Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Regency Read
A Curious Heart is an excellent read. The first edition had errors that have been corrected. The story flows well. The characters are still defined nicely and the plot, though complicated, is very entertaining.

When a young debutant in Regency England embarks on her first Season, she finds herself embroiled in the challenges of the love life of her brother and...
Published on September 16, 2012 by TK Halm

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Out-of-control plot, romantic tension gone at 44%
The first chapter seemed to indicate the heroine was the young Allie, who was devastated on overhearing that the object of her crush, Lord Rotherburn, had no interest at all in her. But suddenly Allie is trying to match up her youthful Aunt Alana with Lord Rotherburn instead, and she's trying to get his young cousin Griffin to help her. But it's not long at all before...
Published on March 26, 2012 by Joyously Retired Teacher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Out-of-control plot, romantic tension gone at 44%, March 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Curious Heart (Love Vine: A Regency Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The first chapter seemed to indicate the heroine was the young Allie, who was devastated on overhearing that the object of her crush, Lord Rotherburn, had no interest at all in her. But suddenly Allie is trying to match up her youthful Aunt Alana with Lord Rotherburn instead, and she's trying to get his young cousin Griffin to help her. But it's not long at all before Griffin and Allie are in love, and the problem is that they are too young to settle down. Or are they? This goes back and forth several times, and I have to wonder how the author thinks this sort of thing advances the plot.

The two main couples are Lord Rotherburn (who is ALMOST betrothed to Lady Eleanor) and Lady Alana (who thinks she is on the shelf) and Allie's brother Sir Gordon who is in love with Lady Eleanor, but feels he cannot say anything to her because she is ALMOST betrothed to his best friend Lord Rotherburn. Whew! If only we had a friendly Puck to make sense of this midsummer night's dream.

What I want to know is when ALMOST being betrothed became as binding as being betrothed?

However, the Big Switch is pretty much all concluded by about 44%; the rest of the story is just couples quarreling, problems with in-laws, and everyone trying to figure out what to do about Griffin and Allie. I must confess that I did a lot of skimming just to get to the end, and when I got there, it wasn't really worth the trouble. I recommend that you flip a coin rather than try to guess whether Allie and Griffin get married right away or wait 2-3-4-5 years because reading the whole rest of the story to find out really is a dead bore.

Spelling and grammar errors abound, as well as historical accuracy. It's mentioned that Prinny (did they still call him that after he became king?) took offense at someone not attending his wife's coronation when I do not believe she ever had a coronation, since they were at loggerheads nearly their entire marriage and he was trying to divorce her.

Regency is my favorite genre, but I can't recommend this one. Stick with Mary Balogh and Carla Kelly and some of the vintage authors. (Although I did find "A Sensible Lady" by Judith Lown to be a very well-done, recently-written regency, if you are looking for one.) This one was free, but still not worth the time it took to read it (although I agree with a previous reviewer that parts of it--particularly the beginning--do show some promise).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Regency Read, September 16, 2012
This review is from: A Curious Heart (Love Vine: A Regency Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A Curious Heart is an excellent read. The first edition had errors that have been corrected. The story flows well. The characters are still defined nicely and the plot, though complicated, is very entertaining.

When a young debutant in Regency England embarks on her first Season, she finds herself embroiled in the challenges of the love life of her brother and her aunt. Her interference comes to a quick halt when she falls in love.

Loved the mystical close to a delightful story.

I recommend this book to all Regency lovers and anyone else who enjoys a lively story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lazy author and editor, March 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Curious Heart (Love Vine: A Regency Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Apparently the author got tired of her writing her own book but thought she still needed to finish it. It started out OK but the characters just stopped being developed. The idea of three couples and their interaction is intriguing but it just fizzled out. The frequency of misspelled words, incorrect word usage (there for their), and wrong character names is inexcusable. There is too much to distract the reader and detract from the storyline to be worth the investment of time. Be careful, though, the beginning is good enough to suck you in.

The twist at the end was not appealing to me, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Tempest In A Teapot, March 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Curious Heart (Love Vine: A Regency Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A Curious Heart was a much ado about nothing type of read. This plot is an old but popular Regency theme, young girl first season on the town takes it upon herself to play matchmaker for her brother and Aunt and along the way she will find love herself. But first there must be the required scandal-broth, romantic misunderstandings, quarrelsome parent and grandparent, carriage accident,and a pinch of magic....magic, didn't see that coming. The only thing missing was the resident Rake and Lord Alvanley, After finishing this story to say I was exhausted is an understatement. ACH went on and on and on in a not so good way.

In the beginning I felt the author could not make up her mind if she was going to tell a story or let the reader experience it as it happens. Allie meets Griff, upon their initial meeting Griff intent is to seduce her but he changes his mind and wants to court her. The reader does not experience the actions that makes him change his course of action, we are told ..."His interest in her had changed considerably from seduction to courting in the few hours he had known her. Something about her pulled at his spirit, drew the better part of him into the light". What about her....I want to experience the interaction between Allie and Griff that makes him change his mind within the few hours he first meets her, and makes him fall in love with her and she with him. This also happens between the H/h, I want those little scenes that show the characters falling in love, that is the reason I read romance to experience couples falling in love and all the ups and downs that come with it. Instead the reader experiences all the ups and downs of needless misunderstandings and conversations that should have been edited out. The use of magic at the end was a bit awkward and added a dimension to the story that did not fit with the rest of the plot.

Sad to say I did not like this book, I put it down several times before I finished it. I have to give the author an A for effort, I get the feeling she put a lot of thought into this story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, September 22, 2013
By 
Heather Wicks (Silver Springs, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Curious Heart (Love Vine: A Regency Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Once I started reading this I couldn't put it down. I loved how they couples stood up for each other and wouldn't let anyone or even injury ruin there happiness. I would recommend this book to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling read....., August 3, 2012
This review is from: A Curious Heart (Love Vine: A Regency Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The original version of this book had plenty of errors, but the author corrected them and kindly gave me the new edition. I was pleased to find the book a sparkling read, funny sometimes, poignant at others and definitely improved.
When Allie has her come out in Regency England, she has her heart broken immediately by a friend of her older brother. Resourceful Allie recovers quickly from what was actually a childish infatuation and begins to look around her with new eyes.
Seeing the tangled mess her brother and her aunt have gotten themselves into by each one falling in love with the someone unattainable, she begins to 'help' them. What ensues is a mish-mash of humorous incidents that keep you turning the pages.
A Curious Heart is definitely on my keeper shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars review, April 1, 2014
By 
Lucie (Olathe,KS, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Curious Heart (Love Vine: A Regency Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Sorry but I Could not get into it. Found it a little boring. My interest just wasn't there. A bit too slow moving for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.