Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Suffers All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Lisa Loeb AMO Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 10, 2007
My 4 year old has had this set for a few weeks and just loves it. I especially like how well done the CDs are. The actors read the stories slowly and there are sound effects and jazzy music--all very engaging not obnoxious. Highly recommended!
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2006
Curious George is a favorite in our home. My daughter loves his curious ways. She finds listening to the cd's to be exciting because she can read them all by herself just like her big brother. This is a well done set!

As a teacher, books on cd are great way for readers to hear stories they can't read yet to improve their vocabulary and for readers to improve their fluency because they are hearing a great reader read.

If your child has not had the opportunity to listen to cds with books you will have to train them to care for the cds, cd player, how to turn the page, etc. But, you can't go wrong with this delightful set!
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2006
Both the book and CDs were great. My son is a huge fan and has to have this book read to him every night in bed. We are buying a CD player for his room so he can read along with the CDs himself.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2008
Wow, this book is REALLY big. It's a big, heavy hardcover. MUCH BIGGER than we expected. The stories and illustrations are just what you'd expect from Curious George, and our son really likes it. It comes with FIVE CDs, and each audio track begins with "Out story begins on the page where George is doing XXX with YYY" so the children can flip to the correct story without grownup help (in theory, that is. In practice it's not so easy, because there's so many pages that it's just too hard to find).

I would have given it FIVE STARS, except for one thing: the only thing I would have done differently is put the stories with and without page-turn signals on separate CDs. Each CD has two versions of each audio track - with and without page turns, but that means there are less stories per CD, and that when you play a CD it plays each story twice.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2010
I ordered this along with several other books with CDs. I ordered them so that my 4 yr old son could sit and listen to the CDs while he looks at the stories.

The stories are GREAT and the pictures are fun, but the book has all of the stories in one, and it is HEAVY! My son has a really hard time just picking it up and reading it himself. I have to get him started, and then if it accidentally closes, he has no hope of finding where he was alone.

It would be much better if the 5 books were separate, but they were all on 1 CD.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2010
This is not the adorable curious george that's on PBS. I bought this for my 5 year old to listen to in the car and was shocked when I heard things like George was so embarassaed or ashamed that he wished he were dead and George like to smoke a nice cigar before going to bed - YIKES!!

Thank you Amazon for your committment to customer satisfaction and generous return policy. I was pleasantly surprised when I was able to return the purchase.
0Comment18 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2007
This is a wonderful collection. The stories are very nicely read, and the dual recordings (with and without page-turn sounds) is a nice touch. Our 4 year old spends at least an hour a day "listening to her Curious George." It's nice to see products like this made for kids. It lets them enjoy books on their own (like Mom and Dad), and is a great indoor activity for when it's zero degrees outside.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2009
My two and a half year old son loves this set. The large book makes before bedtime reading fun and enjoyable and keeps his attention with the many pictures. He may not be old enough to read himself, but when listening to the audio CD he has caught on to turning the pages when prompted and enjoys "reading" the book by himself with the help of the CD. The CD also includes a copy without page-turning prompts that is great for listening to in our car.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2007
I bought this as a Christmas Gift for my 4.5 year old son. It is very kid friendly. He can use it himself. The CD's allow for reading along with the book and cue him when to turn the pages. He really enjoys the Curious George stories.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2010
I have a 4 y.o. and we are trying to steer her away from so much TV time. This box set is great! Very reminescent of the books and record sets I used to have as a kid. She knows how to work the CD player herself and and can go and listen the stories whenever she likes. The CD even informs you what page to start on by describing the picture on that page. She knows where to start and it also comes with a "turn-the page" tone so child does not need help to follow along.

The only thing I didn't like which was why I gave it only 4/5 stars was that all the stories come all in one book together instead of the individual books. Because it's a heavier book, if my daughter leaves the book for a minute it sometimes closes or pages flip and she gets lost from the page she was on.

Otherwise a great investment for the conscientious parent.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse