Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Knock snow out cold Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$9.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 16, 2007
It's not the best written book, nor is it particularly life-changing, but it is surprisingly engaging and even entertaining at times. Maybe I went into this with low expectations, having formed a previous (mostly negative) opinion of the author; however I found this to be a very interesting read, if just to get his side of the story.

O'Reilly presents a clear explaination of his beliefs and what drives him, while admiting his own wrongdoings along the way, without resorting to personal attacks against those who have attacked him in the past. He makes his case with clear-cut examples, going after the usual targets, the media, Hollywood, the ACLU, and "secular-progressives;" however, where other authors who go after said targets fail to clearly present their own side as an alternative, O'Reilly succedes with a vigor, devoting entire chapters to his own "traditional" beliefs.

Sure, some of the knee-jerk reactions that his fans love and many others hate is present, but it never becomes overbearing; reading this will not cause one to toss it across the room in anger. O'Reilly remains reserved but firm in presenting his case for traditionalists.

Additionally, I was surprised at the lack of the tired "convervative vs liberal, Republican vs Democrat" arguments...he sets the record straight on why this book is actually NOT about that right from the start, and points out why those arguments are not proactive.

I would reccomend this to not only fans of O'Reilly, but also to people like me, who are political moderates, not particularly fans and have formed a negative opinion on the author based on things seen in the media (or read in an Al Franken book). At the very least, this gives a tactful impression of what he is all about, something that tends to get lost when he is on television.
0Comment20 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2007
Don't get me wrong. I agree with Mr. O'Reilly often and really enjoy watching "The Factor" from time to time. I also agree with his premise and data regarding left wing smear tactics and Bush bashing. But, there is also much I disagree with him on. For one, he seems to always assume guilt of the accused and is a little overzealous in his support of police power and legislating morality. I'm no bleeding heart liberal nor an advocate for being soft on crime. I side with conservatives more often than liberals but I most strongly advocate liberty and my libertarian views often clash with his staunchly conservative views.

If you don't know what O'Reilly is all about or if you are a staunch conservative, you will probably like this book. If you are independent you will find some things you like and some things you do not. If you are a liberal you will want to toss it into the nearest garbage can. Take it for what it's worth.
0Comment34 of 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2007
Sometimes you agree with him, sometimes you don't - but he always challenges your mind. And, really, isn't that the purpose of selecting controversal literature to read. Keep it coming Bill.
0Comment36 of 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
PREAMBLE RAMBLE

Some reviewers on this site...and some of the "reviewers of reviewers"...tend to rate products or reviews in an almost knee-jerk fashion based upon their pre-conceived ideas about certain authors or artists (or reviewers). While that is understandable, it is not particularly helpful for those who want to rely upon the quality of the reviews here. So, I respectfully ask you to read this review before you rate it; and I will do my best to make it worth your time.

BACKGROUND

Like fellow culture warriors Ann Coulter, Al Franken, Sean Hannity, Keith Olbermann, Sean Penn, and Rush Limbaugh, best-selling author and pundit Bill O'Reilly provokes a visceral reaction in just about everyone who encounters him. In plain English, either you love him or hate him, but there is rarely any middle ground.

And that's a shame, because it sometimes prevents sober, civil consideration of the content of his message.

In his latest book, O'Reilly--in his unique, bombastic, black and white, pointed way--tries to make sense of the growing divide in America between groups he dubs "traditionalists" and "secular-progressives." While I might quibble with the precision of those particular terms, I believe O'Reilly is onto something in terms of the motives and passions that drive this growing divide.

O'Reilly correctly notes that the animus is not primarily rooted in party affiliation or even in "conservative" or "liberal" labels. After all, despite what Al Franken or Keith Olbermann might say, O'Reilly himself is very difficult to label politically. Some of his ideas are certainly reflective of a conservative mindset, but others might be categorized as liberal. He has been a fierce critic of President George W. Bush on numerous fronts and he is an outspoken admirer of the late Bobby Kennedy.

To his fans, he is a no-nonsense, straight talker, who refuses to whore himself out to any politician or entity. To his detractors, he is the most irritating, arrogant bulldog in their consciousness, capable of driving them into a frothing frenzy at the very mention of his name. Is it any wonder, then, that he is the most watched news commentator on cable television?

OVERVIEW

O'Reilly's greatest strength as an analyst/pundit and author can also be his greatest weakness; that is, he is utterly self-assured, sometimes to the point of arrogance. Also, he tends to write like he speaks: blunt, sharp, "pithy," and at times, colorless. Nonetheless, he is also a very sharp and deep thinker who has the ability to take complex issues and quickly summarize them...to boil them down to their essence and clearly articulate their relevance.

