Customer Reviews


310 Reviews
5 star:
 (219)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really grew on me.
At first I was like "um...no," but then I continued watching because I rented the disks from Netflix and then I ended up laughing my ass off. This is a weird comedy show. The timing is really strange, because it is improvised apparently. Now I can't get enough of the show. Larry David is just so...inappropriate sometimes it makes you die laughing. And the cast is just...
Published on March 10, 2006 by Kristin Bell

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The show is great, but what about the DVD?
Since anyone considering buying this DVD set is probably a fan of the show, I will focus not on a review of the show itself, but of the DVD release.
Packaging is nice enough - a cardboard slipcase with an amusing little sliding mechanism that is neat to look at and fun to play around with, but not quite as practical or durable as the standard plastic snap case...
Published on January 17, 2004 by Christopher A Folkins


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really grew on me., March 10, 2006
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 1 (DVD)
At first I was like "um...no," but then I continued watching because I rented the disks from Netflix and then I ended up laughing my ass off. This is a weird comedy show. The timing is really strange, because it is improvised apparently. Now I can't get enough of the show. Larry David is just so...inappropriate sometimes it makes you die laughing. And the cast is just great too. They all play it off like pros. I have ordered the series now and can't wait to watch them all again. One episode was so funny I had to watch it like four times in a row. Maybe that says something strange about my creepy life that I'm watching Larry David so much, but c'est la vie! My advice is to watch the entire first season and see if it doesn't sink into your skin. Larry David's humor is not for everyone, but if you are smart and kind of dorky sometimes with a wicked sense of humor you should like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you thought Seinfeld was funny... you are in for a treat!, April 26, 2006
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 1 (DVD)
I just finished watching the season finale of the fourth season and I must say I am going to miss this show. In the past few months I have watched all four seasons and this is the ONLY television show that almost every time leaves me with a huge laugh at the end. This show is intelligent and so brilliantly simple and complex at the same time. Do yourself a favor, WATCH this show, comprised of people who are at the top of their craft!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insanely Great...Funnier than Seinfeld, August 22, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you can stand Seinfeld with no language restrictions, this show is insanely great. Larry David is a genius, and doesn't fear making himself look like a totally self-centered and horrid person. The fact that his character is "Larry David, the Creator of Seinfeld" in the show wonderfully blurs the line between reality and fiction.
When you see this show, you will realize that the greatest part of the Seinfeld show was from the mind of Larry David. This alone makes the show fascinating to watch.
There are wonderful recurring cameos by Jason Alexander, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Richard Lewis, and a host of others.
There is a significant level of discomfort watching this show, and you might even find yourself yelling at the TV as Larry David digs himself into ever deeper holes through his habit of obfuscation and dissassembly. The hilarious thing is that his intentions are generally good, but the result is disastrous. It's wonderful that he never really learns why people end up despising him so much. If he did, he wouldn't get into so much trouble and the show wouldn't be nearly as funny.
The humor is very REAL, despite coming from rather outlandish circumstances at times. If you have any appreciation of existential humor, you MUST see this show. It is a true treasure of modern comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Larry David's Other Show, December 18, 2005
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 1 (DVD)
"Curb Your Enthusiasm" is a very funny show from Larry David, the co-creator and executive producer of "Seinfeld", as well as the person behind the character George. In this case, Larry himself is the central character, with the two main supporting characters Jeff Garlin (as Jeff Greene, Larry's agent), and Cheryl Hines (as Cheryl David, Larry's wife). There are certainly similarities between "Seinfeld" and "Curb Your Enthusiasm". Jerry Seinfeld played himself in the first series, while Larry David plays himself in this series. Also, both shows tend to be about the minutia of life, and that is where they get their humor.

There are differences as well; "Seinfeld" was more of an ensemble show, while this show has a single character focus. "Seinfeld" was also a network program, while "Curb Your Enthusiasm" is from HBO, and so there are virtually no restrictions as there were with the prior series. "Seinfeld" was scripted, while in "Curb Your Enthusiasm" the dialogue is improvised.

There are only ten episodes in this season of "Curb Your Enthusiasm", and yet despite this several of the episodes seem to follow a formula. In this formula, Larry gets into an argument with a character early in the episode, only to have it come back and cause a problem for him later on. They are still very funny to watch, but it does take away a bit from the overall enjoyment. My favorite episodes from this season would be "The Bracelet", "Beloved Aunt", and "The Group".

