Erectus (Audio CD)
After the relative deception of MIRRORS, CULTÖSAURUS ERECTUS is in my opinion, a very good album of Blue Öyster Cult. With Martin Birch as new producer, BOC presents five excellent songs, strangely the first five of the CD ; the rest of the CD can be forgotten. But one recognizes in the best songs of the CD the quality of their precedent efforts.
Diabolical changes of rythms, sense of humor ( the homage to DEEP PURPLE in " The Marshall Plan ", innovations such as a larger place given to the bass ( great job, Joe Bouchard ! ) and the drums : these are the main elements that could lead you to buy this CD.
Personally, I give a 5 stars to the CD design, I cannot look at the cultösaurus without smiling. Haven't you ever heard of a dinosaur chewing gum ?
The CD of the resurrection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cultosaurus Erectus
Cultosaurus Erectus by Blue Oyster Cult
Buy MP3 Album$8.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.