Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cultural Tourism - Building a Partnership
"Cultural Tourism - The Partnership Between Tourism and Cultural Heritage Management" presents a strong and well argued case for building a vital and productive partnership between two potentially competing interest groups.
The book is an excellent and thorough disertation and expansion on the principles and guidelines contained in the "ICOMOS...
Published on November 2, 2002 by Graham Brooks

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine as a textbook...
I bought this book as a required text for a Cultural Heritage Tourism class. It serves its purpose as a textbook but is not something I would choose to read. It is very dry, and is totally in black and white. Readers would have to be interested in the field to find it interesting.
Published 20 months ago by BookBabe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cultural Tourism - Building a Partnership, November 2, 2002
By 
Graham Brooks (Sydney, NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
"Cultural Tourism - The Partnership Between Tourism and Cultural Heritage Management" presents a strong and well argued case for building a vital and productive partnership between two potentially competing interest groups.
The book is an excellent and thorough disertation and expansion on the principles and guidelines contained in the "ICOMOS International Cultural Tourism Charter". ICOMOS is the international organisation that brings together all those who work in the field of historic building and site conservation. The protection and conservation of their historic buildings, sites and places is an important part of the cultural identity of every community. Presentation of the significant characteristics of these places to the public is essential if there is to be widespread support for their protection and conservation. The tourism industry plays an important part in this presentation process.
Hilary and Bob have explored many of the ideas contained in the Charter, provided case studies and taken the work into new areas. As a result, I have no doubt that it will become one of the seminal texts related to the work of the ICOMOS International Cultural Tourism Committee, as it encourages productive linkages between toruism and cultural heritage management internationally.

Hisashi Sugaya, former Chairman of the Committee notes that "the book identifies those factors that must be considered when evaluating the tourism potential of cultural or heritage assets, and presents a model for evaluating how to integrate tourism with cultural heritage management". Dr Walter Jamieson, a heritage tourism consultant working in South East Asia, notes that "the book is a very useful contribution to our understanding of maintaining our heritage within the context of tourism development".

Graham Brooks
Chairman
ICOMOS International Cultural Tourism Committee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, February 22, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cultural Tourism: The Partnership Between Tourism and Cultural Heritage Management (Paperback)
One of the best titles on cultural tourism: well structured, concise, lucid and documented with relevant examples. Nothing is too much here. The authors are focused on the main issues of the subject, which is dissected in a precise and coherent way. As a textbook it would gain a great popularity among students!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cultural heritage tourism bible, May 24, 2009
By 
Linda Joyce (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cultural Tourism: The Partnership Between Tourism and Cultural Heritage Management (Paperback)
As a Phd student interested in cultural heritage tourism, I wish I had had this book two years ago. Unfortunately, it was not in the university library--but I eventually discovered it online and ordered a copy for myself--then got the library to order one, too.

The book especially helped me appreciate and start to incorporate cultural heritage management ideas and principles into my research and writing. Both authors teach at Hong Kong Polytechnic University and have been working in the field of cultural tourism and/or management of heritage for 20 years. Reading this book is like taking a graduate level class from them personally!

One tip: The hard copy is $170 and the paperback is around $45.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, May 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cultural Tourism: The Partnership Between Tourism and Cultural Heritage Management (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this great book. I would recommend it to anyone interested in heritage tourism for their area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fine as a textbook..., May 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cultural Tourism: The Partnership Between Tourism and Cultural Heritage Management (Paperback)
I bought this book as a required text for a Cultural Heritage Tourism class. It serves its purpose as a textbook but is not something I would choose to read. It is very dry, and is totally in black and white. Readers would have to be interested in the field to find it interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Almost there, but not quite!, May 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cultural Tourism: The Partnership Between Tourism and Cultural Heritage Management (Paperback)
Cultural Tourism prove to be really interesting reading material. This book is nice to carry around, in that it is not very large. The author is almost there, in writing a textbook that people can actually enjoy reading. For the most part, the author is concise, but in some areas the book is just too wordy. For a topic such as cultural tourism, I think this textbook would be much better if it was in color and included more photos. Much of the content would be comprehended better with images to compliment the writings.

All and all it is one of the better textbooks I have read, but not quite there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Cultural Tourism: The Partnership Between Tourism and Cultural Heritage Management
$66.95 $61.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.