Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Beauty Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals TheGoodDinosaur Outdoor Deals on HTL

Format: DVDChange
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

50 of 59 people found the following review helpful
on June 15, 2005
A lot of people pointed out the quality of "Curb" went downhill in the fourth season. I disagree. The "Producers" storyline with Ben Stiller and then David Schwimmer was just as great as the first three with some hilarious episodes. I read there are no extras in the set. A shame--so much could have been included, and the price is a bit steep considering there were only ten episodes. I got the first couple of seasons for $20,but the show is such a gem I suppose it is worth paying a little more..but it would have been nice to have those extras in there.ala Seinfeld.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
190 of 241 people found the following review helpful
on August 14, 2005
Gotta love HBO and Curb! This season brings back the best Democrat, LARRY DAVID and he does not disappoint! My favorite episode is "The Car Pool Lane" where all hell breaks loose when Larry wants to use a hooker for the car pool lane to beat that I-405 Los Angeles traffic. The actress that plays the character of the prostitute does a hilarious job in this episode. It is also endearing to see Anne Bancroft in one of her last performances before she died. [...]

Oh, and get this dvd!
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on July 7, 2005
Larry David does it again...another great season! I have heard a lot of people complain that there are only 10 episodes and therefore the price is steep. I do have to disagree. You really get what you pay for. In my opinion, I'd rather have 10 excellent episodes (each worth watching again and again) versus 30 crappy episodes of something that I don't even want to watch one time. So far I have watched the episodes from the first three seasons at least 5 times. There is no other TV series I own on DVD that I want to watch over and over again. So I feel my money was very well spent. I hope Larry keeps making Curb, for many more seasons.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon September 13, 2005
If you're new to CURB YOUR ENTHUSIASM, don't start with Season 4, unless it happens to fall in your lap. Try to start from the beginning. There is actually a subtle progression to the show. Each episode contains both "self-contained" stories, and ongoing issues that develop from show to show, and sometimes from season to season.

But I'm assuming that if you're looking at Season 4, you're already interested in or familiar with CYE. Season 4 is a laugh-riot. I think the season now has the perfect blend of Larry David, the unfortunate victim of circumstance and Larry David, the jerk who brings bad things on himself.

On one hand, Larry tries to be a nice guy. He always seems to enjoy the company of children, for a genuine way. He'll sit down with them and play their games and talk to them like they're actually interesting. To him, there's no one who isn't worth talking with and trying to be friendly with. This is an admirable trait...which always gets him in trouble. On the other hand, Larry never knows when to quit. He'll start on a subject (for example, he begins to suggesting possible "oriental-sounding" names to a secretary who is getting ready to adopt a child), and his riff becomes more and more inappropriate and the signals from the woman become easier and easier to notice, but he blithely rambles on...making an enemy whose disgust WILL come back to bite him.

Often, Larry David is categorized as a misanthrope. To me that's far too easy. What I like about him is that he can go from charming and amusing and genuinely concerned about something (his interactions with his wife, for example) to an overbearing, overopinionated jerk in about two seconds flat. We see him crossing the line, but he never sees it himself. He thinks his complaints or questions are perfectly reasonable. (There's a great scene where he is waiting in a doctor's exam room for the Dr. to he uses the phone in the room. Doctor [brilliantly under-played by Phillip Baker Hall] explains that the phone is not for a patient's use. David just keeps insisting on knowing why. He tries at one point to restrain himself...but he just can't help it...he's obsessed with getting an explanation!).

The big story of the season is Larry being hired by Mel Brooks to take the lead in THE PRODUCERS on Broadway. It's a bit of a stretch to believe Mel would make such a choice, but if you buy're in for a real treat! Ben Stiller appears in several early episodes and is very funny doing his "slow-burn" schtick. The show has always been great for letting its guest-stars playing themselves turn their whole images upside-down.

It's unfortunate that a typical CYE season only has 10 episodes...but heck, each one packs the laughs of 3 or 4 typical sitcoms into it, so from an entertainment standpoint, you can't beat this show. Every episode makes me laugh out-loud many, many times.

By the way, in case you don't know...these shows ARE NOT FOR KIDS!!! They contain very frank (and funny) language and situations. Strictly for adults. But highly recommended too!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on August 13, 2005
This is one of the best series in TV that ever there was. Larry David is excellent and whilst you feel sorry for him, you sometimes want to give him a good kick in the pants. This show keeps you in stiches and it's the kind of show you can watch over and over again 'cause it always remains funny.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on October 23, 2005
Whatever you do, don't believe the unhype for this season. I was reading the reviews on here and looking at the lame DVD cover photo this season and almost dreading having to watch my idol go down the drain.

Luckily I was a fool for taking note of the reviews contained here. It's true that the first four episodes rely on self-parody, with the jokes never really coming into their promised fruition. But halfway through it picks up, offering some of the funniest moments of the show (particularly in the Car Pool Lane). I found the story arc to be the best yet, though I will say that they are beginning to rely on continuity too much; many jokes span two episodes. Still, who can complain about strong series continuity?