He boldly, in broad brush strokes, lays out the battle lines, and fearlessly names names; particularly those who have tried to silence or bully him personally. But this book is about a lot more than Bill O'Reilly; it's about the increasingly strident debate taking place in America concerning who we are as a people, and where we are going.

I personally dislike the term "progressive" for those who are attacking traditional values. I think "secular" is accurate, but I think that rather than calling their ideas "progressive," O'Reilly should call them "corrosive." The ACLU standing up for the "North American Man-Boy Love Association" is hardly progress; it's more like perversion. But I digress.

O'Reilly does a fine job of exposing hypocrisy and in provoking some questions that certainly need to be asked. And, in an odd way, he may help heal some of the partisan political divide as Democrats and Republicans who share many traditional values take consideration of the things they actually have in common.

RECOMMENDATION

This is a very important book that will spark many needed discussions in days, weeks, and months ahead. O'Reilly is a genius when it comes to seeing and articulating issues of relevance and import, and whether you love him or hate him, this book is a window onto the mindset of millions of Americans.

If more of us could learn to read the thoughts and ideas of "the other guys," it could significantly increase our understanding of one another and perhaps even lead to redemptive dialog. For that reason, I highly recommend this book.
169169 comments1,045 of 1,455 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2008
First, I must say that I would recommend Pat Buchanan's "Day Of Reckoning" over this book because he is less angry, more intellectual, & goes more in depth into the issues. This is a book about very different & often opposing beliefs of the USA & the world in general. He asks the crucial question, "who are we as a people?" He points out that if the opposing groups do not come to some sort of agreement we could in future decades come apart as a country. The author feels that the Secular Progressive folks want to turn the USA into a European style Socialist country. But, here he could have been much more specific. He delves into how this culture war with the traditionalists is happening across academic institutions, TV, Radio, the print media, & internet blogs. Such as George Soros' bank rolling left wing "air America radio", the cult of moral relativism{the what about me victim groups seeking special rights}, the womb to the tomb nanny state, teenager rights, & the ever growing secularization of religious holidays.

A personal example: a few tears ago in Macy's I said happy holiday to one of the people who work there & they said that they were told not to reciprocate because some folks get mad. That is crazy, I don't even know any atheists who would be offended by someone wishing them a happy holiday. All of these extremes are capable of changing our culture. Just think about the changes of the 1960's. Some were for the better like civil rights, & the negatives like the growth of the drug culture.

The book is divided into three parts. "The Conflict: America in The year 2020, The Culture war Where You Live, & The Struggle For The Soul Of America." The term culture war does on some level seems to fit since both sides rarely appear to agree on much. The traditionalists believe that our country was well founded & has done great things for the world. the secular progressives are hypercritical of our traditional beliefs & wish to move us closer on many levels to a European model where religion has been in decline for decades. This is not the stereotypical battle between liberals & conservatives. At the begining of each chapter are clips of certain famous people, some real others fictional. Ex's: "To conquer a nation, destroy the values of its people-Sun Tzu." George W. Bush is the greatest terrorist in the world-singer Harry Belafonte." Several chapters include interviews with folks on both sides that he has interviewed on either his TV or radio shows. He exposes the lenient sentences that many pedophiles get, & the ACLU who defends these perverts. They often believe in therapy over punishment. The last third of the book is the most crucial. He believes it can't be won in the religious sphere because the secular progressives have a near monopoly in Hollywood, the media, & academia. He feels the secular progressives have to be persuaded that traditionalism is in their best interest since it is far closer to what the founding fathers set up for our country to be. This includes far less reliance on big government, hard work, more personal & family responsibilty, & a better sense of community.

Many readers like myself{an agnostic} will find they have some beliefs of both. Though I personally think that I am 60% traditionalist, & 40% secular progressive. But, the author makes vividly clear that you can agree with aspects of both. I have often found that the differences between the two groups come from how they approach problems & life in general. It is a culture war as much about methodology as it is about individual or group beliefs. In conclusion, there is plenty of room for compromise if we try?
9494 comments58 of 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2007
Bill Oreilly - love him or hate him; everybody has a view on this guy. Anyone who's read his other books or watched his show won't be surprised by what's in this book, but that doesn't mean it's useless. He occasionally needs to come out with a book like this to counter the propaganda put out by those who hate him (e.g., "comedian" Al Franken and political neophyte George Clooney). He sets the story straight here, but then again, much of this is preaching to the converted, so to speak. Not sure how many of the haters will bother to read it. And yes, I read books written by liberals too.

Over the years, Bill Oreilly has softened his approach as he's gotten more famous, unfortunately. As he spends a lot of time surrounded by liberals (when he's not on the set of Fox News), there's probably only so much negativity he can put up with before feeling the need to be on the "right side" of the issue. The cocktail party scene in NYC is unforgiving and he might want the occasional invite, even from liberals. O'Reilly inadvertently uses their language when he says things like "mean spirited" and derides "talk radio"; this is nothing more than code for "disagreeing with liberals" and "Rush Limbaugh", respectively. Say what you mean, Bill.

Also, O'Reilly severely misses the point about the position the Catholic Church takes on homosexual adoption. He falls into the trap of advancing the feel-good notion that they ought to change their views. This is typical of American Catholics in particular, that if only the Vatican would revise the rules, things would be so much better, etc. Bill, hate to say it, but that's the religion. It isn't about getting the right politician up there to modify it; you might as well expect Muslims to stop praying five times a day. Love it or hate it, the Catholics in Massachusetts who made that decision [not to acquiesce to the politicians requiring them to place orphans into homosexual adoption] are at least consistent in their beliefs.

Overall, the book is a good read, but don't mistake Bill for anything more than a great, fair host and illuminating commentator. He should not regarded as a true conservative idealogue.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2006
America is at war. There is no denying this truth. But what some may not realize is that we are fighting a war on two-fronts against two very different, yet very real, enemies. There are of course the Islamo-Fascists, the radicals who hate everything that resembles democracy and everyone who does not accept their radical religious views. We all know about this enemy. We've all seen what they can do first-hand. We may disagree on how to fight them, but we don't deny their existence or their intentions.

But then there is the war on the home front, a war of culture as Bill O'Reilly puts it. This involves the traditionalists, those who honor America's traditions, the Constitution and the Judeo-Christian principles on which this nation was founded. Countering the traditionalists are the secular progressives. They are a small segment of the population, but they have a lot of power and financial backing. They believe America is inherently flawed, that this country requires drastic change. Their main targets are the Judeo-Christian ethic, free enterprise, freedom of religion and capitalism. Leading the charge is the ACLU - whose founder was a self-proclaimed socialist - and they have chosen the American court system as the battleground.

Bill O'Reilly details this fight in Culture Warrior. Unlike many Americans, I already knew this country was engaged in a fight for her culture. So there wasn't much new to me. But O'Reilly did a masterful job of pointing out the tactics and strategy of the "SPs" as he calls them. He calls out their leaders, those who provide the financial support for their causes and the top SP supporters in the mainstream media (which is crawling with secular progressives). In short, they have a gameplan and O'Reilly has exposed it. The only question is what will America do about it?

This is not about "separation of church and state". No, this is about separation of church and behavior. This is about humanism conquering spirituality. And it's not a Republican versus Democrat issue either, as O'Reilly points out. This war is not being fought at the polls because the SPs know that their measures have been and will continue to be defeated in votes, that is until they can corrupt enough of the younger generation to have their will prevail democratically. Until then, they have chosen the court system as a means of imposing their vision for America on the common American and, so far, it's working. Billionaires like George Soros provide the funds, the ACLU launches the offensives and the mainstream media acts as the defense perimeter - attacking anyone who offers a dissenting opinion or attempts to expose this campaign for what it is.

O'Reilly paints a vivid picture for America that the secular progressives pursue. Mr. O'Reilly has taken this to challenge and I salute him for it. Now, if America would only join the fight.
33 comments34 of 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2007
Mr Oreilly's insights are remarkable. His comments about S-Ps made me understand why our country has become so politically correct. Our children will be entering a complex, and competitive world. Yet, in many areas they are not allowed to keep score in athletic games because it might hurt their self esteem!! What a bunch of BS!
0Comment34 of 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 9, 2006
As several of the reviewers have commented; You will either like this book or hate it. Today in America, everything breaks down along strong philosophical lines and/or beliefs: Liberal or Conservative. Secular or spiritual. And on and on. The days of interactive discourse have given way to loud and often obnoxious pontificating from all sides: The great new game of the "Shout-over", or who can out shout who. Meanwhile, the TRUTH is the big loser in all this as each side tries to out spin (no pun intended) the other.

Enter Bill O'Reilly and the "No Spin Zone". I am a true, traditional Reagan conservative. I have fought for my country and served in armed combat 3 times. I live by the code of Duty, Honor, Country. I believe in family and the basic worth of each individual person. When I read the last 15 pages of Mr. O'Reilly's book concerning "The Code of the Traditional Warrior", I was humbled. If nothing else he spells out the foundation of what makes this country great. You can argue about various philosophies, and discuss who makes a better politician, but in the end it is you that Mr. O'Reilly is talking to. Yes he is bombastic and sometimes over-the-top but he is sincere in what he believes and that is the measure of any man.

It is a good, quick read and at 200 pages does not weigh one down with endless ideology or heavy deep thought. It is the opinions of an honest man who believes in what he is saying. We may agree or disagree with what he says but it is the journey that counts. I am sure that with Bill O'Reilly there is no middle ground.
0Comment33 of 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2007
It is good to have a source for information about some of the influence that money has on our country.
0Comment32 of 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse