Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Sell Us Your Item
For up to a $10.20 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Cunningham/Rauschenberg: Merce Cunningham Dance Company-Robert Rauschenberg Collaborations

Merce Cunningham , Robert Rauschenberg , Merce Cunningham , Charles Atlas  |  G |  DVD

Price: $60.00 & FREE Shipping. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Frequently Bought Together

Cunningham/Rauschenberg: Merce Cunningham Dance Company-Robert Rauschenberg Collaborations + Cage Cunningham - A Film by Elliot Caplan / John Cage, Merce Cunningham, Robert Rauschenberg, Jasper Johns + Points in Space - Merce Cunningham Dance Company / Merce Cunningham, John Cage, Elliot Caplan
Price for all three: $88.74

Some of these items ship sooner than the others.

Buy the selected items together

Product Details

Special Features


Editorial Reviews


Review 1:    The three dances documented here offer glimpses into the fruitful collaboration between Merce Cunningham and Robert Rauschenberg, and also John Cage, three formidable American artists in their respective fields of dance, visual art and music.  Each disc focuses solely on the performance.  For information about the historical context, look to the accompanying booklet which contains a substantive essay by dance professor, Bonnie Brooks, and archival photos of Cunningham and other dancers from the two original 1950s works.  Individually these pieces stand as visually and sonically engaging objects of contemporary art.  As a whole the package offers wonderful possibilities to reflect on the progression of collaboration between the creators, and the resulting artworks presented here.  This DVD set is highly recommended for dancers, artists, musicians and anyone with interest in the intersection of contemporary avant-garde music, pop art and modern dance.



Source 1:   Jessica Isler, Reference and Instruction Librarian, Middlebury College, Middlebury VT/ Educational Media Reviews Online/ 04/07/2011

Product Description

In 1954 Robert Rauschenberg became the Resident Designer to the Merce Cunningham Dance Company, a position he held for ten years. During that time theses friends and collaborators, along with the musician John Cage, created some of the most iconoclastic artworks of the 20th century. This 3 DVD set showcases these great artists' works, along with that of another, filmmaker Charles Atlas. Each DVD features the choreography of Merce Cunningham in historically significant dances: Suite for Five (1956) has a chance derived score by John Cage and costumes and design by Rauschenberg; Summerspace (1958) features a score by Morton Feldman and decor and costumes by Rauschenberg; Interscape (2000) has a score by Cage and costume and set design by Rauschenberg. The DVD set is accompanied by an illustrated essay by Bonnie Brooks.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category