Despite his self parody in the first eps, Larry is on top form for most of the season, managing to make all the crazy happenings seem somewhat believable. He even pulls off the Producers with style. Ben Stiller is fun to see on screen for maybe 5 minutes, but becomes grating to watch after a while. Fortunately, By halfway through the season, Ben is out and David Schwimmer is in, pulling off hating Larry better than possibly anyone else in the series' history. The levels of hate he brings, wow. As for the rest of the cast regulars... they actually seem a bit subdued this year (Jeff had a stroke at the end of season 3 so I can understand that, but the taming of his wife's temper doesn't really make sense). Not much Lewis here, but the addition of Larry's dad pays off.

Definitely one of the better seasons (I personally think 1 is the best and 3 is the worst)... let's just hope season 5 comes out on DVD in the next few years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon December 20, 2006
This season continues the awkward hilarity of Larry David's escapades. In this season he stars in a Broadway production of The Producers with Ben Stiller (and then David Schwimmer when Stiller can't put up with Larry), tries to follow through on his anniversary gift from Cheryl (after 10 years of marriage, he's allowed to have sex with another woman, if he can make it happen), hires a Native American to do his landscaping (and help with another problem of Cheryl's), helps his secretary get back together with her boyfriend, accuses a weatherman of lying to clear the golf courses and much more.

I watched 8 of the 10 episodes directly one after the other. The only reason I had to stop was 4 hours of any show is enoguh. This season is more cohesive as a season than previous ones have been. Story lines followed over into the next episodes more often than they have in the past.

But overall, I think this was the weakest of the 4 seasons leading up to this point. I think that just has to do with the stakes being raised so high. In previous seasons Larry dealt with small every day things, whereas in this season he's starring in a Broadway musical and trying to hook up a blind guy with a date.

That being said, it's still one of the funniest things on television. Larry still delivers the laugh. And any scene with Jeff or Cheryl is almost guaranteed to be hilarious. Surprisingly, the best guest star was a young boy playing Cheryl's nephew, who refuses to teach Larry a magic trick because he's "not a magician".

There are no extras on the DVDs, but really what extras do you need when you have 10 episodes of Curb Your Enthusiasm?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on November 3, 2005
HBO's Curb your enthusiasm just gets better. It's relatively unheard of over here in the UK, but as fans of Seinfeld we got into it. Each series is progresively funnier and Larry David is truly one of lifes victims! Absolutely fabulous fun and toe curlingly cringeworthy in parts. A must for any comedy DVD collection. Lets hoe there is a series 5

Andy Torkington (UK)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on December 27, 2005
If you liked the first three seasons of Curb, you probably will like the fourth as well. Not all of the jokes work (do they ever?), but I was glad to see that despite the "Hollywood" bent of season four (where Larry gets help from celebs such as Mel Brooks, Ben Stiller, and David Schwimmer) Larry remains Larry. I mean, what other comedian would make a reference to the "Great Compromiser" Henry Clay? A bundle of contradictions, Larry is at once withdrawn and confrontational, overly conscientious yet also incredibly insensitive. Although I can't buy that any woman, let alone Larry's long suffering wife, would permit her husband a one-time fling as a 10th anniversary present, the running gag pays off because it sets up a series of encounters where Larry shows how inept he is at wooing women (remember, in season two he said he could talk anyone into anything, except getting women to sleep with him). And though I had doubts about whether the Producers plot would work, it does. Larry offends not one but two of his Producers co-stars as well as countless others along the way. There's a twist in the last episode that took me by surprise, and it was clever too. Sometimes the show strains too hard to find confrontations in everyday events. For example, I've never encountered a stewardess as rude as the one Larry comes across on his flight to New York. Nor would a black guy in real life walking past Larry's car instantly accuse Larry of racism just because he turned on his car alarm. But if some of the gags are forced, season four is as funny as the others. Larry might get more abrasive with each season, but he is no less amusing. Season four, as with the others, stands up to repeat viewing. And we get a one hour final episode that is much funnier than the last episode of a certain other Larry David sitcom. The best entry here involves Larry's efforts to avoid the rush hour crowd by picking up a hooker so her can use the much faster carpool lane. That episode might contain the most awkward, not to mention funny, drug deal in TV history.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 20, 2007
This DVD covers Curb Your Enthusiasm's best season. Two words as for why this is: The Producers. Most of the season's episodes center on Larry David's effort (or lack thereof) to master the role of Max Bialystock, one the two principal characters in The Producers. His constants struggles with the rehearsals and his fellow cast and crew members are truly hilarious. As usual, Larry manages to somehow insult everyone in his path, and seems to lose little sleep over it. In my opinion, the season's two signature episodes are The Survivor and Opening Night. Buy this DVD, and you will never stop laughing!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 3
Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 3 by Larry David (DVD - 2006)

Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 2
Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 2 by Larry David (DVD - 2006)

Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 5
Curb Your Enthusiasm: Season 5 by Larry David (DVD - 2006)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.