There are a few additional features in this two disk DVD set. On Disk 1, there is an audio commentary with Larry David, Jeff Garlin, Cheryl Hines, and the director Robert B. Weide for the first episode. Disk 2 has the original 1 hour HBO special from which the show came, and there is a 30 minute interview of Larry David by Bob Costas. If you like Seinfeld, then you will probably enjoy this series as well, although you should be aware that there are differences. The show gets a lot of humor from arguments, and the language is coarser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone, but it should be, February 23, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 1 (DVD)
Of course when people think of the word "Seinfeld" they think of either the Emmy award winning Show, or the stand-up comedian. The average Joe doesn't ever add Larry David to that mix. Considering how Larry David is the Co-Creator of "Seinfeld" that in itself is a crime. "Curb Your Enthusiasm" is the exact opposite...after watching so much as one episode of this brilliant show, Larry David is the only thing you can think about. In essence, this show is primarily the ongoing saga of "A show about nothing". The twist is that Larry has decided to make himself the lead role, and nobody could even come close to doing it better.
Larry represents what all of us feel at certain times in our lives. He is simply a person trying to live his life without problems, yet his mouth and his day to day communications with society prevent him from ever coming close to achieving his goal. Almost every episode begins innocent, and by the end the average viewer feels just as lost and victimized as Larry does. When I say victimized, I simply mean that Larry ain't perfect...but neither is the world he lives in.
For example, in the first episode Larry comments to his wife Cheryl(played by Cheryl Hines) that his pants "Bunch up" in a rather peculiar way when he sits down. That simple observation alone sparks a series of downward spirals which eventually leave Larry completely unable to explain what is in fact(more times than not) the truth.
There are times when watching this show that you can't help but cringe because you know what will end up being Larry's downfall. But it is the eventual downfall and events that transpire that keep you watching(and laughing).
Much like the show "The Office", "Curb your Enthusiasm" has a certain undefinable quality that few people can come close to explaining. The 4th Season of "Curb" has just begun recently on HBO, and It is still one of the most Uncomfortable yet Brilliant Comedy series to exist on television.
Should you buy this DVD? Yes...unless you are A.Easily offended B. A Child or C.Have no sense of Humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is for comedy, what The Sopranos is for drama, December 2, 2004
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 1 (DVD)
Without handheld cameras, low production values and a lot of adlibbing, "Curb Your Enthusiasm" has the look of a cross between reality-TV, your uncle's home movies and high budget porn. Adding to the strange "real life" quality of the show is that the star/creator Larry David plays a character named Larry David and the show is littered with appearances by the likes of Richard Lewis, Ted Danson, Mary Steenburgen and Julia Louis-Dreyfus all playing "themselves" (or people in alternative realities who look like them and have the same life histories).

In another show about nothing, "Curb" focuses on the daily life of "Seinfeld" co-creator Larry David and maintains many of the qualities of the groundbreaking comedy. Each episode builds its own plot, with a revolving door of supporting players. But the show is its star, Larry David. Fans (or loathers) of George Costanza will see similarities between the fictitious George and the man who created him. Like George, the neurotic Larry obsesses over events that do not go well, over-analyzes everything, and often is the chief saboteur in destroying his ambitious plans. Most episodes end with Larry coming face to face with the most disastrous consequences of his conniving ways.

"Curb" is not for everyone, as many of the plots grow from distasteful subject matter and in the Dadaistic sense, challenge conventions and cultural norms for comedy. Stories are built from incest survivors groups, pants that make Larry appear constantly aroused and the season's most shocking moment, an obituary typo for a "beloved aunt" in which the "a" is replaced by the worst letter possible for that situation (think about it if you must).

Truly avant-garde television, "Curb Your Enthusiasm" stands on the unconventional shoulders of "Seinfeld" and reaches new heights in absurdity and artistic accomplishment. Although destined to never be as commercially successful as David's first show, "Curb" dazzles the critics and will build a faithful core of cult followers for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larry David is a comic genius...., November 30, 2006
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 1 (DVD)
When I was "coming of age" in the 1990's, I refused to watch Seinfeld. I hated American sitcoms, which have been going steadily downhill since the 1970's. But I got a pair of tickets to see Jerry in concert (after the show had concluded), so I went. I really liked it, so I watched the entire Seinfeld show. Then noticing some guy named Larry David was constantly listed in the credits, I decided to check out Curb Your Enthusiasm. I like CYE more than Seinfeld. When you watch CYE, you realise that George Costanza is Larry David, and you realise how much of Seinfeld was really Larry David. After Larry left Seinfeld, the writing declined sharply, and got quite silly at times. I think this show is hilarious, especially the first episode when Larry insults Richard Lewis's girlfriend. I also love the "Wagner" episode (Trick or Treat), and when Richard and Larry help the blind guy move in. Susie Essman's character in this show is absolutely hysterical. Just imagine an even more shrill and ticked off version of Janeane Garofalo, and you get the idea. Even though it's about Hollywood in some ways, it doesn't wallow in the "insider" mode like a lot of shows about Hollywood do with gratuitous celebrity cameos (like The Larry Sanders Show used to do). If a celebrity appears here, they usually end up playing the dark side of their natures, and they actually have to act a bit. Even though Larry grates, he is still great. I really dig this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What in the world is HBO waiting for, we want C.Y.E on DVD!!, January 14, 2003
By 
Jazzy (Simi Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This is by far THE FUNNIEST, SICKEST,most TWISTED show on the air. Although I loved Seinfeld, this show makes Seinfeld look like Sesame Street. I mean that by saying this, everyone thought that when we saw "The Contest " on network T.V, is was new and inovative, which is was at the time(by the way, that episode was voted #1 Seinfeld episode of all, and Larry David single handly wrote it because he really WAS in that contest, and thus became the basis for the character of George). It made being "master of your domain" funny. Seinfeld couldn't get away with some of the stuff that Larry does, just for the sheer fact that Larry is on HBO as opposed to network tv and is unleashed to spread his funny, sick sense of humor to us all, and God love him for that! What show besides C.Y.E makes fun of death, divorce,getting fired, getting arrested,terrorism, getting into a physical altercation with your best friend and not holding a grudge, and even child molestation(ie:"the Doll" episode, ok lighten up folks, I'm a mother too, but that line "Mommy mommy that bald guy is in the bathroom and there is something hard in his pants", tell me you didn't laugh your head off!)What is HBO waiting for...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this show is an acquired taste, March 11, 2004
By 
R. Alvarez (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 1 (DVD)
I have to equate watching Larry David with drinking a Guiness. At first it has this nasty bitter taste. You drink a few more and all of a sudden, "you get it". I am a huge huge fan of Seinfeld. A friend of mine kept telling me about this show. I just couldn't get into it. Finally I sat my self down and forced myself to watch a few episodes on on-demand. All of a sudden, a little switch in my head clicked and I "got it". This show is like a spin-off featuring george costanze to the third power. I regret that I watched the third and fourth seasons before i watched the first. Now that I am watching the first season, I spend half the time on the floor lmao and can't wait for season 2 to come out on dvd. Like Seinfeld, this is the kind of show you can watch over and over again and not get bored. All I can say is give it a chance, bear with it for a few episodes, but it will be worth it. My favorite episode is the one with the cadaver sniffing dog in season 3 - "Larry David, you four-eyed F@#K!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest shows ever, November 27, 2004
By 
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 1 (DVD)
I have always been a huge fan of HBO television. However, Curb Your Enthusiasm was a show that I always stayed away from up until very recently. I have never seen a single episode of Seinfeld, and Curb Your Enthusiasm focuses around the co-creator of that show Larry David. I was worried that refrences to Seinfeld in the show would make things confusing for me. However, after hearing from a countless amount of people how great Curb Your Enthusiasm was, I decided to put my skepticism aside and give it a shot. Curb Your Enthusiasm has to be one of the funniest shows that I have ever seen in my life and despite the few references to Seinfeld, I was able to keep up with no problem. The show is set up in the form of a "mockumentary" to show Larry David's life after Seinfeld and how he spends his time in his daily life. The reason the show is so funny, is because they portray Larry David as a constant victim of circumstance. The brilliance of this show, is that each episode focuses on how Larry's bad luck effects him and others around him. The show is quite addicting because of the fact that each episode manages to come up with new and entertaining ways for Larry to make a fool out of himself.

The first season of the show is exteremely funny from start to finish. A few episodes worth mentioning are - "The Pants Tent" in which an innocent "bunch-up" in Larry's trousers gives rise to a misunderstanding with Cheryl's friend Nancy at the movies; "Porno Gil" that focuses on Larry not picking up a golf ball for a person at the driving range, which sets of a bizarrre chain of events in which he is forced to attend a party put on by an ex porn actor named Gil; "Interior Decorator" in which Larry politely holds an elevator door for a woman in an office building, which causes Larry to lose his spot at the doctor's office and delay the events of the rest of his day ; and "Beloved Aunt" in which Larry offers to use his connections to place an obituary in the newspaper for his wife's aunt. But when the paper comes out, the "a" in "aunt" has been mistakenly replaced with a "c", and his wife's family is convinced that Larry did it on purpose.

Overall, Curb Your Enthusiasm is probably one of the funniest shows that I have ever seen, and few shows have managed to match the quality of the writing that Curb Your Enthusiasm offers. My only gripe with the show, is that each season only contains ten 30 minute episodes. The first season DVD set includes all ten first season episodes, as well as the hour long special that inspired the series. I especially liked watching the special to see how the show came to be.

A solid 5 stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 1
Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 1 by Jason Alexander (DVD - 2004)
$39.98 $9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.