Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining!
Tag along with George as he explores opposite ideas in this charming little board book. "Curious George's Opposites", demonstrates contrary concepts "George climbs UP, and then jumps DOWN," in an amusing and pleasing fashion. The colorful images and simple text will capture babies attention while entertaining small children too. Birth and up.
Published on April 13, 2002 by History_of_Art_Geek

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine but there are better books on Opposites
This book is cute but frankly, I think there are much better books on opposites out there, including The Foot Book and Opposites by Sandra Boynton. All the ones in here are not that obvious- so for a baby, not really as captivating.
Published on August 28, 2009 by Ahhling


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining!, April 13, 2002
This review is from: Curious George's Opposites (Board book)
Tag along with George as he explores opposite ideas in this charming little board book. "Curious George's Opposites", demonstrates contrary concepts "George climbs UP, and then jumps DOWN," in an amusing and pleasing fashion. The colorful images and simple text will capture babies attention while entertaining small children too. Birth and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, March 8, 2007
By 
Mar (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
My 11-month old boy laughs every time I show him this book. I also enjoy reading this as you can actually create mini stories with each set of opposites so it's much more entertaining than usual oposite books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars best of the litter, March 2, 2010
This review is from: Curious George's Opposites (Board book)
Although this is, like virtually all of the Curious George board books released in the last dozen years, essentially a cut and paste job from the earlier full-length books, it is my favorite of the bunch.

Opposites are a great concept for young ones to learn, and while there are surely other books that will offer similar information, nor will this one irreparably harm your child (like The Original Curious George)!

Dr. Seuss' The Foot Book is a fine choice, but it is more for early readers, at least the version I have in its original non-board book form (The Foot Book).

Since there is no danger in spoiling the plot(!), these are the couplets in Curious George's Opposites:

UP/DOWN
FORWARD/BACKWARD
DRY/WET
IN/OUT
CLOSED/OPEN
AWAKE/ASLEEP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple concepts, fun, April 24, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Curious George's Opposites (Board book)
My 16-month-old daughter has loved this book since she was around 8 months old. I'm not sure what appeals to her, but I think it must be the clarity and charm of the illustrations, the easy to understand concepts of "up", "down", etc. and the sweetly naughty behavior of George. Who knows -- it works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cute, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Curious George's Opposites (Board book)
My grandson loves this book! A must for toddlers. They will love it. It's fun to read with the grandchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great little book, March 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the few board books in Spanish that I have come across and really liked, and getting it for under $4 including shipping made it an even better find!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Winner, October 14, 2014
This review is from: Curious George's Opposites (Board book)
Many things to enjoy and have fun with including learning. The book is a catalyst and may precipitate alternative thoughts. This type of book is also helpful for peole new to American English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cute!, November 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Curious George's Opposites (Board book)
Cute and for SURE good for the littles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The twins loved it!, December 2, 2007
By 
This review is from: Curious George's Opposites (Board book)
We bought this book for our slightly-more-than-2-year-old twin grandsons, and they loved it. At this age, they're more interested in identifying the pictures than following the concept, but that's ok. They seemed more interested in the water picture than getting the difference between wet and dry, or jump up and jump down. But there's something about the monkey image that is endlessly fascinating to them. Go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest books of all time, December 26, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Curious George's Opposites (Board book)
I have read this book over one hundred times, no kidding! This is one of the finest literary and illustrative works ever made. The anticipation and excitement of the page where George lets the pigs out will make your kids squeal with delight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Curious George's Opposites
Curious George's Opposites by H. A. Rey (Board book - March 30, 1998)
$5.95 $5.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.