Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest Show on Television
Season 2 of CYE is arriving in June! Here's hoping HBO keeps the sets coming more frequently than they've done with Oz. Season 2 ranks up there and has some priceless moments including the doll episode! I would like to see more bonus features on the CYE discs...maybe outtakes or the ultimate idea...the cast roasting Larry!
List of Season 2 episodes (air date):...
Published on March 18, 2004 by Scott Ellinwood

versus
15 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it should be!
If this was a rating on the 10 episodes alone it would be 5 stars. But when you look at the lack of extras and the shortness of the set (only 10 episodes), you realize that HBO is cashing in on a collection that should be no more than $19.99 per season.
Published on June 3, 2004


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest Show on Television, March 18, 2004
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 2 (DVD)
Season 2 of CYE is arriving in June! Here's hoping HBO keeps the sets coming more frequently than they've done with Oz. Season 2 ranks up there and has some priceless moments including the doll episode! I would like to see more bonus features on the CYE discs...maybe outtakes or the ultimate idea...the cast roasting Larry!
List of Season 2 episodes (air date):
The Car Salesman (9/23/01)
Thor (9/30/01)
Trick Or Treat (10/7/01)
The Shrimp Incident (10/14/01)
The Thong (10/21/01)
The Acupuncturist (10/28/01)
The Doll (11/4/01)
Shaq (11/11/01)
The Baptism (11/18/01)
The Massage (11/25/01)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still superior to all other TV comedy series..., July 6, 2004
By 
B. Seigal (La Mesa, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 2 (DVD)
I rated this four stars relative to the series as a whole; in relation to every other comedy currently on the air, it really warrants the full five stars. In short, I have to agree with other reviewers who feel Season Two is probably the weakest in the "Curb Your Enthusiasm" series. Still, this is worth the price of admission for the "Doll Head" episode alone, maybe the funniest 30 minutes ever aired in television history, even if the rest isn't quite up to the usual Larry David standards. And while I'm not generally a fan of DVD extras, shelling out 35 bucks for a no-frills five-hour's worth of viewing seemed a tad inflated compared to similar DVD sets on the market (really, all the HBO series DVD's are over-priced).
It was still worth it in the end, as nothing makes me laugh harder than watching this poor shlub stammer his way through ridiculous situations of his own making. Priceless moments this season include an uncomfortably realistic bit with Jason Alexander suffering the slings and arrows of post-Seinfeld Costanza-typecasting; Ed Asner's hysterical turn as a gruff and horny old geezer on his last legs; and a horrified Larry encountering his shrink sporting a package-revealing thong at the beach -- not to even mention the nightmarish water bottle incident in the "Doll Head" episode.
This is "Curb Your Enthusiasm" undergoing growing pains, unsuccessful in fully re-capturing the spontaneous greatness of Season One and not yet on the reliably steady legs that will later hallmark its prime. While the writing and guest spots improve markedly in subsequent years, this series is still superior to everything being served up by the networks, even in its weakest hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SMART AND VERY FUNNY!, January 19, 2005
By 
RMurray847 (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 2 (DVD)
There are two reasons I had never really watched CURB YOUR ENTHUSIASM. One, we don't get cable or HBO, and two, everything I heard about it was that Larry David was such a miserable, downer character. While I think SEINFELD was some of the funniest stuff on television, I figured I didn't need to watch this glum guy who isn't really an actor starring in a TV show as "himself."

Well, finally, my 17 year old son dragged me in front of the TV to watch some of the DVDs he had borrowed. I'm so GLAD he did!!

First of all, Larry David is far from a complete misanthrope. Granted, he's got a naturally whiny voice, slouchy posture and a natural cynicism that comes with intelligence. But he's actually a fairly warm guy. Unlike Jerry and his gang, he actually mostly gets himself into trouble trying to do something NICE, not nasty. A good example: In one episode, he's at a party that he's clearly not terribly interested in. He goes upstairs to find a restroom (cuz the lock downstairs doesn't work...that's a whole other subplot) and bumps into the young daughter of the family that owns the house. He uses the restroom and then he actually takes a moment to speak with the young girl in a friendly and genuine manner. He apparently feels for the fact that she's been made to be cooped up in her room while the adults chat and drink below. He talks with her about her doll, and as the two interact, she asks Larry to cut the doll's hair. Not having children of his own and not knowing better, Larry does so, and actually seems to enjoy his time with the little girl. Of course, five minutes later she's screaming and complaining to momma about the horrible man that cut the doll's hair! It's a frustrating situation that gets funnier as Larry tries to solve it...but the catalyst for the whole thing stems from Larry David being nice. Genuinely.

The show has lots of moments like this. And it's greatly helped by the delightful Cheryl Hines who plays David's wife. They have a palpable affection, but if feels like the affection of a couple that's been together for awhile. They can clearly annoy each other, but always with affection underneath. They understand each other's weaknesses, but never is the solidity of their relationship threatened. It's a believably happy marriage.

The show is in a very improvisational style, not at all like carefully crafted dialogue on SEINFELD. Yet the plots are neatly structured and the characters are rich. The episodes are sprinkled with wonderful cameos and appearances by many recognizable character actors. The show is pleasantly non-mean-spirited, and very funny.

In keeping with HBO shows, it can be fairly graphic in its language, so it's not for kids. But the humor isn't much for kids either. It's a grownup show for intelligent grown-ups, and I HIGHLY recommend it. Thank goodness for DVDs so I can finally see this show!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seinfeld... Part II, July 6, 2004
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 2 (DVD)
If you loved Seinfeld, you will love Curb Your Enthusiasm. Like Seinfeld, this show is mostly about nothing. While it does have situations mixed into the fold, the core laughs come from throwing the characters into everyday situations and picking apart the day-to-day things that we all can relate to.
It has been common knowledge that Larry David, the co-creator of Seinfeld was the real-life version of Jason Alexander's character, George Costanza. When you watch this show, you can't help but see the similarities.
One of the more interesting things about this show is that the dialogue is totally unscripted. This adds a freshness to the show that is very unique.
The show features a lot of cameos from Larry David's circle of Hollywood friends who generally play themself.
My only complaint is that there are only 10 episodes per season. I can't get enough of this show. It's clearly the funniest show on TV today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curb Your Enthusiasm, December 2, 2004
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 2 (DVD)
Larry David's Curb Your Enthusiasm is the gold standard in comedy series at the moment. I just started getting in the show a few months ago after renting season one on DVD. While season one was enjoyable season two raises the bar even higher. In the second season there is a common theme that runs throughout the episodes. Larry David tries to pitch a new TV show to variety of networks. Season Two has many appearances by former Seinfeld stars Jason Alexander and Julia-Louis Dreyfus as they try to pitch the new show.

The writing and acting on this improved show are great. I cannot wait for season three to come out on DVD in January. More good news is that Larry David is working on a new season right now. I recommend this show for anyone that is a big fan of Seinfeld. I would also recommend Arrested Development and the UK's The Office. These shows are creating the best comedy today.

11 - The Car Salesman
12 - Thor
13 - Trick or Treat
14 - The Shrimp Incident
15 - The Thong
16 - The Acupuncturist
17 - The Doll
18 - Shaq
19 - The Baptism
20 - The Massage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Judy, Judy", February 6, 2007
By 
Jabberwocky (Elsewhere, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 2 (DVD)
Unlike most people, I feel Curb Your Enthusiasm should go down as Larry David's crowning achievement; not the overrated Seinfeld.

Season 2 is the best season of ...Enthusiasm and it contains the best Curb Your Enthusiasm episode of all time: The Doll. This is the ultimate CYE episode. If you only watch one episode, watch this one. It's the funniest and most entertaining. All the episodes are gems but The Doll, Shaq, and The Shrimp Incident probably round out the best three.

The show has declined in the past couple of seasons, but it is still a fresh, entertaining show with Season 2 being the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best show on TV, May 17, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 2 (DVD)
I am not an avid viewer of television, but of the few shows I do watch, Curb Your Enthusiasm is by far the best. Larry David is absolutely hilarious. One thing I can warn people who have never seen the show before: Firstly, you need to start watching the shows from the very first episode, you'll appreciate the humor that much more. As well, one thing I personally went through is that at first the show seems very boring. After getting into it, however, you'll start to see each character's personality, which is what makes Curb shine. After you get into curb, you'll be addicted. The only complaint I would have against curb is that eventually you get to really like David's character on the show, but unfortunatly, like the George on Seinfeld who was based on David, nothing will ever work out for David, and things always will go bad for him to no fault of his own. You'll almost find yourself wanting him to succeed just once! It can be slightly frustrating at times, but is too minimal to take away from this great show. 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CURB YOUR ENTHUSIASM - Season Two, June 20, 2004
By 
Donato (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 2 (DVD)
Season One was wonderful. Season Two is terrific. Too bad all America doesn't have HBO so they can grow to love this unusual and very funny show. CURB follows an intricate formula with the same precision of a Bach fugue. That's why I can watch these episodes over and over again without getting tired of them. (Try that with your average throw-away TV sitcom!) If it takes one sampling to hook you, I recommend "The Doll." This episode has so many little comedic set-ups and pay-offs running through it that you shake your head (while laughing) in complete respect for what Larry David pulls off when the 30 minutes are over. These days, TV gives us hundreds of channels of mostly-crumby programming. CURB YOUR ENTHUSIASM is a unique entertainment from a really original and creative mind. Buy this and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthusiastic About Season Two, July 13, 2004
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 2 (DVD)
Curb Your Enthusiasm is the hilarious HBO series starring Larry David as himself. The series have no solid plotlines, they are basically set up as shells, with the actors improvising most of the lines. Mr. David may well be the funniest actor on television. He is a crotchity, acerbic guy who is constantly getting himself into trouble by saying or doing the wrong things at the wrong time. Season two features one of the series' best ever episodes, Shaq. Larry is bemoaning his perpetual bad luck when he gets courtside seats to a Lakers game. During the game, he accidentally trips Lakers star Shaquille O'Neal, sending Shaq to the hospital with an injury. Of course Larry is blamed for the injury and is ostracized by all his friends and hated by everyone. But Larry hits a good luck streak, where everything is going his way for a change. He even starts hanging out with Shaq in his hospital room, but in the end, Larry screws it up and his bad luck returns. Season two features the usual compliment of guest stars including Mr. David's former Seinfeld cohorts Jason Alexander & Julia Louis-Dreyfus, good buddy Richard Lewis and the usual stellar support from regulars Cheryl Hines & Jeff Garlin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, WHAT A SHOW!, April 26, 2006
This review is from: Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 2 (DVD)
I just finished watching the season finale and I must say I am going to miss this show. In the past few months I have watched all four seasons and this is the ONLY television show that almost every time leaves me with a huge laugh at the end. This show is intelligent and so brilliantly simple and complex at the same time. Do yourself a favor, WATCH this show, comprised of people who are at the top of their craft!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 2
Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 2 by Larry David (DVD - 2004)
$39.98 $15.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.